1. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Disappointing

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid Bionic' started by TechnologicallyChallenged, Jun 1, 2012.

  1. TechnologicallyChallenged
    Offline

    TechnologicallyChallenged New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2011
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    While sitting in a room with a friend who has an HTC phone (don't remember which one specifically) we decided to run speed tests and compare just for fun. While his phone consistently pulled down 40 Mbps, my Bionic was only reaching download speeds of 20 Mbps. WTH, Motorola!
  2. TechnologicallyChallenged
    Offline

    TechnologicallyChallenged New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2011
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Both on the Verizon network.
  3. Joshison
    Offline

    Joshison New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NH
    Same destination on speed test?
  4. TechnologicallyChallenged
    Offline

    TechnologicallyChallenged New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2011
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Both using the same speed test app, which is supposed to connect to the tower with the strongest signal, so I assume so. We also ran like six or seven tests.
  5. 94lt1
    Offline

    94lt1 Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012
    Messages:
    11,263
    Likes Received:
    588
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    SE TX
    Power off your device, remove the back, and the sim, power it back on.

    Power it back off and replace the sim and the SD card and the battery back. Power the device back on.

    This is called re-seating the sim. It will typically make a difference.

    In this situation, you should also have considered power cycling the device. This re-registers the device with the towers. And will often times result in a better connection.

    DROID RAZR MAXXIMIZED!!!! PREPARE TO BE VANQUISHED!!!
    Last edited: Jun 1, 2012
  6. aaf709
    Online

    aaf709 Nice Guy Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    4,188
    Likes Received:
    46
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    So Cal

    I've done this and it's worked fine. But from experience, if you put the sim card in wrong, it'll get fried. This happened to me and afterwards all I could get was 3G. I went the Verizon store, explained what I did and they put a new sim card in for free.
    Last edited: Jun 1, 2012
  7. bbtkd
    Offline

    bbtkd Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    629
    Likes Received:
    19
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Earth
    So we have to go through these gymnastics when we want decent transfer rates, vs. the Samsung which just gets those speeds without risking burning up a SIM card? Perhaps Moto and VZW could just fix the problem?
  8. aaf709
    Online

    aaf709 Nice Guy Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    4,188
    Likes Received:
    46
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    So Cal
    While it's surprising to have such wide differences in data speeds on the same network, I don't treat Speed Test as conclusive. To me it's like Bonneville, a good flat stretch to go wide open. But what's it like in the real world? Maybe try loading the New York Times non-mobile site and see what happens.

    I also have speeds in the high 20s on Speed Test but it doesn't bother me. I've found when I'm downloading from the <gag> Play Store the speeds are closer to 1 Mbps with an occasional burst to 5 Mbps. It's like having a fast sports car on the LA freeway during rush hour. Doesn't matter what your top speed is if you can't use it. I can stream a movie from Netflix to my parents TV without a problem.
    Last edited: Jun 1, 2012
  9. 94lt1
    Offline

    94lt1 Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012
    Messages:
    11,263
    Likes Received:
    588
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    SE TX
    That's a great idea, and its something you may tell them:D I personally can only tell you what I've found that makes the situation a little more tolerable. :)

    DROID RAZR MAXXIMIZED!!!! PREPARE TO BE VANQUISHED!!!
  10. 94lt1
    Offline

    94lt1 Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012
    Messages:
    11,263
    Likes Received:
    588
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    SE TX
    Lol, yes its very important to be careful with the sim. I wouldn't like that situation. Thankfully Sims are free :)

    DROID RAZR MAXXIMIZED!!!! PREPARE TO BE VANQUISHED!!!
  11. Fokkerdmr
    Offline

    Fokkerdmr New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have had the problem before where my data connection seems slow. Like molasses slow. I run speedtest, get .16 mb/s down and 3.5 mb/s up. Yep, .16 mb/s!!! Pull the battery, put it back in, re-run the test, and voila - in the 20's or 30's mb/s. But, now this seems to be happening daily. I'm hoping there's something in the upcoming update that addresses this issue.
  12. 94lt1
    Offline

    94lt1 Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012
    Messages:
    11,263
    Likes Received:
    588
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    SE TX
    I too wonder if vzw hasn't changed how the device needs to communicate with their network, so most of our devices are slowing down until our next ota.

    Its possible I guess.

