1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

handcent update just released

Discussion in 'Android Applications' started by cisco0910, Dec 29, 2009.

  1. cisco0910
    Offline

    cisco0910 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009
    Messages:
    845
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Virginia Beach, VA
    First off I wanna give hi appraise to the developer. Him and I been chatting via google talk for a while about two major issues I've been having. Those issues are I get double posts a lot and all my txt threads get mysteriously deleted! After days of of him and I troubleshooting he just IMd me via google talk to update.
  2. JhankG
    Offline

    JhankG New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    3,098
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Summerfield, NC
    I am amazed that a dev would take the time to do that. Although I don't have any use for handcent, I won't hesitate to recommend it to others after hearing your story!
  3. cisco0910
    Offline

    cisco0910 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009
    Messages:
    845
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Virginia Beach, VA
    Yea, ways of us troubleshooting were he would ask me to use Astro and email him numerous crazy com.Handcent.log... files,settings, etc..
  4. SirSyeco
    Offline

    SirSyeco New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Cincinnati OH USA
    That IS good to hear.:icon_ banana:

    Like you, I was having the same issues.. so I'm off to update. :D
  5. Martin030908
    Offline

    Martin030908 Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    8,805
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    updating as well...So should we expect a resolution to the double and triple texts?
  6. SirSyeco
    Offline

    SirSyeco New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Cincinnati OH USA
    So far so good.. I've trade txt's with 3 diff ppl so far and no doubles
  7. cisco0910
    Offline

    cisco0910 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009
    Messages:
    845
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Virginia Beach, VA
    well i just got a double and the developer knows about it. he said hess working hard for it to work 100%
  8. GrandMasterB
    Offline

    GrandMasterB New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2009
    Messages:
    262
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I LOVE Handcent but after the update today I got a text from my wife and read part of it in the notification, but when I opened up Handcent to finish reading it , it wasnt there. Checked the stock messaging app and it didnt show in there either. So is that Handcent related or the device itself :( ANybody else ever see this?
  9. Royal2000H
    Offline

    Royal2000H New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    176
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    That happens a lot if the text is over the standard allowed characters and the text is from another carrier (or through Google Voice)
  10. johfiner
    Offline

    johfiner New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Wow, what a bad ass developer! I love Handcent and haven't experienced the multiple messages or disappearing threads and I've sent & received over 200 messages. My only "complaint" is that the icon and parts of the UI aren't as crisp looking as some other applications, but that's just me being really picky. I'm a very visual person. :)
  11. GrandMasterB
    Offline

    GrandMasterB New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2009
    Messages:
    262
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Well it was from Verizon but it was about 250 characters. So under those conditions is it Handcent that loses it or the stock app/phone?
  12. cisco0910
    Offline

    cisco0910 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009
    Messages:
    845
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Virginia Beach, VA
    Handcent has an option if its over 160 characters it splits it into two or however many it needs to keep it in 160 limit..
  13. billp
    Offline

    billp New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Findlay, Ohio
    If that works for wifes maybe girlfriends too, then I am downloading right now, lol
  14. cisco0910
    Offline

    cisco0910 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009
    Messages:
    845
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Virginia Beach, VA
    BilllP?!? We know each other?!?
  15. GrandMasterB
    Offline

    GrandMasterB New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2009
    Messages:
    262
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    It also has the option to auto convert to MMS when more than 3 sms. But right now I was more concerned with the incoming text disappearing.

    Never thought of it that way. maybe its not such a bad thing, lol.
  16. billp
    Offline

    billp New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Findlay, Ohio
    I know alot of people, live in ohio now but use to live in florida
  17. cisco0910
    Offline

    cisco0910 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009
    Messages:
    845
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Virginia Beach, VA
    Alrite, the billp I knowlives kin pennsylvania
  18. omarhobeika
    Offline

    omarhobeika New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I wish the popup box on my droid is higher when am typing a reply. Part of the popup box is hidden under the vitural keyboard.
  19. thaid
    Offline

    thaid New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    double messages

    when I receive a text message, i get a copy on handsent and the stock messaging application. So I receive 2 notifications. Is this what you mean by double messages? Can I do something to prevent this? thanks
  20. mr.deux
    Offline

    mr.deux New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    to stop the double notification you just need to go to the stock app and disable all notifications for it.

    as for issues the only one i have had is reciving pic messages. for some reason if i recive them in handcent they won't show but if i exit got to the stock app and view it there i can then go back to handcent and see it just fine