Droid Razr Root/Flash

Discussion in 'Droid RAZR Hacks' started by Rampant, Dec 27, 2011.

  1. Rampant
    Offline

    Rampant New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2011
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I just got a Razr, and want to root it and remove all the bloat and put a new theme on. I've never done this before. Can anyone give me pointers on where to start? what is the latest/greatest/safest (won't brick the phone) method of doing this? Rom suggestions?

    I'm totally new at this so I appreciate it.
  2. akiles
    Offline

    akiles New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Messages:
    264
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Fredericksburg, VA
    To root: http://www.droidforums.net/forum/dr...ot-your-motorola-droid-razr-windows-only.html
    To "unbloat": http://www.droidforums.net/forum/droid-razr-hacks/182453-apps-safe-remove.html
    They are long, but you will be doing yourself a favor by reading every single post in each thread.

    Before you root, apply the update from verizon -save yourself the headache.
    If you decide to " remove" the bloat, there are some options: rename the apks, use titanium backup, etc. Whatever you do, do not remove the apps: unfreeze them instead.
    Be careful with freezing, you can brick your phone easily. Go easy on the apps...
  3. Rampant
    Offline

    Rampant New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2011
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    what do you mean unfreeze? I already got one update I think? What is the latest official update?
  4. akiles
    Offline

    akiles New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Messages:
    264
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Fredericksburg, VA
    oops, I meant "freeze" -sorry.
    last ota is 6.11.748.xt912.verizon.en.us
  5. Rampant
    Offline

    Rampant New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2011
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    ok, what does it mean to 'freeze' an app??
  6. Rampant
    Offline

    Rampant New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2011
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have version 6.11.744.XT912.Verizon.en.US. How do I upgrade to the latest?

    Edit: nevermind, duh. system update lol.
  7. cereal killer
    Offline

    cereal killer DF Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    11,090
    Likes Received:
    743
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    in TiBu you have the option to "freeze" an application meaning rendering it inoperable. It stays on the phone but cannot run. I would not delete or rename anything. Freezing is the best way to avoid any potential problems in the future.

    The RAZR runs very lean as it is so the need to freeze a lot of the bloat is unnecessary. You don't use it it doesn't run . Plain and simple as that. Freezing it just feels good :)
  8. Rampant
    Offline

    Rampant New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2011
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    ok, but I have to root the Razr to use Titanium backup yes? Any way to kill this stuff without risking the rooting of the phone?
  9. jtsativa420
    Offline

    jtsativa420 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2011
    Messages:
    188
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    South Dakota
    Last edited: Dec 29, 2011
  10. Nyteravyn
    Offline

    Nyteravyn New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2011
    Messages:
    810
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    MidWest
  11. jtsativa420
    Offline

    jtsativa420 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2011
    Messages:
    188
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    South Dakota
    I just tried the link I posted and the fastboot files link and both worked fine. If you are having problems with it I can upload to mega upload.
  12. Nyteravyn
    Offline

    Nyteravyn New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2011
    Messages:
    810
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    MidWest
    Tonight perhaps? Seems lately, no links on the forums are working for me? Using tapatalk? They all just idle?

    Sent from my DROID RAZR using Tapatalk
  13. jtsativa420
    Offline

    jtsativa420 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2011
    Messages:
    188
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    South Dakota
    I have log me in remote access to my computer so I can start the upload now or you could try Droid forums. It's a free app and seems to work fine with links. It may be a tapatalk problem. Your call so let me know.

    Swyped from my DROID RAZR using DroidForums.
  14. Nyteravyn
    Offline

    Nyteravyn New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2011
    Messages:
    810
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    MidWest
    Will try that soon, thanks ... You are great for helping out mate,on the road ATM though.

    Sent from my DROID RAZR using Tapatalk
  15. jtsativa420
    Offline

    jtsativa420 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2011
    Messages:
    188
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    South Dakota
    Anytime. Let me know if I need to and I'll start the upload.

    Swyped from my DROID RAZR using DroidForums.
Search tags for this page

droid razr root

,
how to flash a droid razor