adding home screans

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by steveinil, Feb 2, 2010.

  1. steveinil
    Offline

    steveinil New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    127
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    st. louis area
    i have seen on here where people have more than one screan to the left and right of the home screan for saveing most used apps and widgets or whatever how do you add that? and thanks for the help and sorry for all the questions lol have had alot the last few days...
  2. Sam
    Offline

    Sam Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009
    Messages:
    3,470
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    dirty dirty
    search for "home replacement" to see what you are getting into. if the ONLY thing you want is more screens though, go to the market app and search "Launcher+"
  3. steveinil
    Offline

    steveinil New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    127
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    st. louis area
    ok now that you ask if the only thing i want is more screens what is the other point of more screens that the home replacement your talking about lol
  4. steveinil
    Offline

    steveinil New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    127
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    st. louis area
    il search and read lol just thought about that after i posted the second question
  5. Jonny Kansas
    Offline

    Jonny Kansas Premium Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    2,686
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Michigan's Upper Peninsula
    Launcher+ just adds more home screens. The dev that created it also created home++, which provides a nifty little bar at the bottom that you can select different icons to put on [Not FULLY configurable yet, so there's a certain list of things it can launch, but a totally customizable one is promised.

    There are other home replacements like PandaHome, Openhome, aHom [not sure if that's still around], GDE, dxTop

    Each one offers unique customization options. Take a look at them [as you already said you will] and test a few out. Most of the paid ones offer a Lite or Beta version for free so you can get a feel for it.

    Personally, I use home++:)
  6. Sam
    Offline

    Sam Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009
    Messages:
    3,470
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    dirty dirty
    i use Home++ too. it's awesome, and up to 7 screens
  7. steveinil
    Offline

    steveinil New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    127
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    st. louis area
    well i will definatly do some reading up on all this before i make a move lol alot totry to figure out but one more question if i install the home++ and dont like it for whatever reason can i go back to the stock home?
  8. wickedgrip
    Offline

    wickedgrip New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Florida
    ^^yup if you dont like Home++ you can just simply go back to the original, I have Home++ and personally I couldn't be happier
  9. droidilac
    Offline

    droidilac New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I use pandahome. Its free and works just fine for me... I use 5 screens with it....
  10. aaf709
    Offline

    aaf709 Nice Guy Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    4,189
    Likes Received:
    48
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    So Cal
    There's an app called "Home Switcher." Using that you can easily switch from one home to another. You have the option of either launching a home (pressing the home button takes you to your default) or set one as a default. I'm using GDE right now, but I like Home++.
  11. steveinil
    Offline

    steveinil New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    127
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    st. louis area
    it said on my app seach that home++ is free?
  12. Jonny Kansas
    Offline

    Jonny Kansas Premium Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    2,686
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Michigan's Upper Peninsula
    Yup. It's still in BETA, but many people agree it's just as good or better than apps that are being charged money for.

    If you decide to use it, and have issues, please be on the home screen, then:
    Press menu
    Press preferences
    Press Issues Group
Search tags for this page

screans