both my school emails won't sync?

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by 350-Jason, Nov 6, 2009.

  1. 350-Jason

    350-Jason Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    EDIT: it pulls emails, but won't send emails out.

    I tried multiple ways last night and I got the sync error message. I wish there was more information available somewhere, but there isn't....

    anyone know how to make these work?
    i have two:
    @fsu.edu
    @eagle.fgcu.edu

    also, I have my gmail account logged into on my droid. but it isn't syncing after the first time. I couldn't find an option to change to pull every 5 minutes on the gmail account, and the manual refresh isn't working either.
     
    Last edited: Nov 6, 2009
  2. Stigy

    Stigy Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,079
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Ratings:
    +0
    Are you sure the server settings for your school's email are correct?
     
  3. New2u

    New2u DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    Messages:
    3,632
    Likes Received:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    Tallahassee, Fl
    Ratings:
    +21
    350-Jason... first off let me explain something to you, YOU ARE AWESOME! Because you an an FSU email, and seeing i'm from tally. I will help look into this, maybe someone else already has the answer.
     
  4. Stigy

    Stigy Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,079
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Ratings:
    +0
  5. mth04

    mth04 Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,927
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Ratings:
    +0
    FYI the Canes are still better! We even won there this year too :p
     
  6. 350-Jason

    350-Jason Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    New2U- are you the other early Droid owner? Walmart on appalachee?

    and thanks for the help guys, i will try these things and report back.
     
  7. New2u

    New2u DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    Messages:
    3,632
    Likes Received:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    Tallahassee, Fl
    Ratings:
    +21
    No i had to get mine through the VZW store, the New every 2 program i figured wouldn't apply there as it wasn't applied to best buy. I didn't even think the walmart around us would sell it lol.
     
  8. 350-Jason

    350-Jason Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    no luck with either the IMAP or exchange. i tried everything a multitude of ways too. :((((
     
  9. 350-Jason

    350-Jason Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hmm. Well someone got the first one in Tallahasse. I got the second, I want to know who was 2 hours ahead of me... they were on top of it.
     
  10. Stigy

    Stigy Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,079
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Ratings:
    +0
    Can you give IT a call at school?

    Seems to be pretty advanced IT department -- I am sure they would be able to help if you brought them the phone.
     
  11. 350-Jason

    350-Jason Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yeah they are advanced. Im just going to call them, but they're usually rude.. that's why i was hesitant.
     
  12. 350-Jason

    350-Jason Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    WOOHOOOO i got it figured out. Help desk couldnt... but a few google searches revealed what i needed. I had to use verizon's outgoing server and my schools incoming. setting for verizon: outgoing.verizon.net and port number is 587. you have to have NONE as security setting.
     
  13. Stigy

    Stigy Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,079
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ah your school does not allow for relaying off their servers then...

    That makes sense -- good work!
     
  14. 350-Jason

    350-Jason Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    yeah. i just wish it was autodetected like on my BB. but whatever, took thirty extra minutes and now ill be happy ALL the time, unlike when i was UNHAPPY all the time with my storm. worth the little extra hassle for sure.
     
  15. 350-Jason

    350-Jason Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    it pulls emails, but wont send any. it says sent, but they dont actually send.
     
Search tags for this page
can school emails be synced with android
,
how to sync school email to android
,
mednet ucla android
,
my fsu email on iphone won't work
,
syncing school email to android
,
syncing ucla mednet to android
,
ucla email android
,

ucla email on android

,

ucla mednet email iphone

,
university of hartford email galaxy s4