GPS Long lock on period

Discussion in 'HTC ThunderBolt' started by Ryukashin, May 7, 2011.

  1. Ryukashin

    Ryukashin Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    So when i use the GPS it takes a while to get a GPS fix and an accurate position, usually around 3-5 minutes.

    I know it was faster on my old droid 1, but is it suppose to take that long?
     
  2. Larry_ThaGr81

    Larry_ThaGr81 Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    Messages:
    1,030
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Hesperia
    Ratings:
    +0
    A fix is coming with the over the air update.

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums
     
  3. lazarus2297

    lazarus2297 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    Messages:
    367
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +5
    The OTA update (that was leaked weeks ago) didn't help my gps.. mine still takes 5 mins or so and that's if it ever finds me at all

    sent from my unlocatable rebootin' Tbolt
     
  4. Mustang02

    Mustang02 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,249
    Likes Received:
    100
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Cleveland Ohio
    Ratings:
    +106
    Current Phone Model:
    Droid Maxx
    Yep. The ota won't fix a the Gps lock issue if its the same as the leak a couple weeks ago.
     
  5. Ryukashin

    Ryukashin Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yeah, i've done the leaked update, it never did help GPS. Though I've heard the OTA has been permanently delayed.
     
  6. Mustang02

    Mustang02 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,249
    Likes Received:
    100
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Cleveland Ohio
    Ratings:
    +106
    Current Phone Model:
    Droid Maxx
    Probably due to the fact it didn't fix anything. I get same signal strength(100% 4G), same Gps lock time, etc.
     
  7. Ryukashin

    Ryukashin Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    about the only thing it did for me was it keeps my data connection better than before which might not be from the update since we had the whole thing with no 4G shortly after.
     
  8. lazarus2297

    lazarus2297 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    Messages:
    367
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +5
    Oddly enough today after opening VZW nav and using VZW services in gps settings gmaps is finding me spot on and almost instantly and that is with just standalone gps turned on... we will see how long this lasts

    sent from my unlocatable rebootin' Tbolt
     
  9. DroidStang

    DroidStang Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2011
    Messages:
    441
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Ratings:
    +0
    takes few mins, but using standalone gps, and the blue navigation arrow app is better than paying to use vz navigator.....unless you bought that service, I learned hard way, thought hey vz navigator better than my own nuvi gps, so used,,,,,,then got my monthly bill, the blue arrow w/ standalone gps cost nothing though.
     
  10. Ryukashin

    Ryukashin Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    My favorite thing that happens sometimes is when the GPS is really off and i'm actually about a mile outside of the edge of the error circle.

    I like using GPS status to get the gps working better, it seems to speed things up. It takes about 85s to lock on and then usually makes maps work extremely fast for a lock on. other than doing that gps lock-on sucks.
     
    Last edited: May 8, 2011
  11. mustascio

    mustascio New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    If I have my phone on cmda only mode the gps locks on quick.. maybe the increased ping speed idk give it a try

    Sent from my ADR6400L using DroidForums
     
  12. alboboy10

    alboboy10 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,808
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Ratings:
    +17
    Mine wouldn't even lock before.

    now it locks within a few seconds of opening maps
     
  13. KillerKPD

    KillerKPD Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2011
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    CT
    Ratings:
    +0
    I do not know about CDMA mode, but my phone gets a GPS signal very quickly. I have never had any issues with it finding a signal.
     
  14. Larry_ThaGr81

    Larry_ThaGr81 Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    Messages:
    1,030
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Hesperia
    Ratings:
    +0
    That's strange because others who had the leaked update said their locking on ability improved.

    Sent from the Bolt powered by Thunder using DroidForums app
     
  15. Backnblack

    Backnblack Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    11,250
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Ratings:
    +6
    Link to Source?
     
Search tags for this page
android how to know gps too long
,
android navigation takes too long
,
fast gps android
,
gps apps take long time to connect
,
htc inspire takes forever to find gps
,
why does it take so long for gps to find location on htc ins
,
why does my phone take so long to lock onto gps
,

why does my phone take so long to search for gps

,
why is it taking to long to locate gps
,
why it takes so long for my phone to find gps