    DROID RAZR MAXXIMIZED!!!! PREPARE TO BE VANQUISHED!!!
  13. Fokkerdmr
    Offline

    Fokkerdmr New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I doubt its something deliberate on VZW's part. My guess is there are still some problems with the 3G/4G switching code, and possibly with the code that deals with very low signal strength. My phone seems to lose data signal a few times a day, and it takes almost a full minute for it to recover. I don't know whether its occuring while my phone is off, but I have noticed it once or twice a day while using the phone. Its possible that a bug exists where this data signal loss also triggers this ultra-slow communication. Before 902, I had the same problem, but my data speed was very consistenly either 300 kb/s or 600 kb/s. That sounded a bit more 'mathematical' to me, (e.g. a software bug). I don't know whether its a problem with their network or the phone. Maybe a little of both. I hope they have telemetry reporting back from phones on this condition, and are working to solve it. Although most of us on the boards are pretty tech-savvy, we probably represent < 1% of the Android user population - so there would be lots of people scratching their heads at the abysmal performance of their phone (assuming this happens to other phones as well).
  14. hookbill
    Offline

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,545
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    I Live in a sort of rural area in Ohio and I know that 4G is faster then 3G, it's obvious. I just ran speed test on my Bionic and I came up with 7.22Mbps down and 1.55 Mbps up. This would appear to be normal at least to me for 4G and let me explain why.

    I get my house internet from Crime Warner, I pay for their "Turbo" and that, according to them, promises me 13mps down and supposedly 1.0 up. Now if I reboot my router or hook it up directly to my computer I can get 28 to 32 mps down and almost always .97 up. That's it.

    So I really question people who are claiming to get 20 mps down using 4G. It just can't possible. I also tested my bionic on CMDA only and I got .24mbps down and .52 mbps up. This is the only way it can possibly work, 4G simply is not as fast as Cable.

    So I don't know how you can possibly claim these speeds. It doesn't make sense.
  15. 94lt1
    Offline

    94lt1 Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012
    Messages:
    11,263
    Likes Received:
    588
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    SE TX
    Nice macaw.. I have a scarlet.

    DROID RAZR MAXXIMIZED!!!! PREPARE TO BE VANQUISHED!!!
  16. aaf709
    Online

    aaf709 Nice Guy Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    4,188
    Likes Received:
    46
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    So Cal

    Well I can show you this View attachment 50669 but honestly I look that Speedtest like Bonneville. Flat and straight. It gives you an idea of your top speed, but in the real world it would be different, like driving on the LA freeway during the rush hour. I have the System app and when I was updating an app on 4G I looked at it. It was at 5 Mbps with a peak at 9 Mbps. Many times it's been 1 Mbps peaking at 5 Mbps.

    I live in San Diego, one of the first cities to get Verizon's 4G Lte.
    Last edited: Jun 3, 2012
  17. jroc
    Offline

    jroc Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    3,837
    Likes Received:
    61
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Washington DC
    As far as the differences in speeds...

    It could be the hardware itself. The Bionic should have the same LTE hardware as the RAZR. The RAZR's is capped at 50Mbps. The G Nex and Rezound is capped at 100Mbps. I never had the big of a difference with my RAZR and Rezound in an area thats -55 in decibel readings. In fact...the G Nex I had, the RAZR and Rezound I have all hit around 20-25Mbps down in that area. Where I live, in the immediate area they all average about 5-10Mbps down outside. I assume its like home internet. The higher the cap, the higher speeds you can average. There are some software, programs I can use that can max out my home connection.

    Hook...I ran speed tests in an area thats -55 in decibel readings for about an 1/2 to an hour. I averaged 20-25Mbps down each time...with a G Nex too. Its possible. I live in a weak reception area...and average your speeds. I would say you are in a weaker area for reception. Go to a better area and run speed tests, it should be better. Just use your phone's decibel readings like a compass for finding a better reception area. All things being equal thats what the readings could be used for.

    All that said...I can use the web and data good outside in my area...even tho I'm not hitting anywhere near 20Mbps. I also have a DX1 that lost internet completely one time. I had to do a factory reset to get it back. Think about that too along with other suggestions that were already posted.
    Last edited: Jun 3, 2012
  18. Fokkerdmr
    Offline

    Fokkerdmr New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
Search tags for this page

how do you get a sims card out that was put in wrong on the

,

razr maxx hd stuck 1mbps router