Contacts force closing on LGB 0.5

Discussion in 'Liberty ROM DX' started by billyfj, May 20, 2011.

  1. billyfj
    Offline

    billyfj New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Dalton, Georgia USA
    I went from 2.01 to LGB 0.1 to 0.5 with the updated kernel today. I did a data wipe, cache wipe and dalvik wipe twice in between each upgrade. Everything seems to work ok except for my normal contact list. If i press a contact in the contact list or phone list to try to call them or open the contact, it just force closes back to the home-screen. I have searched for an answer here and haven't seen one. I may have over looked it? Any help would be GREATLY appreciated . Thanks in advance
  2. thirteen_20
    Offline

    thirteen_20 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I second this one. Its driving me crazy!

    Sent from my Liberated NerdX using Tapatalk.
  3. billyfj
    Offline

    billyfj New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Dalton, Georgia USA
    At least I am not the only one, even though that is no help to anyone.. Hoping someone knows the answer
  4. htsht
    Offline

    htsht New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I had this problem as well. Did a wipe and re installed it and worked fine.
  5. billyfj
    Offline

    billyfj New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Dalton, Georgia USA
  6. bkendrick
    Offline

    bkendrick New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2011
    Messages:
    204
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I second the re-install but you could try swapping from blur to asop or vice versa through the customizer. (I have no idea if it would work but just a suggestion)

    DX. CFU. LIB GB.5
  7. billyfj
    Offline

    billyfj New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Dalton, Georgia USA
    I did try changing the messaging, gallery,email, and camera from Aosp to Blur and back and it didn't help. I kept them all in the same group as I made the changes. Thanks for the help, I guess it's time to reinstall. Just hate having to set up everything again
  8. billyfj
    Offline

    billyfj New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Dalton, Georgia USA
    Wiped the data and all the caches and reinstalled 0.5 and that fixed it. THANKS for the help guys
  9. thirteen_20
    Offline

    thirteen_20 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Mine too...

    Sent from my Liberated NerdX using Tapatalk.
  10. mursepaolo
    Offline

    mursepaolo New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2010
    Messages:
    190
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    was about to update my girl's phone until i saw this.
  11. kilahimm
    Offline

    kilahimm New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2011
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Are you restoring any applications or settings related to contacts on the device after wiping and reinstalling?
  12. thirteen_20
    Offline

    thirteen_20 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I always wipe data/cache/dalvik at least twice before AND after installing. Usually, I let Google restore my apps/data. Any missing apps after that, I use TiBu. Hope that helps...

    Sent from my Liberated NerdX using Tapatalk.
  13. billyfj
    Offline

    billyfj New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Dalton, Georgia USA
    I realized that I was freezing a couple of things in Titanium backup that was causing my issue. These were things that I had froze on 2.01, but I guess the Gingerbread needs them. I unfroze and all is good
  14. thirteen_20
    Offline

    thirteen_20 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    What were they, so I don't freeze them? Lol

    Sent from my Liberated NerdX using Tapatalk.
  15. billyfj
    Offline

    billyfj New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Dalton, Georgia USA
    I know one of them was called sync/service and the yahoo mail was another. I reinstalled twice last night and all would be good with my contacts. So I would restore ALL my apps and then freeze the junk as I went along. I would have it all set and then Contacts force close again. The last time it happened this morning, I unfroze everything first and then tried again. It worked great without having to reinstall AGAIN. All is good, even after many reboots installing other stuff. My problem has disappeared. Hope this gets you going

    By the way. I love being able to get the REAL Netflix app to work now on LGB
    Last edited: May 21, 2011
  16. Xerrus
    Offline

    Xerrus New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2010
    Messages:
    168
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Had this exact same problem. I rectified it by simply SBFing to stock, then completely reinstalling Liberty GB up to v0.5 and the problem was solved.

    There's something about installing Liberty GB over other things regardless of a wipe that causes this for some people. V0.5 is up and running smooth and silky npq on my phone and I'm loving it. Definitely worth the work it'll take to get back to it after SBFing

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums
  17. billyfj
    Offline

    billyfj New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Dalton, Georgia USA
    By the way. I love being able to get the REAL Netflix app to work now on LGB
  18. billyfj
    Offline

    billyfj New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Dalton, Georgia USA
    I finally figured out what app I was freezing with Titanium Back up that was causing the FC's. It is the Yahoo mail authenticator. Even though I DO NOT use Yahoo. Very Strange
Search tags for this page

android contacts app force close lg revolution

,

contact list force closing lg revolution