1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Calling all tetherers!

Discussion in 'HTC ThunderBolt' started by jimmyco2008, Jul 20, 2011.

  1. jimmyco2008
    Offline

    jimmyco2008 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    Messages:
    1,024
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    3G Florida
    Another poll... Please only answer if you tether regularly.

    If you don't know what radio you have installed, and you haven't installed a radio, you have MR1.

    Multiple choice, so if you've tethered with both radios (MR1 and MR2/2.5), check all that apply.
    Last edited: Jul 20, 2011
  2. Hmong_Xiong
    Offline

    Hmong_Xiong New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2010
    Messages:
    439
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    303, Colorado
    I tether my Xoom using my Droid almost everyday.

    [_] Motorola Droid: Latest Miui
    [x] Motorola Xoom: Xoom Zone
    Tapatalk
  3. jimmyco2008
    Offline

    jimmyco2008 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    Messages:
    1,024
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    3G Florida
    no one is voting on the poll....
  4. kumicho
    Offline

    kumicho New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ok, I'm 100% stock (including not installing the most recent update, thank god), and hadn't actually tried out the mobile tethering in a while. Yesterday hooked it up and while it worked for the first little while, I soon lost 3G/4G signal, and it operated *barely* on 1x. In fact, it practically didn't work at all (losing signal left and right).

    I thought it was something to do with Verizon's normal data outage, but now that you mention it, maybe VZ's doing something to clamp down on the unauthorized tethering?
  5. jseah
    Offline

    jseah New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011
    Messages:
    978
    Likes Received:
    25
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I am running the second update (with free tethering disabled, although I have signed up for the unlimited tethering for $30 a month). I have noticed that there is now a service running on my phone called Tethering Guard. What is this?
  6. jimmyco2008
    Offline

    jimmyco2008 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    Messages:
    1,024
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    3G Florida
    To the first guy (sorry I'm bad with screenames lol), no one knows exactly why the Thunderbolt is having this problem. Here's what I think: The Droid Charge and LG Revolution don't appear to be having this problem, so naturally I think, "what's the difference between the Thunderbolt and the other two LTE phones?". The only thing that comes to mind is the fact that the Thunderbolt has special hardware and I assume a special setup to allow for simultaneous voice and data over 3G. It's the only Verizon phone that can do this. So I'm thinking it has something to do with that, though countless screwing around with the EPST settings have me irritated and baffled to say the least. I did some googling and it seems the current consensus is to go into EPST and change the Rev. A setting from eHDRP (or w/r it's called) to "Enabled". eHDRP just helps handoff from 3G to 4G, and there are some reports that it disables 4G for people in such areas of the country. Nevertheless, I set Rev. A to "Enable" and I still lose my 3G connection when say, gaming for example.

    I noticed this 3G connection issue with my new Thunderbolt, not my old one, so I'm re-rooting my old bolt to see if I have the data connection issues of my new bolt.
  7. crapple_h8er
    Offline

    crapple_h8er New Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2011
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Lake City, Florida
    I tether all the time with whatever the T-bolt has on it stock, non rooted, with the latest OTA update, and I have no issues and the connection and speed is great

    using PDANet :D
  8. jimmyco2008
    Offline

    jimmyco2008 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    Messages:
    1,024
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    3G Florida
    I assume Tethering Guard is the service that, when you turn on Mobile Hotspot or Mobile Broadband Connect, accesses your account via its 3G/4G connection and checks to see if you're actually signed up for tethering. That's how the new Mobile Hotspot system works, they use the app to verify you are authorized to use it...Kinda opens the door to loopholes and hacked versions of the app imo, but in your case it's a perfectly normal and acceptable background process.
  9. jimmyco2008
    Offline

    jimmyco2008 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    Messages:
    1,024
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    3G Florida
    Which reminds me, for anyone out there as determined to solve this problem as I am (I'm not getting much of any feedback from radioland lol), my Droid X and Droid Incredible (3G phones mind you, keep that in mind!) lost their data connections just as the Thunderbolt is, except the Thunderbolt, at least for me, loses its data connection via USB or WiFi tethering, so it's not that Android issue that makes WiFi conflict with Mobile Data connections (Advanced WiFi settings, then set sleep policy to "never") it really actually looks like a legit network thing that Verizon has to fix.
  10. crapple_h8er
    Offline

