Data Plans and Grandfathering Question

Discussion in 'Droid RAZR' started by Badadio, Oct 19, 2011.

  1. tbell6

    tbell6 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    If you got unlimited data for your smart phone while it was available, then you are grandfathered_ No longer available on newlines since tiered data.

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using DroidForums
     
  2. lobo13

    lobo13 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2011
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Definitely will lose the people that have unlimited now. I mean the cap limit sucks.
     
  3. Badadio

    Badadio Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    4G for the price of 3G sounds almost too good to be true...Although I live in an area that doesn't yet use 4G so I guess it's moot anyway. If true, though, I'm glad I don't have to pay extra for something that I can't even use.
     
  4. morcguy

    morcguy Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2010
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +2

    No. ...
     
  5. liftedplane

    liftedplane Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2011
    Messages:
    1,308
    Likes Received:
    150
    Trophy Points:
    78
    Location:
    Washington State
    Ratings:
    +173
    probably closer to their whole grandfathered customers
     
  6. 69copo

    69copo Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    Messages:
    155
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Down range.......
    Ratings:
    +5
    I have kept my unlimited data plan since day one. I've fine through numerous Blackberries and DX 1&2, Thunderbolts, D1-D2G and now the Bionic. According to VZW whatever your contract is it will be grandfathered in 4G or not.

    Sent from the machine to rule all machines.
     
  7. cybertec69

    cybertec69 Silver Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010
    Messages:
    2,045
    Likes Received:
    212
    Trophy Points:
    128
    Location:
    Staten Island, NY
    Ratings:
    +240
    No, the pricing for 3G and 4G is the same, always was, always will be.
     
  8. Gehangin

    Gehangin New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Here is my deal/question:
    I have an original Droid with unlimited data.
    Just got a friend's Droid 3 . . . when I activate the Droid 3 on my line, will my plan just stay the same, including the unlimited data?
    Thanks
     
  9. catfisher

    catfisher Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2011
    Messages:
    154
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    PA
    Ratings:
    +1
    You should be able to keep it. Don't let big red take it from you and be sure you mention your unlimited data plan. Let us know what happens.

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums
     
  10. Gehangin

    Gehangin New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Do I need to call them or can I just enter my phone number when using the activation process on the Droid 3?
     
  11. liftedplane

    liftedplane Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2011
    Messages:
    1,308
    Likes Received:
    150
    Trophy Points:
    78
    Location:
    Washington State
    Ratings:
    +173
    You should just have to enter your phone number and you're good to go. You are just changing phones not plans
     
  12. yoopermjm

    yoopermjm Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    113
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Upper Michigan
    Ratings:
    +0
    I too came from Alltel with the same plan, I'm hoping they leave us alone...!
     
Search tags for this page

aokp-kanged