Anyone Use Their Droid in Europe?

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid' started by EuropeBound, Jan 16, 2010.

  1. EuropeBound
    Offline

    EuropeBound New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hello, I did a search and went through a few threads, but couldn't find a definite answer to my question.

    I'm in the States, but traveling to London, Amsterdam, and Paris for a couple weeks next month.

    I realize you can't make calls and use 3g, however, I'm wondering if I can connect to wifi over there to use the internet?

    I'm looking for responses from people who have actually tried, not assumptions.

    Thanks!!
  2. navdoc1110
    Offline

    navdoc1110 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    use overseas

    I have used the skype application oversease via wifi and there is no problem making skype to skype calls
  3. EuropeBound
    Offline

    EuropeBound New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    hey thanks for the input.

    so i guess that answers my question with wifi.

    just wanted to make sure the wifi worked ok over there.

    im not too concerned with calling people...i just want to use the droid to check my email and update facebook :)

    if anyone can recommend an electrical outlet converter, that would be great too!

    thanks again.
  4. dfunction
    Offline

    dfunction New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    hi navdoc1110:

    did you test the gps in europe?

    thanks
  5. wfholcom
    Offline

    wfholcom New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Woodstock, GA
    Droid in Europe

    I used it in Costa Rica on Wifi but didn't try a Skype call. Wifi worked fine for e-mail and all other web uses. Navigation did not work.

    Costa Rica is GSM only with no CDMA.

    Google came up in Spanish, it knew where i was, and i could switch to English.
    Last edited: Jan 22, 2010
  6. Sam
    Offline

    Sam Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009
    Messages:
    3,470
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    dirty dirty
    Para ingles, regresa a los estado unidos. Lol
  7. dfunction
    Offline

    dfunction New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Was in Italy

    Hey all:

    Just a follow up, I was in Italy and not able to use the GPS on the Droid (bummer!).

    -d
  8. jlghertner
    Offline

    jlghertner New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    travel to canada

    as I approached the inspection station crossing in the Thousand Islands in Upstate NY to Canada, all GPS signal and navigation stopped dead, no maps, no nothing.

    roaming charges for the few days cost me $45 and lost trying to get through Montreal.

    Wifi worked great but no internet with cell service.
  9. lukesamuels2010
    Offline

    lukesamuels2010 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    when I'm in Europe I use skype. I put in my credit card so I can call phones in america and its only like 2 cnts a minute. Wifi is a good thing. I wish you could put a sim card in a droid. You would think since Vodafone owns verizon that they would want that.

    I was told that Europe has more wifi available than the states. I have spent so much time there and found that to be not true. Many placees make you pay.

    For an adapter I would just get the adapter, I don't think you need a big one that converts the power since most chargers have them built in. (I may be totally wrong)
  10. Droid- DC
    Offline

    Droid- DC New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I’m about to go to Europe too, made maps for Orux (an offline capable GPS map application), and after some research realized I wasted my time, and that it won’t work with the Droid in Europe for the following reason:

    Most phones, as with the Droid, with "GPS" in fact use A-GPS technology. The "A" stands for assisted, and means that the phone relies on the network for help in determining location. Although the phone does receive GPS signals directly from the satellites, it can't determine actual location without help from the cell network.

    gpsOne is a position location technology developed by SnapTrack, a subsidiary of Qualcomm. GpsOne is an A-GPS technology, meaning it uses GPS satellites in conjunction with land-based stations (towers) to determine a phone’s location.

    Phones with gpsOne can receive raw signals directly from GPS satellites, but require a live connection to a network-based location server to do so. The location server helps the phone find the correct satellites. The location server also processes the raw signals and makes the final calculations that determine location.

    gpsOne is integrated into most Qualcomm CDMA chipsets, and is the position location technology used by most CDMA carriers.

    From the sounds of it, the only way the Droid's GPS would work in Europe is if it had a Standalone (autonomous) GPS reciever (like a Garmin or TomTom does) or had International GSM roaming. Sadly it does not have either of those, and therefore the GPS will not work outside of the Verizon/CDMA network (800/1900 MHz).

