1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Buyer beware!!! Yahoo mail will not work!!

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid' started by isitkiller, Dec 15, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. isitkiller
    Offline

    isitkiller New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    This is extremely frustrating that Yahoo mail will not
    work
    on your Motorola Droid amogst all other Non-working
    things.

    After few days of use, I started thinking BB Storm was much better.

    I am making a frustration list and will post it soon.
  2. Mojo
    Offline

    Mojo New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    1,358
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    S.W Missouri
    Be frustrated with Yahoo not the Droid.... they are the ones that are causing Yahoo not to work properly, because they want you to purchase Yahoo Plus. Yahoo has agreements with RIM so there email works with a BlackBerry.
  3. myriad46
    Offline

    myriad46 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Messages:
    473
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Upstate, NY
    This is like being frustrated that Internet explorer won't work right on a Mac. Why would either company want to help your cause? It's a google phone... Get gmail.
  4. isitkiller
    Offline

    isitkiller New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I guess I have to agree with this one! Cool, but I'm guessing kudos to BB who has that agreement but not DROID.
  5. Johnly
    Online

    Johnly Guest

    Exaclty...It is Yahoo being greedy, nothing to do with the phone. If you want free yahoo on you phone....tell YAHOO!
  6. tripp racioppi
    Offline

    tripp racioppi New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hold up guys!! I got my Droid in NOV and felt your pain; then I found the DroidForum :icon_ banana:....what a God-send!! I learned a great deal on the care and feeding of the Droid... a lot of which is not in the manual or available on-line. One of the finds was how to set up the Droid to receive Yahoo Mail without buying into the Plus...

    txskeets posted this information:



    "Go to manual setup > IMAP account and change to these settings....


    Imap server - imap.mail.yahoo.com

    SMTP Server- smtp.mobile.mail.yahoo.com"

    I followed the info and have been getting all of my e-mail from the two Yahoo mail accounts I have. What's really great is that when I open the e-mail window it will update...so that any mail you already read and deleted gets deleted in front of your eyes!

    Try it, you'll like it!! :D

    r3
  7. aaf709
    Online

    aaf709 Nice Guy Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    4,188
    Likes Received:
    46
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    So Cal
    The only flaw with that is that when you're on Wifi, Yahoo won't work.
  8. isitkiller
    Offline

    isitkiller New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Either Yahoo is being stupid or Google pissed Yahoo big time;)
  9. Mojo
    Offline

    Mojo New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    1,358
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    S.W Missouri
    Also tripp racioppi there have been wide spread reports of even after trying this method Yahoo worked for a while then quit...or did not work right. Others have had great success with it....
  10. isitkiller
    Offline

    isitkiller New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    It worked once. After which I turned on Wifi and never worked since.
    I tried to remove/readd the account, no luck.
  11. thenoash
    Offline

    thenoash New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0

    I dunno, I got my Yahoo Mail to work just fine. Although I do use the Canadian (yahoo.ca) format, maybe it's just a Yahoo.com problem?
  12. ss13
    Offline

    ss13 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I am able to use Yahoo also, just not on WiFi, with the IMAP settings in post #6. I am wondering it is because most routers/firewalls/etc block IMAP (Port 143). I have been planning on testing this, but just have not had a chance.
  13. raven1911
    Offline

    raven1911 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I agree. I have two yahoo mail accts and they both sync and work fine. In fact, they sometimes work better than my gmail acct.
  14. aaf709
    Online

    aaf709 Nice Guy Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    4,188
    Likes Received:
    46
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    So Cal
    More like Yahoo and Google are rivals in the search game so who wants to help a competitor?

    I've heard that the same port is used by Wifi so it blocks anything else there when it's in use.
  15. ctaussie
    Offline

    ctaussie New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Connecticut
    That's been my experience also.
  16. tripp racioppi
    Offline

    tripp racioppi New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    My Yahoo accounts have been working well since I set them up...I don't think I tried them with WiFi yet, though. I'll keep ya'll updated as time goes on....r3:blink:
  17. cvondra
    Offline

    cvondra New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Midwest US
    I never reply but if you even compare this phone to the Storm you need to seek mental health. I had the Storm from launch till the launch of the Droid. There isn't even a comparison between to two. IMHO Blackberry has fallen well behind the curve on touchscreen devices. Even the latest SW released for it was archaic in comparison.
  18. baruch
    Offline

    baruch New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i agree! i did have access to yahoo mail using IMAP, etc; but decided didn't want on the droid. now, when i want to check yahoo emails, i go to www.yahoo.com which pops up as "m.yahoo.com" (which i assume is mobile yahoo??) click on 'mail', fill in username/pw & sign on. HOWEVER, & this is weird, when reply, no cursor!!?? so, type several sentences, & want to change something in the 1st sentence, have to delete back to where i want to change because when touch screen no cursor, so not able to pinpoint where i want to correct - has anyone else experienced this???
  19. texasPI
    Offline

    texasPI New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    Messages:
    433
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Montgomery, AL
    I have an old, free yahoo account that works fine. My understanding is that some of the old accounts had free pop/imap access and are grandfathered?
  20. Backnblack
    Offline

    Backnblack Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    11,263
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Don't use wifi...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Search tags for this page
4 fluorococaine buyer mail
,
how to fix yahoo authentication problems with motorola elect
,
how to setup yahoo mail on motorola electrify m phone
,
imap rim mail yahoo com
,

rim.imap.mail.yahoo.com

,
rim.imap.yahoo.com
,
why wont yahoo mail work on any mobile phone
,
y mail on phone does not work
,

yahoo email not working on droid

,
yahoo email not working on moto x
,
yahoo mail not responding droid
,
yahoo mail not working on motorola electrify
,
yahoo mail will not work on my motox
,
yahoo mail wont work on droid
,
yahoo rim.imap.mail.yahoo.com server problem