Droid 4 With CWM Rom Manager and Safe Strap

Discussion in 'Droid 4 Hacks' started by Hooks405, Feb 12, 2012.

  1. B-Unit

    B-Unit Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    302
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +4
    Back on topic, do we need to run the 'Install Recovery' from inside Safestrap first? I installed CWM from Rom Manager, but didnt get any kind of prompt for entering boot loader on startup.
     
  2. Hooks405

    Hooks405 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2012
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Open safe strap apk and install first

    Sent from my DROID4 using DroidForums
     
    Last edited: Feb 14, 2012
  3. guidot

    guidot Developer Relations Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    7,347
    Likes Received:
    274
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    Ratings:
    +274
    You don't use RM with Safestrap.

    Sent from the best 3G phone on Verizon.
     
  4. B-Unit

    B-Unit Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    302
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +4
    Thats not what the OP indicates...
     
  5. Hooks405

    Hooks405 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2012
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    The op is exactly how i did it to my d4. I dont think u actually have to have rom manager or flash its recovery.

    Sent from my DROID4 using DroidForums
     
  6. Joseph007

    Joseph007 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2012
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I swear, you must work for Verizon or Best Buy or something, I went through your old posts, and all you seem to have been saying is how people are stupid, yet you offer no help.

    Hooks405, thanks for the tips, especially using the RAZR version...I have done a backup and will be testing it shortly by doing a recovery.
     
  7. tdpolo26

    tdpolo26 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2010
    Messages:
    225
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    amherst ny
    Ratings:
    +1
    Hey listen I am just saying its not a good idea...sorry I lashed out ....I don't work for either but I have friends that do. I def don't think people are stupid and my posts do not revolve around that so as of now I will just let it go.... most people just don't research before they do something and with the og it wasn't a big deal but with this phone it is a killer which is annoying cause other phones u can just reflash
    I hope they can get an sbf.. I am on the motorola forum and they can't seem to give any info on bootloaders or anything. I did say that when I buy a computer I get a recovery disk and when I buy a phone I should get the same.
    I hope that you don't get any further problems, maybe some day we will get a sbf and I will root to.
     
  8. Joseph007

    Joseph007 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2012
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I just did this too...and bricked it too....FFFFFFFFFFUUUUUUUUUUUUUU!!!!!:mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad:
     
  9. dewhashish

    dewhashish New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2012
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0

    this is why im going to wait for the fastboot or sbf files, just in case this happens
     
  10. *86eyerok*

    *86eyerok* Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Upstate, NY
    Ratings:
    +0
    Sorry to hear that man. I hope people will learn from my mistake of flashing the nandroid backup and wait to be able to flash the stock rom first before attempting this.

    Sent from my DROID4 using DroidForums
     
  11. tdpolo26

    tdpolo26 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2010
    Messages:
    225
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    amherst ny
    Ratings:
    +1
    your second d4 bricked tooo.... aghh that stinks..... i wonder if there is something in the bootloader doing this... i am def not going to mess with it now for a while.
     
    Last edited: Feb 15, 2012
  12. *86eyerok*

    *86eyerok* Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Upstate, NY
    Ratings:
    +0
    Oh man! Second one? It hurt doing it the first time. There is no way I could do it a second time, ain't worth it to me.

    Sent from my Xoom using DroidForums
     
  13. tdpolo26

    tdpolo26 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2010
    Messages:
    225
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    amherst ny
    Ratings:
    +1
    motorola reads this forum and news about the vulnerabilities i wonder if they are starting to catch on
     
  14. orangechoochoo

    orangechoochoo Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2012
    Messages:
    1,109
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    On a caboose
    Ratings:
    +12
    I read thelink and it says safestrap is based on clockwork, so maybe your additional installation of cw is causing the problem? I'm trying to figure out where you guys went wrong. The op didn't mention installing cw, maybe since its based on cw he referred to it as that. I remember reading that if you use safestrap you cannot have another type of recovery program on your phone.
     
  15. Frio500

    Frio500 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    So I installed safestrap last night, And I thought I'd share some of my random stupidly while I threw caution into the wind and messed around with it.

    After getting into the recovery I made a nandroid backup while safe mode was disabled. After that I decided to enable it (whats the worse that can happen right?)

    So I went ahead and enabled it, and restarted my phone. Found that my stock rom wasn't there anymore. Which makes sense.. Since It's either being bypassed or copied away to another location. (If only I knew that at the time.) After freaking out for about an hour trying to figure out how I broke my phone by enabling safe mode I learned that all I did was move it so I could install my own rom while keeping stock safe. Neat, but I wasn't sure how to reverse the effects. Restoring my nandroid backup proved a waste of time, I ended to going to the advanced settings and disabling safestrap, which completely removed everything, and when I restarted my phone my stock rom loaded unaware that it was previously lost into the abyss.
     
Search tags for this page
cwm droid 4
,
cwm for droid 4
,
cwm on droid 4
,
droid 4 cwm
,

droid 4 rom manager

,
droid 4 roms
,

rom manager droid 4

,
rom manager for droid 4
,
rom manager safestrap
,
safestrap vs rom manager