Droid 2 Overclocking

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid 2 Development' started by 252chevyboyz, Jan 25, 2011.

  1. 252chevyboyz

    252chevyboyz Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2010
    Messages:
    2,208
    Likes Received:
    157
    Trophy Points:
    143
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Ratings:
    +160
    Hello I searched overclocking for the d2 and couldn't find anything with a lot detail. I am just wondering if it is possible to go over 1ghz with the stock rom and kernal. Any input would be appreciated. My appologies for another OC thread haha

    Sent from my rooted D2
     
  2. spaz33g

    spaz33g Rescue Squad
    Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    6,374
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Location:
    orange county, ca
    Ratings:
    +0
    You certainly can. Easiest way is probably to download j rummy's droid overclock app. It depends phone to phone how high you can clock but at least 1.2 ghz

    tappin and a talkin
     
  3. 252chevyboyz

    252chevyboyz Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2010
    Messages:
    2,208
    Likes Received:
    157
    Trophy Points:
    143
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Ratings:
    +160
    I got setcpu now is it possible with that or should I really get jrum's? I have heard good things about jrum's app but just wondering if setcpu might be able to do it?

    Sent from my rooted D2
     
  4. Cwagmire

    Cwagmire Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Messages:
    182
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Not trying to hijack your thread but instead of making another OC thread, I thought I should ask here:

    So Overclocking obviously make the phone work faster (or so I've been told), but doesn't it also drain the battery more? While I haven't overclocked, my phone seems pretty fast, but would it be just that much faster and how battery efficient is the phone after its been overclocked?

    My phone stats:
    Droid 2 Rooted
    Liberty 1.0
     
  5. want a droid

    want a droid Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,094
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Maryland
    Ratings:
    +0
    Setcpu doesn't overclock your phone, it simply manages the throttling and allows you to set profiles (ie. Screen off, Charging, etc.)

    As posted, there are apps that can easily overclock your phone for you, while you can also do it manually using programs like Root Explorer.
     
  6. 252chevyboyz

    252chevyboyz Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2010
    Messages:
    2,208
    Likes Received:
    157
    Trophy Points:
    143
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Ratings:
    +160
    No worry on hijacking I'm open to anyone posting here. I do believe it would be a bit faster and maybe a bit less laggy. I got jrum's app and I am oc'ed to 1.15. Thanks for the support deciding to buy jrum's app. Didn't know oc'ing was that easy. This thread can remain live with whoever wants to post questions. 1.15 does make a difference in browsing speed.

    [​IMG]
    With wifi one

    [​IMG]

    Sent from my rooted D2
     
  7. 252chevyboyz

    252chevyboyz Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2010
    Messages:
    2,208
    Likes Received:
    157
    Trophy Points:
    143
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Ratings:
    +160
    How much battery does yalls droid overclock use? Ill post an image below of mine. Its pushing 8%

    [​IMG]

    Sent from my rooted D2
     
  8. bapperton

    bapperton Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2010
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I didn't get what you were saying, but after two edits I do. Lol.
     
  9. 252chevyboyz

    252chevyboyz Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2010
    Messages:
    2,208
    Likes Received:
    157
    Trophy Points:
    143
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Ratings:
    +160
    That is how much battery droid overclock used after that much time but I can usually go from 6 til about 4 or 5 that afternoon with a full charge.

    Sent from my rooted D2
     
  10. macman4

    macman4 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2011
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    252chevyboyz, were is that chart that shows battery usage like the one your showing. Is that on the stock droid 2 or is it ann app.
     
  11. 252chevyboyz

    252chevyboyz Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2010
    Messages:
    2,208
    Likes Received:
    157
    Trophy Points:
    143
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Ratings:
    +160
    Yea I was kinda confusing there bap. Also the battery chart I am showing is the stock one that comes with the android OS. Menu/settings/battery manager/then click the battery to show the statistics

    Sent from my rooted D2
     
  12. macman4

    macman4 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2011
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    cool and thanks
     
Search tags for this page

droid 2 overclock