CM7 keeps bricking phone

Discussion in 'Cyanogenmod - D2' started by reptile_spot, Aug 16, 2011.

  1. reptile_spot
    Offline

    reptile_spot New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2011
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I've read threw many post b4 posting this. Seems semi common but not able to find any reasons to why it happens so maybe here.
    Every time I install CM7 I brick my phone ("D2" not D2G) and need to SBF back to 2.3.2 (VRZ_A955_2.3.20_1FF_01.sbf). I'm using 4Zroot to root and clockworks bs to apply the rom but when I get into Clockworks to apply the rom it tells me my rom is "(bad)" or Fails integrity check. I got it to install once but the install had glitches in it like 3g wouldn't work and the home button didn't work at all just made the phone get stuck vibrating. The odd thing about all this I MD5 check the images and they pass every time unless I use a download enhancer*. Most the time if I do get the rom to install I just get stuck at the Motorola screen. PWR+X+Search > clear cache/reset doesn't seem to help either.

    I've tried Images 2011-8-15, 2011-8-11 & 2011-8-8

    2011-8-8 worked once so far. I had to clear all my cache several times to get it to even attempt to load though. Not sure why I need to clear cache so many times to get it to even try to load anything.

    Steps I used. Install 4zroot > Root Phone > reboot > Launch 4zroot to make sure it worked > Install BS > give BS SU > boot into BS > Clear Cache, Clear Data, Clear Davlik & Clear Battery > install from zip > then the problems all start.Redflea was helping me with trying to get this figured out last night. They were installed 2011-8-15 first try. Spent a good 14 hours trying to fix this. Kept me awake till 0840.
    One good thing to come from this is I got SBFing down to a art now. Windows and Linux.

    *download manager did corrupt images twice though I caught them with a MD5 check.




    I'll keep updating this post till someone follows up with a list of CM7 images I've tried.
    cm_droid2_full-47.zip Installed w/o failing Integrity check or just saying (bad) result = Bootloop twice then a Droid Maintenance screen (bricked). Re SBFing~
    cm_droid2_full-46.zip Installed result = Bootloop twice then a Droid Maintenance screen (bricked). Re SBFing~ again.

    Maybe CM7 just sucks for Droid 2s' anyone know any other GB builds that might install and have stable releases for the D2?
    Last edited: Aug 16, 2011
  2. reptile_spot
    Offline

    reptile_spot New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2011
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Last edited: Aug 16, 2011
  3. UrbanBounca
    Online

    UrbanBounca Rescue Squad Staff Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2010
    Messages:
    2,231
    Likes Received:
    42
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Virginia
    I will be blatant and say that you're doing something wrong. I've used almost every build you've mentioned, and I haven't had to SBF at all.

    You should use the following method to install CM7 fresh.

    Cyanogenmod7 method? - Android Forums
  4. HavoC
    Offline

    HavoC New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Upstate NY
    the only noticeable thing I may see is that your .sbf is a 2.3 something, which would indicate it is a gingerbread rom/installation. CM7 on the Droid 2 requires you to .sbf back to froyo (android 2.2) before installation, something that isn't typically required by many other Droid 2 Roms. If your .sbf is of a froyo rom/installation, and I am mistaken, I'm not really sure what you would be doing wrong. Good luck either way, hope things work out for ya.

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums
  5. UrbanBounca
    Online

    UrbanBounca Rescue Squad Staff Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2010
    Messages:
    2,231
    Likes Received:
    42
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Virginia
    You are incorrect. The SBF is Motorola version 2.3.20. Gingerbread is Google version 2.3.
  6. reptile_spot
    Offline

    reptile_spot New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2011
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Just added the quote maybe it is my phones memory?

    The link you posted to install CM7 is the same one I'm using to the "T". I'm starting to think the phones suffering from a unknown problem.
  7. UrbanBounca
    Online

    UrbanBounca Rescue Squad Staff Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2010
    Messages:
    2,231
    Likes Received:
    42
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Virginia
    I've SBF'd over 100 times, and sometimes it will load normally, while other times, I won't have any icons show up on my homescreen. Either way, you can still flash a ROM normally.
  8. reptile_spot
    Offline

    reptile_spot New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2011
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    ok, thanks! I'm going to try using the bootloader in the link you posted for it. I've been using the paid Clockwork one from Google Market maybe that is my problem.
  9. reptile_spot
    Offline

    reptile_spot New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2011
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Very odd. Its the same Bootstrapper app I bought from Marketplace for $2.99 but mine bricks the phone and the free one installs just fine... both 1.0.0.5 by Clockwork. XD


    Well Thanks for the link to the working Bootstrapper! Wish I didn't waste money on the one I got now that bricked my phone 12 times in total today!
  10. UrbanBounca
    Online

    UrbanBounca Rescue Squad Staff Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2010
    Messages:
    2,231
    Likes Received:
    42
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Virginia
    You donated to the developer, which is fantastic. I hope it works out.
  11. tattedupboy
    Offline

    tattedupboy New Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2011
    Messages:
    209
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    How are you booting into recovery? Are you using Droid 2 Bootstrapper or ROM Manager? If you're using Droid 2 Bootstrapper, that's probably the problem. To flash CM7, you have to use ROM Manager.

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums
  12. UrbanBounca
    Online

    UrbanBounca Rescue Squad Staff Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2010
    Messages:
    2,231
    Likes Received:
    42
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Virginia
    If you have ALREADY flashed CM7 attemping to get into recovery, that is correct. However, to flash CM7 from 2.3.20, I'd recommend Bootstrap, which does work fine.
  13. Htown315
    Offline

    Htown315 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2011
    Messages:
    456
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Syracuse N.Y.
    I have had bad results flashing from rom manager in the past. I'm not bashing the app because it's great, but for flashing I boot into recovery from the reboot options and wipe/flash manually.
    Last edited: Aug 16, 2011