Can't swipe to unlock!!

Discussion in 'Android Tech Support' started by Shibbey, Sep 7, 2010.

  1. Shibbey
    Offline

    Shibbey New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    272
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NE Ohio
    OK, here is the situation. My gf has a droid that the touchscreen went bad. We already recieved a replacement from Verizon. She wants to back up all the internal data that was on the phone using an app like Titanium (yes I know that requires root). The problem being, she can't swipe to unlock the phone to install or run anything to even do the backup.... It is just that region of the screen malfunctioning

    1. Does anyone know how to unlock the phone without using the swipe method. And no, we cannot install an app to bypass this since we can't swipe it to unlock it.

    2. Better solution would be if there is a method of accessing the phones internal memory via the PC.

    3 .Another possible solution I thought of. If we do a nandroid backup with SPRecovery, would that cover backing up and internal data that apps would have creaated?

    Apparently she was using an app for some word processing and some other stuff, and she says it is NOT stored on the SDCard. I don't understand why an app would be designed to hog internal memory like that, but that is what she claims.

    Any ideas?
  2. DF Smod
    Offline

    DF Smod New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Messages:
    11,470
    Likes Received:
    93
    Trophy Points:
    0
    If you did a back-up with SPR it would copy everything then you could root the replacement device and restore that back-up and be right where you were before the problems started

    Also with ADB and a computer you could copy the phones internal memory
  3. Shibbey
    Offline

    Shibbey New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    272
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NE Ohio
    I would prefer to use ADB. Do not want to lose what she has on her new phone already. Problem is, I have NEVER used ADB. Anyone willing to provide details instructions?
  4. DF Smod
    Offline

    DF Smod New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Messages:
    11,470
    Likes Received:
    93
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I am currently looking for a decent write-up for you :)
  5. Shibbey
    Offline

    Shibbey New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    272
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NE Ohio
    Awesome. I went ahead and installed the Android SDK and downloaded some packages. So, I do have ADB installed now. I also have it set up with ADB as an enviroment variable so I can run it from cmd prompt in any directory.

    I just need to know how to force ABD to connect to the phone and pull files from it.
    TIA
  6. DF Smod
    Offline

    DF Smod New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Messages:
    11,470
    Likes Received:
    93
    Trophy Points:
    0
    You have a good start already, I p.m'd someone and as soon I hear something I will post back...unless someone else picks up this thread with some ADB knowledge
  7. Shibbey
    Offline

    Shibbey New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    272
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NE Ohio
    Thank you. If nothing else this will be a good learning experience to put me on the path for learning the ins and outs.
    Soon to be developer in the making. LOL I can't count how many times I find an app I like but they would include soooo much extra.. blah One day...
  8. DF Smod
    Offline

    DF Smod New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Messages:
    11,470
    Likes Received:
    93
    Trophy Points:
    0
  9. Shibbey
    Offline

    Shibbey New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    272
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NE Ohio
    OK.....

    My phone was already showing up like that. Must be from installing the drivers and RSDLite to do put ROMS on my phone. Now how do I interact and pull the files from it?
  10. DF Smod
    Offline

    DF Smod New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Messages:
    11,470
    Likes Received:
    93
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Here is another link to read up on Android Debug Bridge | Android Developers I have asked someone specifically about the one command to pull the entire contents of a device using ADB so we should hear something today, usually it wouldn't take so long but I am not proficient in ADB
  11. MotoCache1
    Offline

    MotoCache1 Chief Droid Scientist

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Messages:
    530
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Good morning!

    Sounds like kind of a bummer.

    Well, I'll start by saying, if you have SPRecovery on the phone (or want to put it there) that would probably give you the best backup. You don't need the touch screen to use SPRecovery. If you don't already have SPRecovery on the phone, and want to go that route, you can use this guide and just do steps 1-2, skip 3, and 4-13. Then just stay in SPRecovery, do an Advanced Nandroid Backup, and turn on any items that aren't checked.

    If you'd rather go the ADB route, that's pretty simple too. It sounds like ADB is already installed and working - these instructions assume that it is located at c:\android\tools. If it is somewhere else, adjust the below accordingly.

    1. Open a command prompt on your PC.
    2. Create a directory somewhere that will hold all the files you're going to copy.
    3. Make that directory the current (default) directory.
    4. Do this command: c:\android\tools\adb pull / .
    That should copy pretty much the entire phone to the current directory on your machine.

    Hope that helps.
  12. DF Smod
    Offline

    DF Smod New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Messages:
    11,470
    Likes Received:
    93
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks Motocache ;)
Search tags for this page
droid a855 will not swipe open
,

can't swipe droid a855 to unlock

,
droid phone cant swipe open
,
galaxy iii cant swipe to unlock
,
galaxy s4 cannot swipe to unlock
,

how to unlock android that could not swipe

,
how to unlock the screen of a motorola droid 2 when it wont swipe
,
motorolla droid cant swipe to unlock
,
why cant a swipe my phone
,
why cant i swipe my phone