Droid 2 Froyo 2.2.2 update problem

Discussion in 'Droid 2 Tech Issues' started by dark_matter, Sep 10, 2010.

  1. dark_matter
    Offline

    dark_matter New Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I tried to do a software update yesterday and it says the update is downloading but it has been over 12 hours and it doesnt say downloading in the notifications bar. I have tried backing up all my data and doing a factory reset but it does the same thing after the reinitialization. Is there a update.zip or something that can help me?
  2. squidlymandingo
    Offline

    squidlymandingo Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    May 9, 2010
    Messages:
    671
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Boston
    Ratings:
    +0
    The sbf is 2.2.2 do you have it rooted and bootstrapped I heard that causes problems
  3. Redflea
    Offline

    Redflea Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1,954
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +3
    You might try doing it over wifi if you have a good connection.

    If this persists, you should take it to a VZW store or call support...
  4. dark_matter
    Offline

    dark_matter New Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    i called support and they gave me permission to use rsd lite, i did not root it i just got it... the overwrite worked
  5. Redflea
    Offline

    Redflea Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1,954
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +3
    Hmmm...never heard of them doing that before.

    Did you tell them you had it and the SBF, and would it be OK? They didn't suggest it, did they?

    Interesting.
  6. dark_matter
    Offline

    dark_matter New Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    i told them that i had rsd lite and the sbf from motorola directly and they noted my account that i knew what i was doing and they gave me the go ahead
  7. bruisecrew7
    Offline

    bruisecrew7 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    hey, im having the same issues. what should i do?
  8. travelingfool
    Offline

    travelingfool Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Note on account: "Be advised that this customer is a known hacker. In the event of any device returns, take special note to thoroughly investigate if device has ever been rooted, and deny future claims accordingly."

    Lol, just kidding. I couldn't resist.
  9. jaytay4589
    Offline

    jaytay4589 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've been having the same problem on mine, but I don't really want to do anything unofficial etc
  10. dark_matter
    Offline

    dark_matter New Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    If you are not technically inclined please take it into a verizon store and ask them to reflash your phone to the latest update.
  11. pc747
    Offline

    pc747 DF Administrator Staff Member Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    18,134
    Likes Received:
    1,463
    Trophy Points:
    258
    Ratings:
    +1,483

    It must been vzw support. When I called vzw they had a moto rep and they wanted me to go to a vzw store. When I told them they did not have the ability and if I could do it myself. They made it clear that people are not to have the rsdlite program.
    Now I did use rsdlite to fix that issue, but I know moto does not want the public using it.....
  12. jaytay4589
    Offline

    jaytay4589 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0

    so when you are saying they did not have the ability, do you mean that if i take mine to a vzw store they wont be able to fix the issue?
  13. LoneWolf15
    Offline

    LoneWolf15 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +2
    Sorry to ask a (possibly) n00b-ish question, but is 2.2.2 officially out for the Droid 2?

    My Droid 2 lists as OS 2.2, and checking for an update says I'm fully up-to-date.
  14. dark_matter
    Offline

    dark_matter New Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    The software version should be 2.2.20.A955.Verizon.en.us but the android version is still 2.2
  15. LoneWolf15
    Offline

    LoneWolf15 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +2
    Gotcha. Upon further looking, I have that version. Thanks for the info.
Search tags for this page
droid 2 froyo update.zip
,
frayo 2.2.2
,
froyo 2.2.2 issues
,

froyo 2.2.2 update