    crapple_h8er New Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2011
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Lake City, Florida
    mine use to do it every once in a while too, only when tethering, but it hasn't happened lately (maybe because of the last OTA update? I dunno). but a restart use to bring the data back online and all was well
  11. jimmyco2008
    Offline

    jimmyco2008 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    Messages:
    1,024
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    3G Florida
    Anyone with this issue use something other than the stock HTC Mobile Hotspot/Verizon Hotspot app? Wirless Tether for Root Users or Barnacle?
  12. jimmyco2008
    Offline

    jimmyco2008 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    Messages:
    1,024
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    3G Florida
    I really need like feedback from people lol, I need to hear from everyone out there, what configurations work, which ones don't, does tethering work with Barnacle and the like (I'll test that soon...)... At this point I'm thinking it's nothing to do with the EPST settings. I just don't know lol...But I'm posting hellalot so I'll try to "shut up" until I get a solid solution, I am starting to babble about this. Fun though, right?
  13. jimmyco2008
    Offline

    jimmyco2008 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    Messages:
    1,024
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    3G Florida
    So my old Thunderbolt all nice and rooted on a stock ROM from before that new mobile hotspot app update of July, so I have legitimate free tethering, and I didn't lose 3G, gamed on Call of Duty for hours just fine...

    Someone out there try a simple factory reset, I know I know, it NEVER does anything, but try it and report back?
  14. jimmyco2008
    Offline

    jimmyco2008 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    Messages:
    1,024
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    3G Florida
    So I called Verizon on an unrelated matter and decided to ask about my tethering issues, since technically I am tethering legitimately. Apparently there's a filter in place that cuts off internet to your phone if it sees an IP address other than the phone's using the data network.

    The guy I talked to sounded like he knew his s*** and ya know, what he said made sense and is certainly plausible. But if this is true (and I believe it is), we ought to figure out a workaround, Barnacle, Wireless Tether for Root Users, and the native Hotspot app all result in me and you all out there losing a data connection. The fact that some people have not noticed a problem tethering can be explained: they don't use it enough, if you game, you WILL notice it eventually, or if you stream radio, eventually it'll kick you off. They put this into effect after the July OTA that took our free tethering away so we couldn't just reject the OTA and carry on with out blissful free tethering ways.

    So we need to get this message to the right developers out there, perhaps we can setup an app or a file that we can install through Clockwork Recovery that can block IP addresses other than our phones' to Verizon's network.
    Last edited: Jul 22, 2011
  15. nonnasmyladie
    Offline

    nonnasmyladie New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011
    Messages:
    518
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New York
    Phone uses dynamic IP so I doubt this

    Sent from my ADR6400L using DroidForums
  16. jimmyco2008
    Offline

    jimmyco2008 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    Messages:
    1,024
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    3G Florida
    Pretty sure 3G is static IP, but either way I would think the way a phone registers with said network is with ESN, and in the case of a 4G phone, via the SIM card, which basically means the IP address has nothing to do with Verizon's ability to track and thus filter unauthorized users.
  17. 10ACTony
    Offline

    10ACTony New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    How do you determine what radio you have?
  18. jimmyco2008
    Offline

    jimmyco2008 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    Messages:
    1,024
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    3G Florida
    If you installed the MR2 or 2.5 radio, like consciously installed either one, otherwise you're MR1.

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums
  19. kumicho
    Offline

    kumicho New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Interesting.......... I canceled my OTA when it tried to update itself (Wed?) and still on the un-updated phone. Typed this on my Mobile Hotspot'd computer, and so far (15min or so?) still have 4G service. Would definitely make sense, though, as I could imagine Verizon is trying to figure out how to keep people from just not accepting the update.

    What PISSES me off is that they could figure this out but couldn't figure out the M'F'ING GINGERBREAD!!! :soapbox:
  20. New2u
    Offline

    New2u Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    Messages:
    3,628
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Tallahassee, Fl
    They are two different companies. Gingerbread would come from HTC not verizon. Verizon is the one trying to figure out how to stop you from tethering unless you are doing it legitimately.
Search tags for this page
android tethering guard
,
htc tether guard
,

htc tethering guard

,
htc thunderbolt tethering guard
,

tether guard

,
tether guard thunderbolt
,

tethering guard

,
tethering guard android
,

tethering guard thunderbolt

,

tetheringguard

,
tetheringguard htc
,
tetheringguard htc one
,
tetheringguard thunderbolt
,

what is tethering guard

,
what is tethering guard on thunderbolt