Droid forum app

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid MAXX' started by aarong03, Oct 29, 2014.

  1. aarong03

    aarong03 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2012
    Messages:
    476
    Likes Received:
    25
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Central New York
    Ratings:
    +27
    I use to be able to use the Droid Fourm app. And now for the longest time the has not worked for almost a yr now. Anyone know why the app stopped working?
     
  2. 94lt1

    94lt1 Super Moderator
    Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012
    Messages:
    17,150
    Likes Received:
    4,040
    Trophy Points:
    1,138
    Location:
    SE TX
    Ratings:
    +4,530
    Current Phone Model:
    Droid Turbo 2
    The forum updated, and the app is no longer able to be used..
     
  3. Mustang02

    Mustang02 Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010
    Messages:
    7,624
    Likes Received:
    5,114
    Trophy Points:
    1,563
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ratings:
    +6,072
    Current Phone Model:
    Nexus 6P/5X
    Just use Tapatalk
     
    • Like Like x 1
  4. aarong03

    aarong03 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2012
    Messages:
    476
    Likes Received:
    25
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Central New York
    Ratings:
    +27
    I just installed Tapatalk. Thanks
     
  5. Droid DOES!!

    Droid DOES!! What iDoesn't
    Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    6,375
    Likes Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Ratings:
    +35
    Let me know if you would like an Xparent version ;)

    Sent from my SCH-I545 using Xparent ICS Tapatalk 2
     
    • Like Like x 1
  6. Jonny Kansas

    Jonny Kansas Administrator
    Staff Member Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    16,546
    Likes Received:
    7,107
    Trophy Points:
    1,278
    Location:
    Michigan's Upper Peninsula
    Ratings:
    +8,455
    Current Phone Model:
    Pixel XL
    Twitter:
    jonny_ks
    I never got the point of Tapatalk-ready forums having their own apps, until I started using Tapatalk again. This is the only forum I'm anywhere near active in, but when I launch Tapatalk, I have to select the forum every time.

    Not to hijack this thread, but I was used to the older version of Tapatalk. Am I missing a setting or something where the app can be set to open to DF right away, instead of the "briefing" screen or whatever it is?
     
  7. FoxKat

    FoxKat Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    14,806
    Likes Received:
    4,751
    Trophy Points:
    838
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Ratings:
    +5,290
    Current Phone Model:
    Droid Turbo 2 & Galaxy S7
    Interesting, it doesn't do that for me. It always opens into the list of most recent posts on my end. I'll see if I can figure out what if any defaults can be set.

    Edit: I was incorrect. It opens into the Feed, but I do have to select the forum from the list under the person image icon.

    Since I don't really close it unless I reboot, it's always on for me and running in the background which is why I gave wrong information.
     
    #7 FoxKat, Oct 30, 2014
    Last edited: Oct 30, 2014
  8. Jonny Kansas

    Jonny Kansas Administrator
    Staff Member Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    16,546
    Likes Received:
    7,107
    Trophy Points:
    1,278
    Location:
    Michigan's Upper Peninsula
    Ratings:
    +8,455
    Current Phone Model:
    Pixel XL
    Twitter:
    jonny_ks
    Mine opens to notifications-
    [​IMG]
    Then I have to swipe the menu out from the right & tap on df-
    [​IMG]
    Then I get to whatever I was in last. Participated, unread, etc.
    [​IMG]
    I swear the old app just opened right to this last screen. Occasionally, I had to select df, but not all of this swiping & poking at my screen. Haha

    Also, I had two versions of Tapatalk on my phone when it first downloaded my apps. Stupid me, I uninstall the one that did what I like because I this one had a newer version number.

    Sent from my Note 4
     
  9. FoxKat

    FoxKat Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    14,806
    Likes Received:
    4,751
    Trophy Points:
    838
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Ratings:
    +5,290
    Current Phone Model:
    Droid Turbo 2 & Galaxy S7
    Mine opens in feed like yours but I tap on the icon to right and then on droidforums.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  10. Jonny Kansas

    Jonny Kansas Administrator
    Staff Member Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    16,546
    Likes Received:
    7,107
    Trophy Points:
    1,278
    Location:
    Michigan's Upper Peninsula
    Ratings:
    +8,455
    Current Phone Model:
    Pixel XL
    Twitter:
    jonny_ks
    Ah. Ok. That's still the same number of steps, but makes a little more sense. I definitely liked it better when it launched to the forum. That's where I'm going if I'm using the app icon to open it. If I want to get to notifications, I'll click my notification or navigate there AFTER checking the forum.
     
  11. FoxKat

    FoxKat Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    14,806
    Likes Received:
    4,751
    Trophy Points:
    838
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Ratings:
    +5,290
    Current Phone Model:
    Droid Turbo 2 & Galaxy S7
    Correct.

    However I like your way better now! Go figure...
     
  12. Jonny Kansas

    Jonny Kansas Administrator
    Staff Member Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    16,546
    Likes Received:
    7,107
    Trophy Points:
    1,278
    Location:
    Michigan's Upper Peninsula
    Ratings:
    +8,455
    Current Phone Model:
    Pixel XL
    Twitter:
    jonny_ks
    Haha! I'll have to give yours a try later.
     
Search tags for this page

droid forum app