1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

GPS Question? Coordinates/Geocaching?

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by Greg, Nov 21, 2009.

  1. Greg
    Offline

    Greg New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Idaho
    How do I manually add coordinates into the phone? Am I able to use it for geocaching, or is there an app for this?

    Thanks in advance
  2. fjmarch
    Offline

    fjmarch New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Rhode Island
    Look for GEOBEAGLE in the market. By far the best application for the droid so far at least until Geocaching<dot>com comes out with an app that will load all caches automatically.
  3. Greg
    Offline

    Greg New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Idaho
    Thanks for your reply! Yes, I loaded Geobeagle last week and loaded a cache from geocaching<dot>com. All went smoothly, however I must be missing something, as it shows where the cache is, but doesn't really direct me there like other gps's would.

    I must be doing something wrong, or I'm expecting too much out of Geobeagle?

    Any advice?
  4. KuddlKat
    Offline

    KuddlKat New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Maryland
    First, thanks to fjmarch for directing me to geobeagle. I read through the online directions (GeoBeagle - Cacheopedia) and followed them step by step, and it seems to work (it's snowing outside and I ain't going out in that to look for some one's marble cache).

    One point in the direction had me confused, but only briefly. In the instructions "Back to the map selection" section, it says to select Google Maps. That is referring to the line item list (dots) directly under the section "For online maps...", third item down. My first impulse was to select "Geocaching.com Google Map" but that only opens up another browser page. Selecting the third item "Google Maps" allows the query window "Complete action using" to come up, where you can check the Use by Default box and then select GeoBeagle.

    Once you've done that, the DROID will go back into the GeoBeagle program, displaying a big honkin' arrow on the screen with the distance, degrees, cache ID and several buttons for the map and Geocaching.com's pages.
  5. tommyz
    Offline

    tommyz Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    270
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    18
  6. bpad10
    Offline

    bpad10 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    268
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    It does work well. Only 1 problem. If i close the app and reopen it to look for another cache it goes directly to the large arrow pointing toward my previous cache. I have difficulty erasing the previous destination. Anyone know how to erase it so when I open the geobeagle app it goes directly to it's home page?
  7. mbastian
    Offline

    mbastian New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Another handy tool for geocaching with an android device is bcaching.com -- it's not an app but a mobile web site for paperless caching.
  8. DavMot
    Offline

    DavMot New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    geocaching


    I have loaded "c:geo" it gives you ALL. Now I have only used on one cache so far but it looks like it is going to work. Clodbuster 2
  9. Vulcan1600
    Offline

    Vulcan1600 Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    Messages:
    5,683
    Likes Received:
    141
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    I started to geocache in June and have 44 of 48 looked for using c:geo. It is by far the best Android geocaching program out there. Geocaching.com did hastily release a $9.99 geocaching app for the android but run, run as far away from that as possible. It is very much inferior to the FREE app by c:geo.
  10. brianes99
    Offline

    brianes99 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    there are MANY geocaching programs. all let you use geocaching.com coordinates.

    Almost all will let you sync individual targets, many will let you use the premium pocket queries (just plug/mount your droid, and copy to the download folder on the sd card) or upload pocket queries to bcaching (if using geobeagle or geohunter or a few others)


    By far the best way to go is c:geo and the live map or search nearby function.
Search tags for this page
coordinate apps for android
,
enter gps coordinates google maps android
,

free geocaching coordinates

,
gps app for android geocaching
,
gps coordinates on android phone
,
how to enter gps coordinates in android
,

how to geocache with droid

,
how to get gps coordinates android
,
how to put coordinates from geocache into my phone
,
how to put coordinates in geocaching app
,
how to put gps coordinates in android
,
how to read geocache coordinates
,
how to use coordinates in geocaching app
,
how to use gps coordinates in google maps on s3 galaxy
,
loading gps coordinates android