    Read more GPS vs. A-GPS: A Quick Tutorial: http://www.wmexperts.com/articles/gps_vs_agps_a_quick_tutorial.html
    Last edited: Feb 24, 2010
  11. Project37
    Offline

    Project37 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Droid-DC, thanks for a very helpful and informative post. And your first one, at that! :)

    We're off to Europe later this year, so it's nice to know the realities of Droid's usability. Still, it's clearly a great "netbook" to have for e-mail, web, etc. The Skype feature is a nice perk that will most likely get some use.
  12. Droid- DC
    Offline

    Droid- DC New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    You're welcome, hopefully it will be helpful to others as well who were curious like myself. I usually use cheap local prepaid SIMs in unlocked GSM phones when overseas, but will look into the Skype option, sounds like it works well!

    Cheers!
  13. GOON
    Offline

    GOON New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    140
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    CA
    i use my droid in africa puerto rico and japan.
  14. Droid- DC
    Offline

    Droid- DC New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Goon,

    What capabilities were you able to use in Africa & Japan?

    Verizon has coverage in Puerto Rico, so no surprise there.

    I know Africa & Japan also have some CDMA networks (unlike Europe) but I didn’t know Verizon roams there.

    As I said before, theoretically if there is a CDMA network present, then the A-GPS could work if the phone can communicate with the towers. There are no CDMA networks in Europe though, but there are some throughout other continents, like Africa and Asia.

    Global CDMA Map: CDG : Worldwide : Worldwide
  15. christim
    Offline

    christim DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Messages:
    5,112
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New England
    Excellent reply, thanks. I was in Europe last fall and figured GPS didn't work because I had no offline maps. This explains it perfectly.
  16. Droid- DC
    Offline

    Droid- DC New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I would recommend the charger that came with the Droid. Just verify that on the charger it says INPUT: 100-240v ~ 50-60Hz and it will work with whatever plug adapter you need. It should also say OUTPUT: 5v - 850mA

    So you shouldnt need a power converter, just a plug adapter.
  17. tommyz
    Offline

    tommyz Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    271
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    18
    I thought the Droid had both types of GPS receivers. Meaning it could get a location without the Assist of a cell tower.

    Then again I have just put the phone into Airplane Mode and started GPS Test and it shows no GPS satalites.

    Oh well. I also was going to get a standalone Nav program for my trip to Europe. Looks like a no go.
  18. Droid- DC
    Offline

    Droid- DC New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I thought the same too, because Motorola's initial Droid specs were misleading with the GPS specs, claiming it had a standalone GPS antenna, not just A-GPS. But their latest website specs only lists A-GPS and S-GPS. Did they remove that capability right before production, or was the initial specs wrong from day-1? Why would they remove standalone GPS?

    Oh well, I’m resurrecting the Garmin and got City Navigator Europe NT maps on an SD card for $80 on eBay for my GPS, Maps and Navigation needs while in Europe, and will probably re-list the City Navigator Europe NT SD card back on eBay when I’m done with it like the person that is sold it to me did.

    Either way the Droid will still be great for internet/email/VoIP where WiFi is available, luckily in all my booked hotels. :)
    Last edited: Feb 25, 2010
  19. fcmoss
    Offline

    fcmoss New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Droid GPS in Europe

    The native Google navigation only works on the CDMA network. There's an app in the Marketplace called CoPilot with US & Europe maps that works on wifi. Reviews on it are mixed.
  20. bryan.teeples
    Offline

    bryan.teeples New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Africa

    Someone ealier posted using the droid in Africa. I know someone already asked about what capabilities they had there, but it was never answered. The answer interests me as well.
Search tags for this page

can i use my droid in europe

,
can you use a droid in europe
,
droid in europe verizon
,

droid use in europe

,

using a droid in europe

,
using my droid in europe
,

using verizon droid in europe

,
verizon android use in europe
,
will my droid phone work in europe
,

will my droid work in europe

,
will my motorola droid work europe
,
will my verizon droid work in europe