Disappointing

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid Bionic' started by TechnologicallyChallenged, Jun 1, 2012.

  1. TechnologicallyChallenged

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2011
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +6
    While sitting in a room with a friend who has an HTC phone (don't remember which one specifically) we decided to run speed tests and compare just for fun. While his phone consistently pulled down 40 Mbps, my Bionic was only reaching download speeds of 20 Mbps. WTH, Motorola!
     
  2. TechnologicallyChallenged

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2011
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +6
    Both on the Verizon network.
     
  3. Joshison

    Joshison Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    NH
    Ratings:
    +0
    Same destination on speed test?
     
  4. TechnologicallyChallenged

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2011
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +6
    Both using the same speed test app, which is supposed to connect to the tower with the strongest signal, so I assume so. We also ran like six or seven tests.
     
  5. 94lt1

    94lt1 Super Moderator
    Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012
    Messages:
    16,784
    Likes Received:
    3,635
    Trophy Points:
    1,138
    Location:
    SE TX
    Ratings:
    +4,099
    Current Phone Model:
    Droid Turbo 2
    Power off your device, remove the back, and the sim, power it back on.

    Power it back off and replace the sim and the SD card and the battery back. Power the device back on.

    This is called re-seating the sim. It will typically make a difference.

    In this situation, you should also have considered power cycling the device. This re-registers the device with the towers. And will often times result in a better connection.

    DROID RAZR MAXXIMIZED!!!! PREPARE TO BE VANQUISHED!!!
     
    #5 94lt1, Jun 1, 2012
    Last edited: Jun 1, 2012
  6. aaf709

    aaf709 Nice Guy
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    4,180
    Likes Received:
    49
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Location:
    So Cal
    Ratings:
    +49

    I've done this and it's worked fine. But from experience, if you put the sim card in wrong, it'll get fried. This happened to me and afterwards all I could get was 3G. I went the Verizon store, explained what I did and they put a new sim card in for free.
     
    #6 aaf709, Jun 1, 2012
    Last edited: Jun 1, 2012
  7. bbtkd

    bbtkd Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    651
    Likes Received:
    26
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Earth
    Ratings:
    +26
    So we have to go through these gymnastics when we want decent transfer rates, vs. the Samsung which just gets those speeds without risking burning up a SIM card? Perhaps Moto and VZW could just fix the problem?
     
  8. aaf709

    aaf709 Nice Guy
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    4,180
    Likes Received:
    49
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Location:
    So Cal
    Ratings:
    +49
    While it's surprising to have such wide differences in data speeds on the same network, I don't treat Speed Test as conclusive. To me it's like Bonneville, a good flat stretch to go wide open. But what's it like in the real world? Maybe try loading the New York Times non-mobile site and see what happens.

    I also have speeds in the high 20s on Speed Test but it doesn't bother me. I've found when I'm downloading from the <gag> Play Store the speeds are closer to 1 Mbps with an occasional burst to 5 Mbps. It's like having a fast sports car on the LA freeway during rush hour. Doesn't matter what your top speed is if you can't use it. I can stream a movie from Netflix to my parents TV without a problem.
     
    #8 aaf709, Jun 1, 2012
    Last edited: Jun 1, 2012
  9. 94lt1

    94lt1 Super Moderator
    Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012
    Messages:
    16,784
    Likes Received:
    3,635
    Trophy Points:
    1,138
    Location:
    SE TX
    Ratings:
    +4,099
    Current Phone Model:
    Droid Turbo 2
    That's a great idea, and its something you may tell them:D I personally can only tell you what I've found that makes the situation a little more tolerable. :)

    DROID RAZR MAXXIMIZED!!!! PREPARE TO BE VANQUISHED!!!
     
  10. 94lt1

    94lt1 Super Moderator
    Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012
    Messages:
    16,784
    Likes Received:
    3,635
    Trophy Points:
    1,138
    Location:
    SE TX
    Ratings:
    +4,099
    Current Phone Model:
    Droid Turbo 2
    Lol, yes its very important to be careful with the sim. I wouldn't like that situation. Thankfully Sims are free :)

    DROID RAZR MAXXIMIZED!!!! PREPARE TO BE VANQUISHED!!!
     
  11. Fokkerdmr

    Fokkerdmr Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +3
    I have had the problem before where my data connection seems slow. Like molasses slow. I run speedtest, get .16 mb/s down and 3.5 mb/s up. Yep, .16 mb/s!!! Pull the battery, put it back in, re-run the test, and voila - in the 20's or 30's mb/s. But, now this seems to be happening daily. I'm hoping there's something in the upcoming update that addresses this issue.
     
  12. 94lt1

    94lt1 Super Moderator
    Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012
    Messages:
    16,784
    Likes Received:
    3,635
    Trophy Points:
    1,138
    Location:
    SE TX
    Ratings:
    +4,099
    Current Phone Model:
    Droid Turbo 2
    I too wonder if vzw hasn't changed how the device needs to communicate with their network, so most of our devices are slowing down until our next ota.

    Its possible I guess.

    DROID RAZR MAXXIMIZED!!!! PREPARE TO BE VANQUISHED!!!
     
Search tags for this page

how do you get a sims card out that was put in wrong on the

,

razr maxx hd stuck 1mbps router