1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

"Android System" using 90-100% CPU

Discussion in 'Thunderbolt Tech Support' started by guitarchris123, Apr 26, 2011.

  1. guitarchris123
    Offline

    guitarchris123 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2011
    Messages:
    632
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Arlington, VA
    Lately I have noticed that "Android System" has been constantly using 90-100% of my CPU, causing lag and battery drain. At first, a reset fixed the problem, but now even that doesn't help, even with a battery pull. I have noticed Android System jumping up my "Battery Usage" list higher than in the past. I cannot for the life of me figure out why Android System is taking up so much of the CPU constantly.

    I've tried turning WiFi, GPS, background data, auto-sync, etc. on/off, but to no avail.

    Can anyone help me figure out what to do? Is anyone else experiencing the same problem? What could be going wrong?

    I'm not rooted and I do not have a task killer. But I do have Watchdog (that's how I noticed the problem), which repeatedly gives me notifications that Android System is detected above the threshold level for the CPU monitor.
  2. CJM
    Offline

    CJM Developer Relations Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    9,221
    Likes Received:
    498
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Mississippi Gulf Coast
    If you havent already, you can go to applications/running services and see whats running.
  3. guitarchris123
    Offline

    guitarchris123 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2011
    Messages:
    632
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Arlington, VA
    Yeah, I know about running services, but that isn't helpful. It does not tell me why Android System is using so much CPU constantly. There isn't much running since I just rebooted.
  4. XKXDISTURBEDXKX
    Offline

    XKXDISTURBEDXKX New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Messages:
    334
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    United States
    Hey Chris,
    This could be do to the amount of applications you have syncing when you kept rebooting the device, otherwise I think you should try a battery pull + SD card pull and if that doesn't work a factory reset could do the trick, hope I helped

    Sent from my ADR6400L using DroidForums
    Last edited: Apr 26, 2011
  5. guitarchris123
    Offline

    guitarchris123 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2011
    Messages:
    632
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Arlington, VA
    Yeah, I though it could be due to some applications at first too, but that wasn't the case (none of the apps in my list appeared to be using the amount of CPU and battery that Android System was). I had done a battery pull and sd card pull when I shut the phone down one of the times I did a reboot. I really wanted to avoid doing a factory reset because I've done a lot to my phone (apps, settings, customization, music, photos, etc.) and didn't want to have to wipe everything and go through setting all that up the way I like it again. I tried having background data and auto-sync both on and off to see if that was making a difference. I gave it plenty of time to calm down after reboot (several minutes, to the point where normally the CPU would calm down to 10-50% under normal use and conditions). I tried toggling WiFi, Bluetooth, and GPS on/off. After tweaking some things and doing another reboot (this time while plugged into a charger, although that probably didn't have anything to do with it), it finally appears to be back to normal (whew! I was freaked out there for a while). It started working right last night and I still have not noticed the problem recurring through all of today. In doing a couple hours of research online, I found that this is a problem several people have experienced with their smartphones (it could be a bug with 2.2, because various phone models have reported issues), and to which no one has a proper explanation or solution (from what I could find, just lots of - "well did you do this, do you have this setting selected, are you using this app, etc."). Oh well, it is back to normal now (at least for now), so I'll keep my fingers crossed that it does not come back again and will be fixed with an update in the future.
  6. droidFreak190
    Offline

    droidFreak190 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2011
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Long Island
    almost sounds like spyware or something..download a virus scan....just an idea
  7. guitarchris123
    Offline

    guitarchris123 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2011
    Messages:
    632
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Arlington, VA
    Thanks for the suggestion. If the problem comes back again I'll try that next time. I am reluctant to download an antivirus app though because they use CPU/memory/battery. This isn't Windows so they aren't really necessary.
  8. mperativ
    Offline

    mperativ New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hello, I am having the same problem. Using "Android System Info", It is Android System ONLY that is hogging 80-100% of my CPU. Reset, battery pull, etc. didn't help. Any new ideas? This problem started for me this morning, and no changes were made to my system beforehand. It seems to have started randomly. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

    Sent from my right pocket (Thunderbolt)
  9. Boris_yo
    Offline

    Boris_yo New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Morning! Did you solve your problem?
  10. droidbionicmaster
    Offline

    droidbionicmaster New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2011
    Messages:
    468
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    My razr the os uses about 30%

    Sent from my DROID RAZR using DroidForums
  11. thaDroidz
    Offline

    thaDroidz New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    2,062
    Likes Received:
    42
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    neptune
    Wondering if "watchdog" is the hog?


    Edit:
    Doh! Very old

    ----posted maxx'ed out----
  12. Larry_ThaGr81
    Offline

    Larry_ThaGr81 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    Messages:
    1,030
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Hesperia
    If you are seeing 90% after a fresh reboot, give it a few minutes to finish loading.

    Sent by my Bolt powered by Thunder
  13. thaDroidz
    Offline

    thaDroidz New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    2,062
    Likes Received:
    42
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    neptune
    Yeah on reboot Android os is really the only thing running so its going to show a high %..
    is this correct logic?

    ----posted maxx'ed out----
Search tags for this page
android 100% cpu
,

android cpu 100

,

android cpu running at 100

,
android system cpu usage high
,
android system server cpu usage
,

android system server high cpu

,
android system using a lot of battery
,
android system using more than 90% of cpu
,

cpu 100 android

,
find what is eating up my cpu droid
,
how to fix high cpu usage android
,
system server android high cpu
,
system server cpu android
,
user 100% processor android
,
what is cpu usage on android