[AOSP ROM] BETA CyanogenMod 7.1 Alpha Release

Discussion in 'Droid 3 Roms' started by ItsTrentB, Oct 18, 2011.

  1. spacecasespiff
    Offline

    spacecasespiff New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011
    Messages:
    451
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Try a different browser.happens a lot to me when using stock browser.

    Sent from my DROID3 using DroidForums
  2. Yonnor
    Offline

    Yonnor I r Teh Greetest

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2011
    Messages:
    813
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    San Diego
    Amen the stock browser has issues alot.

    Try Dolphin.
  3. ItsTrentB
    Offline

    ItsTrentB Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    217
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Southern California
    Or Boat Browser.

    Sent from my DROID3 using DroidForums
  4. ItsTrentB
    Offline

    ItsTrentB Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    217
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Southern California
    OP Updated.....Fixes some audio issues, working bluetooth, and OTA patch for the 5.7.894 users!
    Apply CM4D3 Zip and then apply the patch!
  5. shane1
    Offline

    shane1 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2011
    Messages:
    125
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    ny
    im stuck on force close of motorola blur. i wiped data . anyhelp would be sweet
  6. ItsTrentB
    Offline

    ItsTrentB Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    217
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Southern California
    Yeah I've gotten the force close of death too. I wiped everything multiple times.. installed.. and just fc's..

    I'm coming from liberty & I noticed that while it was fc-ing, libertys toolbox still appeared in the bar. So something wasn't wiping right. So I restored to an earlier backup (before the cm7 11/10 update)..
    reboot system..
    Let it boot up successfully
    Then go back in safestrap, wipe data, cache.
    Install zip & install patch if you flashed OTA.
    Of course, flash Gapps too.
    Reboot.

    Good to go!
    Sent from my DROID3 using DroidForums
  7. shane1
    Offline

    shane1 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2011
    Messages:
    125
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    ny
    whats an ota lol.... im trying again now thanx

    samething guesse ill try wiping data and cache a few times

    ha i got it i neglected to format system ...thats why there is instructions
  8. ItsTrentB
    Offline

    ItsTrentB Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    217
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Southern California
    When you go to menu --> about phone --> system updates.. and it says available update, your accepting an OTA (Over the air) update.
    There was a leak OTA for us users to flash if we wanted to update our phone ahead of time

    Sent from my DROID3 using DroidForums
  9. ItsTrentB
    Offline

    ItsTrentB Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    217
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Southern California
    Glad you got it working! Even I, forgot to do that step. Thanks for reminding :)

    Sent from my DROID3 using DroidForums
  10. shane1
    Offline

    shane1 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2011
    Messages:
    125
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    ny
    yeah i know what an ota is ive just been runnin custom roms since i first got my d1 so i dont recall ever actually getting an update. because we have such awesome developers in oy community, and very helpful members thanx for the help!
  11. aldrichg9
    Offline

    aldrichg9 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm getting boot loops after I flash this.
    I re-flashed and had no luck.
    Being new to D3 ROM flashing I don't know what to do next.

    Any ideas?
  12. ItsTrentB
    Offline

    ItsTrentB Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    217
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Southern California
    Before you flashed CM7, did you (first) backup your current rom? (second) Wipe data, cache.. AND format system?
  13. aldrichg9
    Offline

    aldrichg9 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks trentb for your quick reply.
    I did format /system but did not wipe data and cache because the destructions didn't say to (i'm a direction follower)

    I am d/l'ing the latest that came out last night and will try again
  14. ItsTrentB
    Offline

    ItsTrentB Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    217
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Southern California
    Yes sir, try that again and let me know how it turns out for you!
  15. aldrichg9
    Offline

    aldrichg9 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks trentb for bringing this over to us and supporting users!!!
  16. ItsTrentB
    Offline

    ItsTrentB Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    217
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Southern California
    Hashcode is your man! But I'm glad I can help you out! Thanks

    Sent from my DROID3 using DroidForums
  17. MerkXR4
    Offline

    MerkXR4 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    This ROM is fantastic!!! Only complaint is that the camera doesn't work (yet) and unfortunately. That is the only thing stopping me from using this ROM regularly. Can we possibly expect the camera to work in the next release?
  18. ItsTrentB
    Offline

    ItsTrentB Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    217
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Southern California
    Possibly. Hashcode has announced he is working on
    HOTSPOT
    GSM
    CAMERA/VIDEO

    -Hashcode



    Sent from my DROID3 using DroidForums
  19. MerkXR4
    Offline

    MerkXR4 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Sorry to be the obnoxious guy - and I intend in no way to rush the amazing work Hash has been doing - but can we expect a release each week or do they just come as they are ready? I just noticed that the past two releases came out on thursdays on the previous two weeks, so was thinking maybe Thurs we'll see a new one?

    Sent from my DROID3 using DroidForums
  20. tcrews
    Offline

    tcrews Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,355
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Lexington, SC
    You're looking at it with a "business slant" and not a personal one :) Forget targeted schedules and possible release dates, etc...

    Look at it this way...

    Hashcode comes home from work and either works on the code or decides to relax and watch TV. Next day he comes home and works on the code, runs a compile and finds 3 or 4 things that broke from his code changes. He either reverts the code back or tries to fix the three other things.

    In the meantime, cyanogenmod (team) has been working on the CM7 source tree and Hashcode sees some changes they did and pulls those in to his code....which causes a few things he's modified/fixed for the Droid 3 to break again....requiring him to find/fix the cause. Running another compile (could be 30 minutes to a few hours depending on the computer used) and then flashing it to a phone and testing.....

    Repeat this every day for months.....with no pay, lots of hours spend in front of the computer, no other incentive to get it to work except his personal drive/motivation to do it and then in the end.....no donations from those using the ROM at any stage (alpha, beta, stable, etc..).

    I would expect releases/updates whenever he gets something fixed and not before. No schedule of updates.....just whenever he's taken the time to fix another issue and running a compile off.
Search tags for this page

cyanogenmod 7.1 bionic download

,

cyanogenmod 7.1 droid x

,
cyanogenmod 7.1 razer
,
root samsung galaxy tab 7.1