handcent update just released

Discussion in 'Android Applications' started by cisco0910, Dec 29, 2009.

  1. cisco0910

    cisco0910 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009
    Messages:
    839
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Virginia Beach, VA
    Ratings:
    +0
    First off I wanna give hi appraise to the developer. Him and I been chatting via google talk for a while about two major issues I've been having. Those issues are I get double posts a lot and all my txt threads get mysteriously deleted! After days of of him and I troubleshooting he just IMd me via google talk to update.
     
  2. JhankG

    JhankG Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    3,090
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    Summerfield, NC
    Ratings:
    +0
    I am amazed that a dev would take the time to do that. Although I don't have any use for handcent, I won't hesitate to recommend it to others after hearing your story!
     
  3. cisco0910

    cisco0910 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009
    Messages:
    839
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Virginia Beach, VA
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yea, ways of us troubleshooting were he would ask me to use Astro and email him numerous crazy com.Handcent.log... files,settings, etc..
     
  4. SirSyeco

    SirSyeco Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Cincinnati OH USA
    Ratings:
    +0
    That IS good to hear.:icon_ banana:

    Like you, I was having the same issues.. so I'm off to update. :D
     
  5. Martin030908

    Martin030908 DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    8,773
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Ratings:
    +0
    updating as well...So should we expect a resolution to the double and triple texts?
     
  6. SirSyeco

    SirSyeco Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Cincinnati OH USA
    Ratings:
    +0
    So far so good.. I've trade txt's with 3 diff ppl so far and no doubles
     
  7. cisco0910

    cisco0910 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009
    Messages:
    839
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Virginia Beach, VA
    Ratings:
    +0
    well i just got a double and the developer knows about it. he said hess working hard for it to work 100%
     
  8. GrandMasterB

    GrandMasterB Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2009
    Messages:
    262
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3
    I LOVE Handcent but after the update today I got a text from my wife and read part of it in the notification, but when I opened up Handcent to finish reading it , it wasnt there. Checked the stock messaging app and it didnt show in there either. So is that Handcent related or the device itself :( ANybody else ever see this?
     
  9. Royal2000H

    Royal2000H Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    168
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    That happens a lot if the text is over the standard allowed characters and the text is from another carrier (or through Google Voice)
     
  10. johfiner

    johfiner Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Wow, what a bad ass developer! I love Handcent and haven't experienced the multiple messages or disappearing threads and I've sent & received over 200 messages. My only "complaint" is that the icon and parts of the UI aren't as crisp looking as some other applications, but that's just me being really picky. I'm a very visual person. :)
     
  11. GrandMasterB

    GrandMasterB Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2009
    Messages:
    262
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3
    Well it was from Verizon but it was about 250 characters. So under those conditions is it Handcent that loses it or the stock app/phone?
     
  12. cisco0910

    cisco0910 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009
    Messages:
    839
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Virginia Beach, VA
    Ratings:
    +0
    Handcent has an option if its over 160 characters it splits it into two or however many it needs to keep it in 160 limit..
     
  13. billp

    billp New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Findlay, Ohio
    Ratings:
    +0
    If that works for wifes maybe girlfriends too, then I am downloading right now, lol
     
  14. cisco0910

    cisco0910 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009
    Messages:
    839
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Virginia Beach, VA
    Ratings:
    +0
    BilllP?!? We know each other?!?
     
  15. GrandMasterB

    GrandMasterB Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2009
    Messages:
    262
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3
    It also has the option to auto convert to MMS when more than 3 sms. But right now I was more concerned with the incoming text disappearing.

    Never thought of it that way. maybe its not such a bad thing, lol.