Currently have no data plan...do I have to wait?

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid X' started by LegendaryPunk, Sep 10, 2010.

  1. LegendaryPunk

    LegendaryPunk New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    So right now my Droid X is sitting in a box on my front porch waiting patiently for me to get off work. However, I just thought of something - with my current phone I do not have a data plan.

    So, does that mean I need to wait for my current billing cycle to end before using the phone so I don't get charged extra for data usage? Or when I activate my Droid will the new plan automatically kick in?
     
  2. TheJester34

    TheJester34 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2010
    Messages:
    185
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Dunlap, TN
    Ratings:
    +0
    I believe it should automatically add it when you switch to the DX. I'd check online and see if you can add it there just in case it doesn't though
     
  3. debaucher

    debaucher Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    If when you ordered it you selected a data plan (which you have to do to order it through verizon) then when you activate it, it will automatically switch you to your new plan with data.

    You can always call verizon after/during activation to double check.

    D.
     
  4. liferefugee

    liferefugee Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    260
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Since the data plan is required, it will be added, but as mentioned before, however you ordered it the dataplan had to be selected to even place the order. If you look at your order summary you should see it on there. I also went from no data plan to using my X just last night and already cant believe I didnt do it sooner... even my wife (who is why I didnt) was having a blast with her new X.
     
  5. hookbill

    hookbill Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,502
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Ratings:
    +8
    :welcome: to the Forum. Don't be surprised when you get home if all you see is a note from Fedex saying they attempted delivery but they needed a signature. Verizon requires a signature on all their deliveries.
     
  6. LegendaryPunk

    LegendaryPunk New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for the welcome! I guess I kinda just jumped right into the forum and didn't even thinking about introducing myself.

    I left a note on my door asking the FedEx person to leave the package if possible, and the tracking web-site has a note saying it was left on my front porch so I'm hoping I'm all set!

    I also guess I should have clarified in my first post that when I purchased the phone on-line I did indeed select a new monthly plan; I just wasn't aware if it kicked in as soon as I got my phone or I had to wait for the current cycle to finish. Thinking about it now, the second option doesn't make a whole lot of sense, does it?
     
  7. liferefugee

    liferefugee Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    260
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    it will prorate from the moment you activate your new toy :)
     
Search tags for this page

i just changed to data plan, do i need to wait

,

i just started my data plan but my billing cycle is