App idea?

Discussion in 'Android Applications' started by cromo8, Jul 18, 2010.

  1. cromo8
    Offline

    cromo8 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    516
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    is there and app for you to be able to use your phone as a tv remote?

    dont know how many times ive been like wow wheres the remote, wish my phone was the remote
  2. icculusX
    Offline

    icculusX Premium Member Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    2,539
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    The Moon
    The phone does not have the parts it needs to be a remote. I however watch Hulu from a laptop hooked to my projector... and I use PhoneMyPC so that I dont have to get up to switch videos or pause. It connects right to my PC and acts as a mouse and keyboard.
  3. cromo8
    Offline

    cromo8 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    516
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i was wondering because it can be used a a FioS remote, figured it could do it

    does that app work with mac?
  4. hookbill
    Offline

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,545
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Seen it asked before. I don't think there is. I have an Harmony 1100 Remote and sometimes I confuse it with my Droid. Yes, it's bigger but when your multitasking you can get confused.

    [​IMG]
  5. icculusX
    Offline

    icculusX Premium Member Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    2,539
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    The Moon
    Well, I checked out the WEBSITE and looks like it is only for windows now.
  6. takeshi
    Offline

    takeshi New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    4,600
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    FIOS and your TV are 2 separate things. Your TV's remote uses infrared so an app isn't going to be able to provide a solution on its own. The FIOS remote app uses data to connect to your FIOS box. If your TV is connected to the internet in a similar fashion then such a solution may be possible.