.902 Root Method!

Discussion in 'Droid Bionic Hacks' started by unbesorgt, Feb 12, 2012.

  1. 2THEXTRM
    Online

    2THEXTRM Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2011
    Messages:
    523
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Central New York
    Rooted my cousin's Bionic last night, Motofail was so easy it was almost boring lol! So easy I wasn't expecting to see SuperUser or root but worked perfectly! I have had mine rooted since .886 and it was a little more work to get root then.
  2. unbesorgt
    Offline

    unbesorgt New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    382
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Pretty sure Motofail will root any version. Rooting is not going to help connection issues, but most people report that .902 worked wonders for their connectivity.

    You don't have to root to use .902 -- it's an official OTA update.
  3. davoIII
    Offline

    davoIII New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2011
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    So when I click the link should I save it to desktop cuz ive been clicking run Lolz. So save to desktop then extract which file I get two one with no name but when opened has the same files :/
  4. unbesorgt
    Offline

    unbesorgt New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    382
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    The zip file you downloaded should contain a folder called motofail. You need to extract the entire folder to your desktop. Open the folder and verify that there are eight files inside -- otherwise you have done something wrong.

    After verifying, double-click the run.bat file and follow the instructions in the command prompt window to root your Bionic.

    If you try running it without extracting the files first, it will fail every time because it can't find the adb.exe file -- which is still zipped up inside the archive.
  5. Tcizzle
    Offline

    Tcizzle New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2011
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Dude, totally agree. That was so flippin easy. Thank You OP!!!!!!!!!!!dancedroid
  6. rvasquez
    Offline

    rvasquez New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    thanks unbesorgt.. worked like a charm....
  7. altspeed
    Offline

    altspeed New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2012
    Messages:
    1,035
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Dallas, Lone Star Republic, North America, Terra
    That's the way rota893 was before 902. I think both are by the same guy. Hook it up, click it, don't blink, u b rooted! U2 c4n h4z r007 h4X0r

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums
  8. Mike Lazaga
    Offline

    Mike Lazaga New Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2011
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks...worked great. Coming from a droid 2
  9. CamoCustom
    Offline

    CamoCustom New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2012
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Wow, so simple a caveman can do it! Sorry, I had to, worked perfectly on my Bionic, using windows XP
  10. striker85
    Offline

    striker85 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2011
    Messages:
    169
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
  11. mdotytx
    Offline

    mdotytx New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2010
    Messages:
    848
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Gilmer, