Gmail app update.

Discussion in 'Koush' started by furbearingmammal, Sep 21, 2010.

  1. furbearingmammal
    Offline

    furbearingmammal DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,348
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wi
    Ratings:
    +6
    Could some terminal wizard tell me the right scripts I need to punch into the emulator to uninstall the Gmail app so I can update it? Apparently it tried to do it automatically and now I can't get it to reinstall. Thanks!
     
  2. DF Smod
    Offline

    DF Smod Silver Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Messages:
    11,457
    Likes Received:
    92
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +92
    You don't have root explorer ?
     
  3. furbearingmammal
    Offline

    furbearingmammal DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,348
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wi
    Ratings:
    +6
    Nope. I can't afford gas to get back and forth to the grocery store, let alone apps for my phone.

    Cyanogen's official fix is to install the new Google app pack. While I applaud the fix, I'm finding I enjoy doing it myself, even if someone has to hold my hand to do so. ;)
     
  4. DF Smod
    Offline

    DF Smod Silver Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Messages:
    11,457
    Likes Received:
    92
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +92
    Well at least you know what the important things are ;)

    I know the commands to push a system app, let me dig back in my folders and see what I have

    Waiting*

    O.K. here we go


    Remove system app

    su
    mount -o remount,rw -t yaffs2 /dev/block/mtdblk3 /system
    rm /system/app/Gmail.apk

    Hopefully it works :)
     
  5. furbearingmammal
    Offline

    furbearingmammal DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,348
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wi
    Ratings:
    +6
    That looks a lot better than the scripts I was seeing elsewhere. I'll dig up the pm uninstall part (Do I really need to? It's already BEEN uninstalled during the botched update...) and punch it in as soon as I can.

    Word of advice -- if you're chopping Habanero peppers, don't do it bare handed. I absorbed so much that my sweat started to burn my forehead.
     
  6. ZeroBarrier
    Online

    ZeroBarrier Guest

    Ratings:
    +0
  7. cereal killer
    Offline

    cereal killer DF Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    11,165
    Likes Received:
    893
    Trophy Points:
    558
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    Ratings:
    +910
    Current Phone Model:
    Nokia Lumia Icon
    su
    sysrw
    rm /system/app/Gmail.apk
    sysro
    reboot

    Sent from my Droid
     
  8. teddyearp
    Offline

    teddyearp Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    1,800
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    Randle, WA
    Ratings:
    +3
    Um, usually "sysrw" and "sysro" are scripts included by a rom builder to shortcut the necessary commands and Cyanogen is not in the habit of including any scripts with his. And somewhere back in my folders/research it was pointed out that it was 'mtdblock4' that needed to be used, not 'mtdblock3'.

    So, unfortunately my reply will conflict with the rest. And I'm not going to have you remove the app, just in case:
    Code:
    su
    mount -o remount, rw /dev/block/mtdbock4 /system
    mv /system/app/Gmail.apk /system/app/Gmail.bak
    mount -o remount,ro /dev/block/mtdblock4 /system
    sync
    reboot
    
    good luck
     
    Last edited: Sep 21, 2010
  9. furbearingmammal
    Offline

    furbearingmammal DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,348
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wi
    Ratings:
    +6
    Thanks guys! I got it working, eventually. The joys of having to tether to get online...

    tparker's command worked, but I had to reboot to finish it. I think part of that was because the market had already tried to update me, but that's neither here nor there. It's good to have all these options in one place! :)

    su
    mount -o remount,rw -t yaffs2 /dev/block/mtdblk3 /system
    rm /system/app/Gmail.apk
    reboot

    That worked for me, but I was absolutely sure I wanted to replace the app. teddyearp had the right idea in backing it up, too. It's too bad the wiki page is down over at cyanogenmod.com, otherwise I could probably get the scripts figured out for anyone else who might like doing things the hard way. ;)
     
  10. cereal killer
    Offline

    cereal killer DF Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    11,165
    Likes Received:
    893
    Trophy Points:
    558
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    Ratings:
    +910
    Current Phone Model:
    Nokia Lumia Icon
    Good to know. I've never used cyan : 0

    Sent from my Droid
     
  11. DF Smod
    Offline

    DF Smod Silver Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Messages:
    11,457
    Likes Received:
    92
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +92
    Oh yeah, I almost forgot the most important part....reboot :)
     
  12. Se7enLC
    Offline

    Se7enLC Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,262
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Ratings:
    +0
    Indeed, that was the part that stuck me as well. I had to clear gmail data, delete the Gmail.apk file, REBOOT, then I could go into the market and reinstall it. Then I copied the gmail apk from /data/app to /system/app and rebooted again.

    The new Gmail app is great! I hated having to tap twice to reply - this new app only needs one tap! (and has a separate arrow for getting to forward and reply-all). Well done, google.
     
  13. kevdog
    Offline

    kevdog Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Messages:
    722
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    CM 6.0 can have scripts or even scriptybox. Just not by default however -- but its really easy to add these features.
     
  14. Se7enLC
    Offline

    Se7enLC Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,262
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Ratings:
    +0
    For those that are curious:

    You can actually type anything you want in there, the mount command doesn't care!
    Normally, when you mount a device, you need to specify the device node, the filesystem type, and the mountpoint (or those options need to be either detected or specified in the fstab). When you use the "remount" option, however, you're just changing the mount options (ro to rw), so the device node is not needed (it's already mounted).

    The version of mount included with android by default requires all three options, even though only the mountpoint gets used when you use the remount option. The version of mount that CM uses is actually busybox instead - which does not require the extraneous options.

    The mtdblock3 / mtdblock4 discrepancy came around because different devices use different partitioning schemes. Somebody at some point tried out a command for a different device, and since it worked fine, they assumed it was correct, posted it online somewhere, and it propogated. Not a big problem, since the only time it gets used is in this remount case, and it's ignored anyway.

    In summary, if you use the busybox version of mount (like CM does) all you need to type is this:
    Code:
    mount -o rw,remount /system
     
  15. teddyearp
    Offline

    teddyearp Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    1,800
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    Randle, WA
    Ratings:
    +3
    Thank you for the info. I also saw something like this posted by Camel way back and he just used 'null' for basically the same reason, i.e.:
    Code:
    mount -o remount,rw /dev/null /system
    but yours is even shorter and if there's no harm, then all the merrier.

    Thx again.
     
Search tags for this page
cyanmod google app pack
,

gmail apk for cyanogen

,
gmail needs an update but tells me i need to sign in
,
i want to uninstall the latest gmail update