1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Can't Install Anything Or Restore With ROM Manager

Discussion in 'Rescue Squad Help' started by iGuess, Jun 24, 2010.

  1. iGuess
    Offline

    iGuess New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    So today I rooted for the first time, and installed Cyanogen through ROM manager. I had made a backup of my stock rooted ROM beforehand with ROM Manager.

    After installing Cyanogen I tried installing the google apps addon through ROM Manager, but when I got to the screen to hit OK to reboot and install, after hitting OK nothing happened. So I tried to restore to my backup, and I get the same problem. Hitting OK to reboot and install does absolutely nothing. How do I fix this? I have no google apps in Cyanogen and I can't restore.
  2. hookbill
    Offline

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,545
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Moved to rescue squad for further assistance.
  3. pc747
    Offline

    pc747 Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    17,060
    Likes Received:
    860
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Either try another rom in rom manager or reboot manually into recovery (either sp or cw) and install a rom.
    make sure you install the rom first on your sdcard so when you boot into recovery you can flash it. If you using sprecovery the file must be named update.zip (update if you using Windows 7) and must be installed on the root of your sdcard (that means it do not go into any folders)
    before doing the terminal emulator commands make sure you hve 70% or more battery. If you do not have a battery widget get one and ensure you are at that number.
    you do this by following this:

    install a terminal emulator (I prefer j android hacker but its up to you) and the install sprecovery 99.3b. Use the terminal emulator to flash sprecovery image


    Push sprecovery using terminal emulator, if that do not work then use rsdlite.

    here is the file: MEGAUPLOAD - The leading online storage and file delivery service

    place sprecovery file on the root of your sdcard DO NOT RENAME

    here are the directions:
    19. Open Terminal Emulator and type DO NOT TYPE THE QUOTATION MARKS!
    "su" press enter and allow
    "flash_image recovery /sdcard/recovery-0.99.3b.img"
    "reboot recovery"



    (if you going to use clockwork then install it and write the name of the file exactly and that will be in place of recover-0.99.3b.img , it is important you write everything exactly how it is including punctuation, whther its in capital or lowercase letters, numbers, everything)

    once you install what ever recovery and follow the steps it will automatically boot you into recovery (it is important you make sure the file is correct or you will get stuck at the M like you lost recovery, if this happen just do a battery pull boot back up, verify your file is (recovery-0.99.3b) is where it is suppose to be go back in terminal emulator and try it again.
    Once you are in recovery you are going
    click install
    allow update .zip
    install update.zip depreicated.

    after the rom is installed wipe data and cache and reboot.

    once you load back up you can install rom mnanger and try again or check with Koush to see if it is an ongoing issue.
  4. teddyearp
    Offline

    teddyearp New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    1,800
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Randle, WA
    Wow, that was the long way around the barn. Why not just use ROM Manager to flash the SPRecovery and then back to ClockworkMod recovery first? Failing that, I usually just flash a previous version of ClockworkMod Recovery within ROM Manager.

    good luck
  5. ecfiffer
    Offline

    ecfiffer New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010
    Messages:
    161
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    @pilot. I'm in the same boat and I'm trying to follow your steps after setting su and allowing su permissons I enter the flash_image recovery line I get back 'flash_image' not found. Ideas?
  6. teddyearp
    Offline

    teddyearp New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    1,800
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Randle, WA
    I don't see pilot answering, so I'll help. Sounds like you don't have the flash_image binary installed or maybe installed in the wrond place. You can get it all in this guide here:

    Installing the SPRecovery Image Manually

    good luck
  7. pc747
    Offline

    pc747 Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    17,060
    Likes Received:
    860
    Trophy Points:
    113
    my apologies ecfiffer, I did not see your post. Thannks Teddy for answering.
Search tags for this page

cannot see zip file backup in rom manager

,

chooseing ok reboot and install does nothing rom manager

,

how to apply cyanogen update terminal emulator

,

install zip with terminal emulator

,

rom manager cant restore

,

why wont rom toolbox install or restore anything on my phone