Debain/ubuntu anyone?

gltechguy

Reaction score
Hi all im new to the droid world and smart phones in general. I have been using linux for sometime now and LOVE it. I want to run it on my phone. is this possible with the droid 3 yet? what kernel would support loop device for this model? anyone have a tutorial/guide? Thanks for any help.

edw00rd

Reaction score
Hi all im new to the droid world and smart phones in general. I have been using linux for sometime now and LOVE it. I want to run it on my phone. is this possible with the droid 3 yet? what kernel would support loop device for this model? anyone have a tutorial/guide? Thanks for any help.

What you are revering to is whether or not ur phone supports loopback devices. Which would allow you to boot an ARM release of Ubuntu/Debian/Backtrack... I have been looking for the same thing for the bionic. No luck yet and my original attempt to install ubuntu resulted in a soft bricking of my bionic. I was able to get my OG DROID 1to boot Ubuntu no sweat.... google booting linux on android. DO NOT ATTEMPT to follow any tutorials that are not for your device! Good luck and let us know if you are successful!

OP
G

gltechguy

Reaction score
Bummer. So its the hardware of the D3 not the Rom that allows or denies the loopback?

GoTeamScotch

Reaction score
I also am curious about this topic. I remember booting ubuntu on my Droid 1 back in the day. It didn't run all that great, but a dual core phone overclocked by 20% might do a little better. So does a rom need to come out that will support this then? How does this work?

DROID 3 - Steel Droid 3

DaSnOoTeRKiNG

Reaction score
bt5

dancedroid snap20120118_154904-picsay.jpg

OP
G

gltechguy

Reaction score
How? Teach master.....

Sent from my DROID3 using DroidForums

DaSnOoTeRKiNG

Reaction score
Ok bud I'm working on uploading the file set, when I doI will also post a howto............ Just looking for the time unfortunately