Automatic Brightness stopped working

Discussion in 'Droid 4 ROMS' started by kenji91, Jan 1, 2013.

  1. kenji91
    Offline

    kenji91 New Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2012
    Messages:
    458
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm running Eclipse 1.5.2 and my stock auto brightness stopped working. I re-flashed the ROM without wiping and it worked for a day but stopped working again. Anyone have any ideas?
  2. ws6formula350
    Offline

    ws6formula350 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2011
    Messages:
    331
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Florida
    Do you have Lux installed?
  3. kenji91
    Offline

    kenji91 New Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2012
    Messages:
    458
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have used Lux and Custom Auto Brightness but neither are installed right now.
  4. ws6formula350
    Offline

    ws6formula350 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2011
    Messages:
    331
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Florida
    I'm guessing it's enabled...Lux and Android fought, which is the reason I asked. You try wiping data yet? Maybe something got left behind...

    Sent from my DROID4 using Tapatalk 2
  5. kenji91
    Offline

    kenji91 New Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2012
    Messages:
    458
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Well it only recently started acting weird. I haven't had either of them installed for months.
  6. ws6formula350
    Offline

    ws6formula350 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2011
    Messages:
    331
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Florida
    I'm fresh out of bright ideas, in that case, lol.

    Good luck, hopefully somebody else has more insight than me!

    Sent from my DROID4 using Tapatalk 2
  7. kenji91
    Offline

    kenji91 New Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2012
    Messages:
    458
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    haha thanks anyway! i actually just tried wiping everything and flashing a fresh version of 1.5.2 and the auto brightness still didnt work. hmm...
  8. kenji91
    Offline

    kenji91 New Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2012
    Messages:
    458
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I found this interesting but... my light sensor seems to be broken. Not sure if it's hardware or software, but I installed Lux to see what the reading would say and it says 20,000 (max) no matter how dark the room I'm in.

    Has anyone heard of this?
  9. myfishbear
    Offline

    myfishbear Developer Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2011
    Messages:
    1,291
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    in the sea. sometimes on land as well
    is uninstall safestrap. boot into your unsafe system. restore with rsd and reroot and install ss again than the rom.... ive seen some weird viruses floating around. one person had their ir sensor freak out and the phone played metal music then his data conection failed. its that or else your ribbon cable might be frayed this is the part . it seems to be a common defect. personally id just replace the whole upper its like 72 bucks http://www.globaldirectparts.com/Motorola-Droid-4-XT894-LCD-Digi-p/motxt894lda1.htm.
    Last edited: Jan 2, 2013
  10. kenji91
    Offline

    kenji91 New Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2012
    Messages:
    458
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hmm, very interesting.

    Well, I uninstalled safestrap and tried RSD'ing but it had been so long that I was using stock GB files (6.13.219). RSD failed at step 6 repeatedly (flashing cdt.bin), and I didn't feel like downloading the full ICS leak. I wiped using recovery and it booted ICS 4.0.4, which is what is considered the default on my phone now.

    I tested auto brightness with the stock rom and it didn't work, so I can confidently say that Eclipse is not to blame. :biggrin:

    Before I order the part you mentioned, would you suggest I try RSD'ing with the stock leak files? Can I try to RSD with a deodexed version?
  11. myfishbear
    Offline

    myfishbear Developer Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2011
    Messages:
    1,291
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    in the sea. sometimes on land as well
  12. kenji91
    Offline

    kenji91 New Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2012
    Messages:
    458
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
  13. kenji91
    Offline

    kenji91 New Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2012
    Messages:
    458
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Do you think I could bring it to Verizon and get it covered under warranty?

    I can just uninstall safestrap and boot to stock ICS. Thoughts?
  14. kenji91
    Offline

    kenji91 New Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2012
    Messages:
    458
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    For the record, I uninstalled Safestrap, factory wiped in stock recovery, and took my phone to a VZW store. They looked at it and said, "your screen is shot, but you're under warranty so just call this number and have them send you a warranty replacement."

    So I did. No troubles. They sent it overnight via FedEx.
Search tags for this page

android auto brightness not working

,
android automatic brightness
,

android automatic brightness not working

,
android automatic brightness will not work
,
android brightness not working
,
auto brightness android
,

auto brightness not working android

,
auto brightness stopped working
,
automatic brightness android not working
,
automatic brightness not working android
,
droid x auto brightness not working
,

galaxy s3 auto brightness not working

,
lux auto brightness not working
,
rezound auto brightness doesn't work
,
what makes the auto brightness work.in gakaxy