For those with GPS issues in Navi (or possibly Maps as well)

Discussion in 'HTC ThunderBolt' started by Beardface, May 19, 2011.

  1. Beardface

    Beardface Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    686
    Likes Received:
    97
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC
    Ratings:
    +117
    I did this a couple days ago after that previous complaint thread, and it seems to have worked, at least for now. I tried it 2 days ago, and after a long initial lock (20 seconds or more), it has locked almost instantly each and every time I've tried it since.

    1 - Clear the cache in Maps
    2 - Download 'GPS Status' from the market
    3 - While in GPS Status, Reset the GPS Data and Download the new information (access both by hitting soft button 'Menu', and choosing 'Tools')
    4 - Go into settings, choose 'GPS & Sensors' and select 'Auto-download AGPS Data' and set it to 1 hour (not sure if this even applies to the TBolt, but I did it anyway)
    5 - Go into Navigation, set it to Navigate to any address, and wait for it to lock and start giving you turn by turn instructions.

    Once you've gotten that lock, it should be fine going forward. I had massive problems with a delayed lock in the past, even after the update, but since I've done those steps, its been an immediate lock ever since. Much improved.
     
  2. blac9570

    blac9570 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Works like a charm:icon_ banana:, thanks for the tip
     
  3. armeddroid

    armeddroid Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    1,641
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    78
    Location:
    Traffic Capital
    Ratings:
    +30
    Hey, Beardface,
    The App GPS STATUS, is that the same as GPS STATUS & TOOLBOX?
    Cause there is one that is $2+
     
  4. yakitori

    yakitori Premium Member
    Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Messages:
    2,548
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    DFW Texas
    Ratings:
    +10
    The free one works. This also worked for me as well. Gps lock almost instantly now.

    ridin the lighting
     
  5. armeddroid

    armeddroid Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    1,641
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    78
    Location:
    Traffic Capital
    Ratings:
    +30
    Aight, cool.
    Prrreciate that.
    :)
     
  6. MTBryan

    MTBryan Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2011
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I haven't changed the settings but have noticed when I bring up Google maps it takes forever to lock.
    But, like you said, if I activate Navigation on any address, it locks very quickly.
    Then I just back out of navigation and Google maps retains the GPS lock and knows where I am.

    Sent from my TBolt using DroidForums
     
  7. spydersilk

    spydersilk New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I just turned off verizon location services and mine locked right away.


    Sent from my ADR6400L using Tapatalk
     
  8. armeddroid

    armeddroid Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    1,641
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    78
    Location:
    Traffic Capital
    Ratings:
    +30
    Nice! This worked for me.


    via a Thunderbolt
     
  9. Beardface

    Beardface Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    686
    Likes Received:
    97
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC
    Ratings:
    +117
    Glad to hear this is working for people. Was hoping it wasn't just me.

    In the past, I had done just the Reset and Download in GPS Status, and while it sometimes worked, it was always temporarily. So then I read to Wipe Cache in Maps, so I tried that, and then I found the option to set aGPS to update every hour (which I'm still not sure is even applicable to the Bolt, but I did it anyway) and the thing hasn't taken longer than 5 seconds ever since to get a lock and start navigating me.

    I will admit, though, that I never once had a problem with GPS getting an immediate lock in Maps. My phone was always dead on. The problems only came when I tried to use Navigation and it took FOREVER to begin navigating.
     
  10. armeddroid

    armeddroid Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    1,641
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    78
    Location:
    Traffic Capital
    Ratings:
    +30
    Mine was both maps and navigation, mostly cause i use maps to navigate.
    But its on point now and its been working since.
    Certainly do appreciate that, Beardface.
     
  11. nonnasmyladie

    nonnasmyladie Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011
    Messages:
    531
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    New York
    Ratings:
    +3
    Current Phone Model:
    Galaxy S5
    Twitter:
    https://twitter.com/Nonna
    Will this fix the GPS taking 20 mins to find satellite

    sent from my thunderbolt
     
  12. MrKleen

    MrKleen Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,602
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Ratings:
    +5
    I would have thought you guys would have done that stuff a long time ago.
     
Search tags for this page
droid thunderbolt waiting for location
,
galaxy s3 gps waiting for location
,

htc thunderbolt waiting for location

,
htc+rezound+waiting+for+location+searching+for gps
,
maps blue dot
,
rhunderbolt navigation waiting for location
,

thunderbolt waiting for location

,
waiting for location gps navigation htz rezound