Annual upgrade to a 1 yr contract?

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by dafischman, Apr 11, 2011.

  1. dafischman

    dafischman Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Just went to get TBolt, was using my last annual upgrade, I'm 15 months into my current contract. They told me I couldn't do a 1 yr, they didn't know why, said the system was giving them the 2yr contract price and they wouldn't sell it to me at that. And they couldn't manually charge me the 1 yr price, even though the system let them put the 1 yr on my account. Messed up, is that typical. If so, that's fine, just wondering.

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
     
  2. dafischman

    dafischman Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    So just got home and did some searching. Apparently you can only do the 1yr if your contract is completely expired. Not sure if this is the way it has always been, but that is what I'm being told everywhere(store, CS, website). So that forces my decision on waiting for the Bionic. I like the TB, but being stuck on it for 2 years vs being stuck on the Bionic for 2 years seems like an easy decision. Anyone think one of these 2 phones will have a higher resale value in 10-15months? That might make a difference too.

    Josh
     
  3. Martin030908

    Martin030908 Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    8,773
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Ratings:
    +0
    Don't forget VZW has said they are doing away with 1yr contracts all together... I forget what the cut off date was.... mid April IIRC.
     
  4. vzdroid13

    vzdroid13 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011
    Messages:
    142
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    A Verizon Customer Service Rep clearly told me that I could do it, and also when I was buying my TB on an anual upgrade I could do it. Try a different store or call Customer Service, because you certainly CAN annual upgrade to a 1 year.

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums
     
  5. dafischman

    dafischman Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Bah, see this is frustrating, so far I've called 2 CS reps and have been told the same thing. Their website won't let me choose a 1yr once I get into the system, and my local store told me it let them choose the 1yr, but they were getting 2yr prices and refused to sell it to me. They said they think VZW has already started moving the system away from the 1yr.

    Talk about frustrating.

    Josh
     
  6. vzdroid13

    vzdroid13 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011
    Messages:
    142
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    What? They have no right to not sell you the phone. For all they know, Verizon could have made the 2 year and 1 year price the same for this last week. You should try another store or file a complaint. It doesn't matter what they are used to doing; if you want an offered plan and their computer is allowing them to set up that plan, they can't just say no.

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums
     
  7. dafischman

    dafischman Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Update!!!!

    Well, after being very persistent, I got a rep on the phone who helped me out. he was having the same problem where the phone price was still $249 even though he had the 1 year in the system, so he said it was my lucky day and he gave me the TBolt for $249 with the 1 year contract. He even went back in to verify that the system updated to a 1 year. Hears hoping that everything works out the way he said!

    Josh
     
  8. dafischman

    dafischman Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    LOL, this was exactly my thought! I was like, maybe theres a special on it, and the guy said, no, somethings wrong, I can't put it through with that price. And his manager was standing next to him and said, "ya, it's because they're getting rid of the 1 yr, they must have already gotten rid of it on the TB and the system isn't fully updated." Whatever the issue causing that price, I just got the same price over the phone from a CS rep for the 1 year and he put it through. Woo Hoo. He said it might've been an issue with our Alltel plan since we were grandfathered in. He said he could make it work, but he was missing some code so he'd have to do it all manually. Makes me think the guys at the local VZW didn't wan't to take the time.

    Josh