Android udate

Gill_110

Reaction score
Can someone please help.
I have an HTC Hero and loaded a 3 UK Rom Android 1.5, from the web forums. I'm not sure if I used "update-hero-generic-2.73.771.73-signed.zip" or update-hero-generic
-2.73.771.73-rooted-signed.zip. Does it matter?

I now get the OTA update to android 2.1, but when I try to install, I get the following;
Build : RA-hero-v1.5.2
Finding update package …
Opening update package …
Verifying update package …
E:No signature (660 files)
E:Verification failed
Installation aborted.
What am I doing wrong? I'm really very new to all this.
Thank you.

DF Smod

Silver Member
Reaction score
I do not have an HTC Hero but I have moved your post to the correct area in hopes for someone to see it better :)

BTW :welcome: to the Forum

jstafford1

Super Moderator
Rescue Squad
Reaction score
Twitter
jstaff79
Can someone please help.
I have an HTC Hero and loaded a 3 UK Rom Android 1.5, from the web forums. I'm not sure if I used "update-hero-generic-2.73.771.73-signed.zip" or update-hero-generic
-2.73.771.73-rooted-signed.zip. Does it matter?

I now get the OTA update to android 2.1, but when I try to install, I get the following;
Finding update package …
Opening update package …
Installation aborted.
What am I doing wrong? I'm really very new to all this.
Thank you.

Is there a custom recovery for the Hero? Are you wanting to stay rooted or have stock 2.1?

OP
G

Gill_110

Reaction score
I don't quite understand. The Rom I loaded is supposed to be exactly the same as would be if it was originally a 3 handset. I now want to use the OTA update to make it Android 2.1 but I keep getting the same error messae.

OP
G

Gill_110

Reaction score
Can you download a 3UK Rom from the forums and then will the OTA update for Android 2.1 work? How do you get to this stage? My Orange Hero had this 3 Rom put on it but the OTA update still fails with the following message:

Finding update package …
Opening update package …