Error message when trying to re-root..

Discussion in 'Android Tech Support' started by bd85ga, Apr 1, 2010.

  1. bd85ga
    Offline

    bd85ga New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    So I did the manual upgrade to the official 2.1 for droid...and my phone still had the superuser icon...so I figured ok im still rooted...so I download DM updater and to my surprise im not...so i download the root...reboot do the x power on/camera up volume apply update.zip and get this:

    E: cannot open/cache/recovery/command

    --Install from sdcard...
    Finding update package...
    Opening update package...
    Verifying update package...
    E: eocd marker occurs after start of eocd
    E: signature verification failed
    installation aborted.

    any help would be greatly appreciated.
    thank you :unsure:
  2. jstafford1
    Offline

    jstafford1 DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    9,115
    Likes Received:
    190
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Location:
    Hebron, Oh.
    Ratings:
    +194
    Your only option to get root back is to flash the 2.0.1 sbf with rsdlite.root from there. Then if you want ESE81 you can use petes version with the recovery removed.
  3. bd85ga
    Offline

    bd85ga New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    thanks jstafford...could u break that down for me slightly...RSD lite seems to be a program for windows..I have a mac...am I screwed?
  4. ben.holmes
    Offline

    ben.holmes New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Iowa
    Ratings:
    +0
    Jstafford i rooted my phone just fine and then i had to update the phone software and now i am getting the same message as bd85ga. Is there an easy fix?
  5. jstafford1
    Offline

    jstafford1 DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    9,115
    Likes Received:
    190
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Location:
    Hebron, Oh.
    Ratings:
    +194
    I am so sorry about not getting back to you sooner on this. I am not sure how to work it on a mac. Try this thread http://www.droidforums.net/forum/hacking-help/24707-unroot-unbrick-your-phone-using-sbf.html and ask someone if there's a way to use it on a mac. Other than that I dont know what you can do. I am pretty sure there's a way to do it though.
  6. jstafford1
    Offline

    jstafford1 DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    9,115
    Likes Received:
    190
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Location:
    Hebron, Oh.
    Ratings:
    +194
    Ok need a little more info. What ROM were you running and what update did you use for the new software?
  7. ben.holmes
    Offline

    ben.holmes New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Iowa
    Ratings:
    +0
    I updated to 2.1 software. The kernal version is 2.6.29-omap1-g7fa8788 , android-build@apa26#1
  8. ben.holmes
    Offline

    ben.holmes New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Iowa
    Ratings:
    +0
    The other day i had rooted my phone just fine and i was using the wifi tether and then i charged over night and it wanted me to update the next morning and i did. Now i cant run the tethering program. But i still have the Superuser Permission app in all my apps.
  9. jstafford1
    Offline

    jstafford1 DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    9,115
    Likes Received:
    190
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Location:
    Hebron, Oh.
    Ratings:
    +194
    What happened was you allowed the OTA to go through. That breaks root. You still have the SU app because the update is a system update and doesn't affect apps. It still shows up but doesn't work because you no longer have superuser permisions.
  10. ben.holmes
    Offline

    ben.holmes New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Iowa
    Ratings:
    +0
    So then how would I root again? Cause when I go to root it gives me an error message like at the beginning of this thread.
  11. jstafford1
    Offline

    jstafford1 DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    9,115
    Likes Received:
    190
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Location:
    Hebron, Oh.
    Ratings:
    +194
Search tags for this page

cih2 error no root

,
cih2 root download
,
e:eocd marker occures after start