Clearing the cache for the droid turbo

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid Turbo' started by 94lt1, Dec 31, 2014.

  1. 94lt1

    94lt1 Super Moderator
    Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012
    Messages:
    17,150
    Likes Received:
    4,040
    Trophy Points:
    1,138
    Location:
    SE TX
    Ratings:
    +4,530
    Current Phone Model:
    Droid Turbo 2
    How do I clear*Cache*Partition on my device?

    Now edited for lollipop.


    This will remove any temporary files that may be causing the problem, but will*not*delete your files or settings.

    1. With the phone powered off,*press*and hold*VOL*DOWN KEY*+*POWER*key*(simultaneously)*for*5 seconds*and then release both buttons.

    2. The device will display*different*BOOT*OPTIONS

    3. Use the*VOL DOWN*Key to SCROLL to*Recovery*and*POWER*Key to select*


    Tip: If the device reboots, you may have*waited to long to make a selection, you*will need to begin the process again.*

    4. The device will display*the*Motorola logo and then*the*Android in distress*( logo with Exclamation mark)

    5. Press and hold the*POWER*key.*While still holding*the*POWER*key*tap and release the*VOL UP*key. Once you see the RED text at the top of the screen, release both buttons (should take only a second).

    Tip: You can*try this step, holding the phone in landscape. If you are*stuck on step 5, try a*force reboot by pressing the Power key and Vol Down key until your device reboots, and start the process again.


    6. The device will display additional menu options (Text will appear in*BLUE)*

    7. Use the*VOL DOWN*Key to scroll to*wipe*cache*partition*and the*POWER*Key to select*this*option

    8.*The device will then perform*the partition wipe..this will probably take a bit..

    9. Then it will show a list of options. Select reboot system now and start the normal power up sequence


    Now this procedure can take up to 10, sometimes I've heard of up to 20 mins..


    If you're still on kit kat..here are the steps..

    Kitkat://////////////////////////////////////////////.
    Below this line.....,...........
    1. With the phone powered off, press the VOL DOWN KEY together + POWER KEY .

    2. The device will display different BOOT OPTIONS

    3. Use the VOL DOWN Key to SCROLL to Recovery and VOL UP Key to SELECT

    Tip: If the device reboots, you may have waited to long to make a selection, you will need to begin the process again.

    4. The device will display the Motorola logo and then the Android in distress ( logo with Exclamation mark).

    5. Press and hold the VOL UP key, then press and release the POWER key.

    6. The device will display additional menu options (Text will appear in BLUE).

    7. Use the VOL DOWN key to scroll to wipe cache partition (bottom entry) and then press the POWER key to SELECT this option.

    8. The device will then perform the partition wipe, AUTOMATICALLY. REBOOT, and start the normal power up sequence.


    THIS PROCESS TAKES A WHILE ON THE TURBO. IT CAN MAKE YOU THINK YOUR DEVICE IS BROKEN. ITS NOT, THIS JUST TAKES FOREVER..
     
    #1 94lt1, Dec 31, 2014
    Last edited: Nov 7, 2015
    • Like Like x 3
    • Useful Useful x 1
  2. 1coopgt

    1coopgt Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2012
    Messages:
    237
    Likes Received:
    85
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +94
    3. Use the*VOL DOWN*Key to SCROLL to*Recovery*and*PWR *Key to select*

    If you use the Vol Up key it just scrolls back through the menu .
     
    • Like Like x 3
  3. 94lt1

    94lt1 Super Moderator
    Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012
    Messages:
    17,150
    Likes Received:
    4,040
    Trophy Points:
    1,138
    Location:
    SE TX
    Ratings:
    +4,530
    Current Phone Model:
    Droid Turbo 2
    Good catch.. Lol.. Thanx.. Fixed..
     
  4. CaptainSS

    CaptainSS Gold Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2011
    Messages:
    867
    Likes Received:
    435
    Trophy Points:
    203
    Location:
    Pocono Mountains, In the Woods
    Ratings:
    +497
    Is there a rule of thumb for how often to perform this function?
     
  5. 94lt1

    94lt1 Super Moderator
    Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012
    Messages:
    17,150
    Likes Received:
    4,040
    Trophy Points:
    1,138
    Location:
    SE TX
    Ratings:
    +4,530
    Current Phone Model:
    Droid Turbo 2
    I do it at least once a month.. There is no hard and fast rule...

    If your device acts glitchy... Do it.. That's my take
     
    • Like Like x 3
  6. CaptainSS

    CaptainSS Gold Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2011
    Messages:
    867
    Likes Received:
    435
    Trophy Points:
    203
    Location:
    Pocono Mountains, In the Woods
    Ratings:
    +497
    Roger that, Thanks.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  7. holstein

    holstein New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2012
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +3
    On 5.1, step #5 appears to require Power held down and tap volume up (button functions swapped).
     
    • Like Like x 1
  8. 94lt1

    94lt1 Super Moderator
    Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012
    Messages:
    17,150
    Likes Received:
    4,040
    Trophy Points:
    1,138
    Location:
    SE TX
    Ratings:
    +4,530
    Current Phone Model:
    Droid Turbo 2
    This was for kit kat... I haven't modified it for lollipop..
     
  9. 94lt1

    94lt1 Super Moderator
    Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012
    Messages:
    17,150
    Likes Received:
    4,040
    Trophy Points:
    1,138
    Location:
    SE TX
    Ratings:
    +4,530
    Current Phone Model:
    Droid Turbo 2
    Now edited for lollipop..
     
    • Like Like x 1
  10. monstermanhbf

    monstermanhbf Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2011
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Springdale Pennsylvania
    Ratings:
    +3
    Current Phone Model:
    Samsung S7
    I spent countless hours after I first did the update trying to figure this out! I got the update early I finally gave up and contacted Motorola support. They had to pawn me off on 3 different support people before I guess they took the time to play around and figure it out. :)
     
    • Like Like x 1
  11. JDH

    JDH Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2012
    Messages:
    351
    Likes Received:
    98
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +113
    Thanks for putting this up and especially updating it for 5.1
     
    • Like Like x 2
  12. obxsalvo

    obxsalvo Silver Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2010
    Messages:
    548
    Likes Received:
    203
    Trophy Points:
    143
    Location:
    Hatteras Is. NC
    Ratings:
    +231
    Current Phone Model:
    Droid Turbo
    The last screen ( on Mine ) after cache has cleared only has
    (At the end of clear cache on turbo...)

    which one do you scroll to

    1. reboot system now
    3.
    4.
    5.
    6. reboot to bootloader

    the ones in between are not what I want to do.
     
Search tags for this page

clear cache droid turbo

,

clear cache on droid turbo

,
clear cache partition droid turbo
,
clear system cache droid turbo
,
droid turbo cache clear
,

droid turbo clear cache

,
droid turbo clear cache partition
,
droid turbo reset cache
,
droid turbo system cache clear
,
how to clear cache on droid turbo