Handcent acting up!

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid' started by micp1480, Mar 29, 2010.

  1. micp1480
    Offline

    micp1480 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    175
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I enter into an SMS conversation with someone and this is what happens:


    Me: Hello how are you?


    Friend: I am doing great and you?


    Me: Family and everyone is fine.




    Ok, 45 minutes to 1 hour I get a repeated reply of, "I am doing great and you". WHY?


    MICP1480
  2. dogmeatstick2
    Offline

    dogmeatstick2 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    philly
    Weird, I have a similar problem. Occasionally I will receive the same text 4 times. So my ringtone repeats four times in a row and the message shows four pop ups and 4 times in the thread. Any ideas?
  3. hydrolex99
    Offline

    hydrolex99 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Same thing happens to me, I think it is a known common issue. Pretty annoying. If they fixed the lag and this issue handcent would be perfect.
  4. hookbill
    Offline

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,545
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    I've never had this issue with handcent. I don't see how an app can be blamed for slowing down delivery of a text. That doesn't mean you're incorrect, it means what it says. I don't understand. Explain how this could happen.

    To me the text gets sent and from there it's either the carrier or the receiving carrier that has to deliver the message, not the app.

    But maybe I just don't understand how it works. Quite possible.
  5. u7mg0
    Offline

    u7mg0 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    same thing is happening to me. about a month ago. i get the txt right away, but sometimes 2 or 3 of the same. dont know how to fix it, I just ignore the extras
  6. stacks04
    Offline

    stacks04 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    mine is force closing every message now. so frustrating. i am going to delete it then re download it.
  7. CAROLINAGIRL
    Offline

    CAROLINAGIRL New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    My issue with Handcent right now...sometimes, when I get the notification icon in the status bar at the top...when I pull the status bar down, and touch the message, it brings up a blank black screen. Doesn't show any messages, but still has the contact information at the top. If I close it, bring up Handcent, and open the thread manually, the message is there. Wierd.
  8. cereal killer
    Offline

    cereal killer DF Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    11,073
    Likes Received:
    707
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    Yeah some strange issues with Handcent since it has been updated yesterday. 2 issues so far.

    1. The text field was blank while sending a text but what I was writing showed up when sent.

    2. Recieving and responding to texts resets the LWP to stock. This happened 2x so far today.

    I'd recommend anyone who hasn't updated Handcent to not do so right know. It has introduced some strange bugs that have never been present.
  9. CAROLINAGIRL
    Offline

    CAROLINAGIRL New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I wish I had read this thread before I updated. LOL.
  10. Chris-pee
    Offline

    Chris-pee New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    177
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I literally just updated, damn!
  11. cereal killer
    Offline

    cereal killer DF Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    11,073
    Likes Received:
    707
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    Last edited: Apr 7, 2010
  12. rmart88
    Offline

    rmart88 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Messages:
    292
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Blacksburg, VA
    I have been having issues with it recieving the same message mulitple times (2 or 3, sometimes 4 times). got kind of annoying so i dl'd chompSMS to give it a shot thinking that is was Handcent causing the issue. While using ChompSMS i had the same issue... So i am thinking that it might be on Verizon's side of things, not the Messaging app. i have had similar issue on my old 'dumb' phone before soooo....

    I am back to Hancent. It is sooo much better than Chomp :)