GPS Problems

Discussion in 'HTC ThunderBolt' started by droidFreak190, Apr 11, 2011.

  1. droidFreak190

    droidFreak190 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2011
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Long Island
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hey not sure if there is another thread for this or not...don't really care. I am beginning to get really annoyed with the phone... I have all the GPS options set to ON in the Location setting. Outside it locks on much faster but inside it takes on average 5-10 minutes to lock on. Is anybody else having this problem? I searched other forums and saw that people were having similar issues.

    I am beginning to get worried that this problem is not going to be able to get fixed from a software update and that the weak gpa hardware is what is causing the problem...

    Please somebody tell me I am wrong.
     
  2. droidFreak190

    droidFreak190 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2011
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Long Island
    Ratings:
    +0
    i was trying to figure out how to delete this after seeing the navigation thread...there is obviously a problem...I am gonna ask that this doesn't get deleted actually just because I want someone smart to tell me a software fix will fix this problem...with my old Droid 1 I could get GPS ANYWHERE no problem at all
     
  3. Hateslinger

    Hateslinger Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I had the same problem. It kept saying, "searching for gps. " I'll try to dig up the post that fixed my problem.

    Sent from my rooted Thunderbolt, Das BAMF
     
  4. droidFreak190

    droidFreak190 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2011
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Long Island
    Ratings:
    +0
    please thank you...it works but if im downstairs in my house it takes forever...tracking tools for this phone is useless if they don't fix this connectivity issue.
     
  5. Hateslinger

    Hateslinger Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Searching for GPS fix

    Here's the link to the thread: Link

    Or you can read this:

    HERE IS HOW TO FIX, "SEARCHING FOR GPS." You'll have to be rooted to do this.

    Credit goes to: kejar31 over at XDA-Developers.
    Requirements: You'll have to be rooted.

    Download the file: ImproveGPSlock.zip on one of those pages by that user.
    Download Quick Boot from Android Market, then boot into recovery.
    Download the file: ImproveGPSlock.zip and place it on your SD card for your phone in the root folder(root folder means in no folder)
    Then reboot into recovery, you see the file in your sd card by clicking the

    "install zip from sdcard".

    Install that file, reboot your phone and your navigation will be working instantly.

    Here's the link to that page: [MOD][GPS] Better GPS from Ziggy471[MOD] - Page 2 - xda-developers
    0 of 1 people found this answer helpful.:icon_ banana:
     
  6. droidFreak190

    droidFreak190 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2011
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Long Island
    Ratings:
    +0
    damn not rooted yet....arghhh....thanks tho...does this make it perfect or just a lot better?

    quick question on rooting...i know this is so off topic...if i root can I still get OTA updates in my cache files and install them no problem? (not touching the rom)
     
  7. Hateslinger

    Hateslinger Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Root

    It completely fixed the problem of, "searching for GPS." Mine wouldn't lock on for anything. It didn't matter if it was in an open field for an hour. It wouldn't lock on. It should make it a lot better if not perfect. Yep, you'll need to be rooted. Don't worry about OTA updates. Once you're rooted, you can get updates by flashing the rom. Besides, OTA's have all that bloatware. Why would you want more or the same bloatware?

    Here's the links to root your phone. Follow them before the next firmware update and you'll be fine. I would highly recommend rooting now before they update anything. Once they do, this easy video will be obsolete.

    Link:


    [Exclusive] How To Root The HTC ThunderBolt And Unlock Its Bootloader | Android News, Reviews, Apps, Games, Phones, Tablets, Tips, Mods, Videos, Tutorials - Android Police
     
  8. alboboy10

    alboboy10 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,808
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Ratings:
    +17
    WOW! everything on this phone needs to be fixed with rooting.

    Ok that's it I guess I'm gonna root it I have no other option.

    Too bad everything is gonna get deleted...aghhh
     
  9. alboboy10

    alboboy10 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,808
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Ratings:
    +17
    btw that video posted is after all the things are downloaded, the mirrors and adb.

    Before we do that, where can we download ADB? Is that the only thing we need? Should we wipe our phones to factory settings before rooting?
     
  10. Hateslinger

    Hateslinger Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    If you've never rooted before, you should do this in quiet room with NO distractions. Trust me. It will take you about 30 minutes to do this. On one screen, it took 5 minutes to load and I was $*$* a brick the whole time. So be patient, follow the directions exactly. Most of all don't panic or pull the battery out during the process to start over.

    **Edited** @alboboy10


    Sure, reset your phone to factory settings. It won't hurt. ( I didn't do that and mine is fine). the guy in the video, Nate Mill, is following the directions step by step on this page: link

    He does it all the way through Step 9. So what I did, was pull up the page for reference and to cut and paste the codes along with watch the video to ensure I didn't make any mistakes. The only part I think I got hung up on was on Step 4, "Choose the bootloader option and press power; let the ROM flash. When asked to upgrade, choose yes. Don’t freak, it’s a long reboot." He's right when he says it's a long boot. I almost was tempted to take the battery out and start over because I thought I bricked my phone. But I didn't and eventually it booted up.
     
    #10 Hateslinger, Apr 11, 2011
    Last edited: Apr 11, 2011
  11. alboboy10

    alboboy10 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,808
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Ratings:
    +17
    I'm pooping bricks as we speak about the thought of me rooting, I don't want this thing to brick on me. I keep going to verizon to fight about different things, they're going to ban me from verizon if I brick this phone and I scream at them lol

    P.s. I have never rooted.
     
  12. tu3218

    tu3218 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,217
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Baltimore, Maryland
    Ratings:
    +0
    you can do it. The three step method is very easy and the instructions help so much. An I'm not gonna say you won't brick your phone, but I haven't heard of anyone doing so yet. If that helps at all lol
     
Similar Threads
  1. Gorf
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    790
  2. JohnDoeJohnDoes
    Replies:
    9
    Views:
    3,836
  3. Rhino94
    Replies:
    6
    Views:
    4,112
Loading...
Search tags for this page
android gps problem
,
htc gps problem
,
htc thunderbolt location problems
,
start gps thunderbolt
,

thunderbolt gps problem

,

thunderbolt gps problems