[AOSP ROM] BETA CyanogenMod 7.1 Alpha Release

Discussion in 'Droid 3 Roms' started by ItsTrentB, Oct 18, 2011.

  1. MerkXR4
    Offline

    MerkXR4 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    That was a great write-up on the drive/motivation that developers like Hashcode have. I appreciate his work greatly and have just joined the Droid community within the past year. I had a few Droid 2 that inevitably had their own issues, and luckily through insurance got a D3 as a replacement. I'm amazed that Hashcode's ROM is out already on a unit that was released not even 5 months ago. He will be receiving a $20 donation from me once the camera is working for all his hard work toward what I consider the best ROM for the phone I currently own. If even half of the people that use the ROM were to do this, he would be getting the payback he fully DESERVES. Thanks for everything developers & community. Looking forward to the next release!
  2. Tepes
    Offline

    Tepes New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    342
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago
    None of my market apps would actually download. Is it better to bypass that and just do a TiBu restore of apps?
    Thanks. Really looking forward to seeing where this goes. Both for my D3 and my Bionic. :)
  3. ItsTrentB
    Offline

    ItsTrentB Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    217
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Southern California
    I agree. He has done amazing things for the D3 already. One of the reasons why I chose to go Cm7 regardless of the little bugs, it's the best ROM. I currently have no issues with this besides camera, which is what he is currently working on. He appreciates it!

    Sent from my DROID3 using DroidForums
  4. ItsTrentB
    Offline

    ItsTrentB Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    217
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Southern California
    Yes you can do a restore with TiBu. It's recommended to not restore data as that can cause some issues and what not.

    Sent from my DROID3 using DroidForums
  5. ItsTrentB
    Offline

    ItsTrentB Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    217
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Southern California
    From Hashcode:
    Sent from my DROID3 using DroidForums
  6. Tepes
    Offline

    Tepes New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    342
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago
    Couldn't seem to find the TiBu backups. This is one thing I have noticed, that because of the EMMC it seems as though I can't read certain folders that were on the internal and external sd. Other than that, for a Alpha release, this is amazing!!! I'm having less issues than I did when I first started running CM on my OG! Regardless of the minor things being worked out, I'm using this as my daily driver. Also, Safeboot is wonderful. So easy to move back and forth !
  7. ItsTrentB
    Offline

    ItsTrentB Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    217
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Southern California

    Using root explorer or any file manager, Go to emmc and copy (or move) your titanium backup folder, where all of your backups are stored, to the SD CARD. Then go back into titanium and restore!

    Sent from my DROID3 using DroidForums
  8. Tepes
    Offline

    Tepes New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    342
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago
    Does the actual SD Card (ext) get reformatted in this process? I just turned off safeboot and went to my base ROM hoping that I might be able to copy and paste the files and I'm missing a bunch of stuff from the sd card now. Photos, movies. I even moved the card to another phone and it looked the same.
  9. ItsTrentB
    Offline

    ItsTrentB Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    217
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Southern California
    No not at all. Nothing will happen to either the internal and external SD card. You're just simply moving or copying a file from one card to the other. Only thing, internal SD is now in the emmc folder and external is now your SD card folder. Titanium only sees backups in the SDCARD folder (unless you change the directory) and all of the backups are in emmc. So you just have to copy TiBu folder from emmc into SD card.

    Sent from my DROID3 using DroidForums
  10. Tepes
    Offline

    Tepes New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    342
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago
    The TiBu situation is fine. What I'm saying now is that I have literally lost everything from the physical SD Card. I had a My Videos folder with movies in it, I don't see it any where. I had an original Download folder from my OG, now that is missing as well. I used root explore, astro and hooking it up to the computer and it looks like the SD Card was formatted and rewritten with all new information. I also moved it to another phone and could no longer see my files anywhere. They were there yesterday and I had to make space for some backups, so I removed a few things here and there but now it is all gone. It also included the backups and tweaks I had stored for the base ROM and themed apps.

    EDIT: O.k. I'm just gonna breath. I'm just really pissed at myself because I obviously screwed up somewhere and I'm also pissed because I didn't have backups of the photos that were on the SD. But trust me when I say, I'm not angry with anyone connected to this work, this is the risk you take when you can't stop playing with the phone :)
  11. Prsterero
    Offline

    Prsterero New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2011
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hows the battery life for those of you who have tried out cm7?

    Sent from my DROID3 using DroidForums
  12. ItsTrentB
    Offline

    ItsTrentB Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    217
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Southern California
    I came home with 50% last night after 14 hours of usage.... Nuff said.. Lokey smiled at those statistics last night..
  13. tcrews
    Offline

    tcrews Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,354
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Lexington, SC
    Hashcode has created a version for the standard (Koush's) boot-strap and is now in Rom Manager for download/installing.
  14. Tepes
    Offline

    Tepes New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    342
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago
    If we wanted to be able to use the Rom Manager download system, do we have to give up our Safestrap and if so, does that mean we have to reinstall CM7 the old school way thus wiping out our backup rom? Or does Safestrap work with RomManager as well?
  15. Yonnor
    Offline

    Yonnor I r Teh Greetest

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2011
    Messages:
    813
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    San Diego
    As far as I know you'd have to ditch Safestrap, since RM works with Clockworkmod Recovery. But don't quote me on that. Lol

    Butt dialed from my hamburger phone
  16. tcrews
    Offline

    tcrews Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,354
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Lexington, SC
    I'll quote you as you are correct. Rom Manager works with Koush's Droid3Bootstrap so you will need that. There are probably more people running the standard Boot-strap then the Safe-strap so Hashcode decided to release a version compatible with that.
  17. Yonnor
    Offline

    Yonnor I r Teh Greetest

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2011
    Messages:
    813
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    San Diego
    I just tried out the CWM compatible CM7 for Hash and it works great so far. I'll probably revert back to SDv3 though as I miss all my tweaks and all. But I can confirm it works.

    Butt dialed from my hamburger phone
  18. matthskim
    Offline

    matthskim New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2011
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Can you tell me what is your mobile network setting: cdma only or cdma/evdo. My setting is set to cdma/evdo and battery is draining really bad, 10% per 20 minutes. Or is there any setting necessary for cm7 to prevent battery draining?

    Other than that, this is a Caddilac.
  19. aldrichg9
    Offline

    aldrichg9 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hate to say this but....
    Just switched back to stock blur rom and tried the stock browser.
    it is currently blowing away the cm7 stock browser and dolphin hd browser.
    I love the options of cm7 but something is going on with mine.
    This is not the latest nightly but I ddidnt see anything on hashcodes sitethat might affect this.

    Any ideas of something I might have wrong on my end?

    Some other things I am noticing when compared to cm7:
    -the touch screen in stock blur is funky as hell. Try to click a link and something else lights up!
    -slide out keyboard is real laggy. Type something and a few seconds later it shows. up.
    -stock browser acts funky compared to others.
  20. ItsTrentB
    Offline

    ItsTrentB Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    217
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Southern California

    Mines is on Cdma/evdo as well. I also use the Juice Defender app from the market. This saves my battery life by a ton! I am not always on my phone so when I'm not on it, I want my battery life to stay the same way I left it. And this helps with that.

    This past Saturday, I haven't had access to a charger, and my phone lost 3% every HOUR. By the 3rd hour, I was at 91%.
    Sent from my DROID3 using DroidForums
Search tags for this page

cyanogenmod 7.1 bionic download

,

cyanogenmod 7.1 droid x

,
cyanogenmod 7.1 razer
,
root samsung galaxy tab 7.1