Calling all tetherers!

Discussion in 'HTC ThunderBolt' started by jimmyco2008, Jul 20, 2011.

  1. jimmyco2008

    jimmyco2008 Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    Messages:
    1,024
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    3G Florida
    Ratings:
    +1
    So my old Thunderbolt all nice and rooted on a stock ROM from before that new mobile hotspot app update of July, so I have legitimate free tethering, and I didn't lose 3G, gamed on Call of Duty for hours just fine...

    Someone out there try a simple factory reset, I know I know, it NEVER does anything, but try it and report back?
     
  2. jimmyco2008

    jimmyco2008 Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    Messages:
    1,024
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    3G Florida
    Ratings:
    +1
    So I called Verizon on an unrelated matter and decided to ask about my tethering issues, since technically I am tethering legitimately. Apparently there's a filter in place that cuts off internet to your phone if it sees an IP address other than the phone's using the data network.

    The guy I talked to sounded like he knew his s*** and ya know, what he said made sense and is certainly plausible. But if this is true (and I believe it is), we ought to figure out a workaround, Barnacle, Wireless Tether for Root Users, and the native Hotspot app all result in me and you all out there losing a data connection. The fact that some people have not noticed a problem tethering can be explained: they don't use it enough, if you game, you WILL notice it eventually, or if you stream radio, eventually it'll kick you off. They put this into effect after the July OTA that took our free tethering away so we couldn't just reject the OTA and carry on with out blissful free tethering ways.

    So we need to get this message to the right developers out there, perhaps we can setup an app or a file that we can install through Clockwork Recovery that can block IP addresses other than our phones' to Verizon's network.
     
    #14 jimmyco2008, Jul 22, 2011
    Last edited: Jul 22, 2011
  3. nonnasmyladie

    nonnasmyladie Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011
    Messages:
    537
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    New York
    Ratings:
    +5
    Current Phone Model:
    Pixel XL
    Twitter:
    Nonnasmyladie
    Phone uses dynamic IP so I doubt this

    Sent from my ADR6400L using DroidForums
     
  4. jimmyco2008

    jimmyco2008 Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    Messages:
    1,024
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    3G Florida
    Ratings:
    +1
    Pretty sure 3G is static IP, but either way I would think the way a phone registers with said network is with ESN, and in the case of a 4G phone, via the SIM card, which basically means the IP address has nothing to do with Verizon's ability to track and thus filter unauthorized users.
     
  5. 10ACTony

    10ACTony Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    How do you determine what radio you have?
     
  6. jimmyco2008

    jimmyco2008 Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    Messages:
    1,024
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    3G Florida
    Ratings:
    +1
    If you installed the MR2 or 2.5 radio, like consciously installed either one, otherwise you're MR1.

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums
     
  7. kumicho

    kumicho New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Interesting.......... I canceled my OTA when it tried to update itself (Wed?) and still on the un-updated phone. Typed this on my Mobile Hotspot'd computer, and so far (15min or so?) still have 4G service. Would definitely make sense, though, as I could imagine Verizon is trying to figure out how to keep people from just not accepting the update.

    What PISSES me off is that they could figure this out but couldn't figure out the M'F'ING GINGERBREAD!!! :soapbox:
     
  8. New2u

    New2u Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    Messages:
    3,726
    Likes Received:
    69
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Location:
    Tallahassee, Fl
    Ratings:
    +83
    They are two different companies. Gingerbread would come from HTC not verizon. Verizon is the one trying to figure out how to stop you from tethering unless you are doing it legitimately.
     
  9. recDNA

    recDNA Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    326
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    USA
    Ratings:
    +10
    I stream radio a lot and I have noticed that for no.apparent reason I DO lose network. I have to do a phone reset to get it going again. That stinks. I'm doing nothing wrong yet I'm getting punished.
     
  10. jseah

    jseah Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011
    Messages:
    977
    Likes Received:
    25
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +25
    After the most recent update, I have noticed this happening a lot. It doesn't have to do with streaming or using hotspot. I can pick up my phone, have the display on and walk 10 feet and the phone will suddenly lose the 4G icon and go to "no service" for anywhere from a few seconds to a few minutes. If I go to the Network settings page and toggle the mobile network off and then back on again, it picks up the 4G network immediately. It seems to happen very often when in a 4G area, and it happens very infrequently in 3G only areas.

    I suspect Verizon is still having issues with the handoff between LTE and 3G.
     
  11. jimmyco2008

    jimmyco2008 Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    Messages:
    1,024
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    3G Florida
    Ratings:
    +1
    HTC makes the update in collaboration with Verizon, so Verizon can add their bloatware/crapware and "ensure customers get the best software possible".

    After a few days of losing my 3G icon or at the very least my connection (3G icon appears active but nothing goes through) I today sideloaded Wireless Tether for Root Users (removed from Verizon Android Market). Havent lost a connection and I've been on it for over 12 hours. Typically as per the alleged Verizon tethering filer, I usually can't make it more than 15 minutes without this filter catching me and kicking me off. Perhaps "WTFRU" has the ability to block connected devices' IP addresses, thereby rendering the Verizon filter useless, could explain why Barnacle is still on the market but not WTFRU.

    Of course it could be there isn't a filter, rather just that 3G-4G handoff issue, though I have changed the crap out of my EPST settings to no avail. Like I said, it just randomly started working just fine with WTFRU, I'm now posting this from the native Mobile Hotspot app to see if I get kicked off or not.

    While a Verizon employee confirmed the existence of said filter, I'm not ready to completely accept it's validity, particularly because Verizon customer service ppl are typically full of s***. And WTFRU I still got kicked off with my Droid X, so I don't think it's the app that has given me success with tethering all day. But if that's true, then I legit RANDOMLY got tethering working again... This concerns me, Verizon must have a bad grip on their network, I'd hate to have this problem reappear in the future. Has anyone else contacted Verizon with regard to a so called filter?
     
  12. jimmyco2008

    jimmyco2008 Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    Messages:
    1,024
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    3G Florida
    Ratings:
    +1
    Here are my EPST settings if anyone wants to see if it fixes the problem:

    Slot Cycle Index: 3 (not that it affects data at all, but who knows- I changed it from 2)

    Preferred Mode: Automatic (changed from CDMA Only)
    Preferred Mode(9k): HDR LTE only (this is stock setting)
    Rev. A: eHRPD (I know some sites say to change this to "Enable" I find it does nothing to the connection speed nor my ability to keep my data connection when tethering)

    1X Diversity: Disable (stock setting)

    S.IP DUN User name: I deleted everything in that field, left it blank- it apparently does nothing as well.
    Data Parameters: #777 (I think default stock is just blank, I forget lol...)


    By the way, I am exploring the theory that a phone needs a few days to be active before tethering works flawlessly, as I started having these problems after I put my SIM in a new thunderbolt, after I activated my Droid X, then a day or two after activating a new SIM. Also, it does take the SIM card I think up to 24 hours was it? To activate completely, data connection taking the longest to activate (took about 20 minutes to get 3G connection after activating new SIM card).

    And that's it, if the field is not mentioned above, it is default setting.
     
    #24 jimmyco2008, Jul 24, 2011
    Last edited: Jul 24, 2011
Search tags for this page
android tethering guard
,
htc tethering guard
,
tether guard
,
tether guard thunderbolt
,

tethering guard

,
tethering guard android
,
tethering guard thunderbolt
,

tetheringguard

,
tetheringguard thunderbolt
,
what is tethering guard