1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

DROID Switching bootup ICONS

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by KShizzle, Aug 26, 2010.

  1. KShizzle
    Offline

    KShizzle New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ok, so I finally tried to ROOT my Moto D1. I Rooted it successfully, and installed FREE ROM Manager in the Marketplace. I opened it, and then downloaded the first theme that was an option. It then went into Clockwork recovery mode, and then the screen went black. The Motorola logo then showed up like my phone was booting on, and then the "DROID" wording showed. Next the Droid eye came up, and began to pulsate, like everytime you boot up the phone. But now, my Phone just keeps on continuously going back and forth from the "DROID" and Red Eye logos. It doesn't stop. Has anyone every had this problem before? Any pointers or tips for the Newb? HELP ASAP would be much appreciated.
  2. mwhartman
    Offline

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,739
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    South FL
    Did you install a rom first? If so, is the theme compatible with the rom?

    Mike
  3. KShizzle
    Offline

    KShizzle New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm not too sure.. All I saw of the name of the thing I installed was A Glass Theme. That's it.
  4. mwhartman
    Offline

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,739
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    South FL
    My sense is you did not.
    Did you make a backup after rooting and prior to installing the theme? If so, pull the battery and go back into clockwork. Restore the backup then boot and open RM and install a rom. Since you have the free version I believe you are limited to installing the Cyanogen rom.

    Mike
  5. KShizzle
    Offline

    KShizzle New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I did not make a backup. Does this mean I'm screwed? :blackdroid:
  6. mwhartman
    Offline

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,739
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    South FL
    Not yet! How did you root your phone? Did you install SPR?

    Pull the battery then try to boot into recovery. Let me know .
  7. KShizzle
    Offline

    KShizzle New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I used the latest article on DROIDLIFE.COM:
    How to: Root Android 2.2 for the Motorola DROID

    But I did just the first part.

    I pulled the battery out, and put it back in and turned the phone on again several times but it is still cycling the "Droid" and the Red Eye. How do I put it into recovery?

    I am clueless and scared at this point. :icon_eek:
  8. mwhartman
    Offline

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,739
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    South FL
    Turn the phone off, pull the battery. Wait about one minute and replace the battery.

    Open the slider and press the "X" key and power key at the same time.

    Let me know what happens.

    Mike
  9. KShizzle
    Offline

    KShizzle New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    OK. I turned off the phone, and then I held the power up button and the 'x' button on the phone and I put it into Clockwork Recovery Mode.

    The options are:
    -reboot system now
    -apply sd card:update.zip
    -wipe data/factory reset
    -wipe cache partition
    -install zip from sd card
    -nandroid
    -partitions menu
    -advanced

    Now what?
  10. mwhartman
    Offline

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,739
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    South FL
    My sense is you download a rom, mount the phone, copy to SD card wipe and install zip from SD card.

    I've contacted another member of the rescue squad who has more experience with RM. She will have a better sense than me.

    Mike
  11. dlwhtrose
    Offline

    dlwhtrose Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    2,790
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    God forsaken desert, wishing to be back in Dixie
    Hi, Mike asked me to see if I can help you....... A couple of questions to bring me up to speed..... You say you downloaded the free ROM Manager, did you also download the paid version??? How did you download the theme???

    For starters, clear your ROM Manager download cache. To do this go into RM hit the menu key then hit "clear download cache"
  12. Tallica
    Online

    Tallica Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    3,259
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Middleboro, MA
    Wipe data/factory reset. Wipe cache then reboot. Report back you might have to reroot
  13. dlwhtrose
    Offline

    dlwhtrose Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    2,790
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    God forsaken desert, wishing to be back in Dixie
    I don't think your download of the theme was complete and that is your problem. There are two ways to fix this...........

    First we have to get you out of the boot loop. Power off the phone by pulling the battery. Press and hold the x key then press the power key, once the M shows you can let go of the power key but continue to hold the x. You will then enter Clockwork Mod recovery.

    Once in recovery, wipe data/factory reset and then wipe cache. Once those are done, reboot

    Let me know when you are done with this and then we will fix the theme part.
  14. KShizzle
    Offline

    KShizzle New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yes! I got past the continuous cycling of the boot up screens and I am back to the Main Menu! The new ROM that I tried to install is INSTALLED. But, I want to figure out what I did wrong so I don't do this again in the future. Can you help me?

    I did not BACK UP ANY of my data before trying to root so now I have lost all of my phone numbers, and APPS. Any way to get them back? And also, how to I back up for next time? Thanks!
    Last edited: Aug 26, 2010
  15. KShizzle
    Offline

    KShizzle New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I don't have the Android Marketplace. Is that normal?
  16. dlwhtrose
    Offline

    dlwhtrose Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    2,790
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    God forsaken desert, wishing to be back in Dixie
    Okay if you are trying to us ROM Manager to download ROMs or themes, you have to have both the free and the paid version. They work together and without one or the other, they tend to cause a lot of issues. Also when using RM to download anything it is a good idea to first clear the download cache in RM. To do that you go into RM then hit the menu button then "clear download cache". Finally, RM really works well if you can use WiFi. It gets a better download.

    I think the problem was that you did not have a complete RM to work with and the download may have had a few glitches.

    You really should do a backup of your system now that way if anything happens you have that to go back to.
  17. dlwhtrose
    Offline

    dlwhtrose Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    2,790
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    God forsaken desert, wishing to be back in Dixie
    you may not have google apps installed. Which rom did you load??
  18. KShizzle
    Offline

    KShizzle New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Crap, before I dowloaded the ROM it asked if I wanted Google Apps and I said no. Looks like that was a bad idea. How can I get the Marketplace back now?
  19. dlwhtrose
    Offline

    dlwhtrose Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    2,790
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    God forsaken desert, wishing to be back in Dixie
    Okay, its no biggie. go back into RM and download the rom again and this time check the box next to the gapps and then check the boxes next to backup and wipe.
  20. KShizzle
    Offline

    KShizzle New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    When I go to ROM Management, and then I select Download ROM to download the ROM again it says "You must upgrade your ROM Manager to the Latest Version!

    How do I upgrade it with no Marktplace?
Search tags for this page

android bootup icons

,

droid 4 icons