account problems

Discussion in 'Android Tech Support' started by geezy3, Nov 17, 2010.

  1. geezy3
    Offline

    geezy3 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2010
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    ok got a problem. might be a dumb question, but need help anyways. got a droind put it on my account an now i can't access the marketplace bcuz it asks for the old owners password an i can't remove his gmail account an use mine as the main one on the phone. what do i need to do to fix all this
  2. Sniper_5
    Offline

    Sniper_5 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    485
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Manheim, PA
    Factory reset under settings/ about phone iirc.

    Sent from my D1 on UD1.0 @ 1Ghz
  3. dlwhtrose
    Offline

    dlwhtrose DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    2,790
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    God forsaken desert, wishing to be back in Dixie
    Yeah a factory reset should clear that up. It resets the droid like it was when it first came out of the box. Once you power back up it will ask you to sign into google. At this point you can use your own google id and password.
  4. BigZig
    Offline

    BigZig New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    Messages:
    361
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Have you tried deleting the account from the account tab under settings?
  5. geezy3
    Offline

    geezy3 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2010
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    yes i tried all those thing. the factory reset doesn't do a damn thing. an when i just try to delete the account it says it is required by some applications
  6. geezy3
    Offline

    geezy3 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2010
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    an then tells me to do the factory reset. which i do an it doesn't delete anything
  7. guidot
    Offline

    guidot Developer Relations Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    7,352
    Likes Received:
    274
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    You could try booting into recovery to do it.

    Power off
    slide out the keyboard
    hold x
    press and hold power
    continue holding x
    should see a screen like this:
    [​IMG]
    press volume up then the camera button (its tricky sometimes)
    Then you should see this.
    [​IMG]
    Try this factory reset.

    Unless its rooted, then its a different story.
  8. geezy3
    Offline

    geezy3 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2010
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yes it is rooted. But dunno if I wana keep it that way
  9. BigZig
    Offline

    BigZig New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    Messages:
    361
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Alright because you are rooted this should be easy. Have you ever done a rom install where you have had to boot into recovery mode?
  10. geezy3
    Offline

    geezy3 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2010
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    No I'm fairly new 2 the rooting world of the droid
  11. Bob Dammit
    Offline

    Bob Dammit DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,715
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    N 42° 05.183 W 079° 10.914
    Boot into recovery. Power up while holding the X key on your keyboard. Using the volume rocker scroll down to wipe data & cache. Hit the camera button and choose yes. Repeat 3 times. Using the power button, back out to the main menu. Choose wipe cache, camera button to confirm. Repeat 3 times. Power button back to main menu, camera button on reboot. That should fix your problem.

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
  12. BigZig
    Offline

    BigZig New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    Messages:
    361
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    First you are going to have to find out what recovery program you have flash on your droid. Just follow the steps above to get to recovery I.e. reboot phone and hold x and power button. Then I would download astro or some other file manager from the market then go to the custom rom section of this fourm. After that find a rom to download bugless or ultimate droid are good for noobs. Then deppending on which recovery u have we will go from there
  13. geezy3
    Offline

    geezy3 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2010
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i was gonna say i can't get 2 marketplace cuz its still linked 2 his account
  14. geezy3
    Offline

    geezy3 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2010
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    an its not letting me boot into recovery
Search tags for this page

android add account problem factory reset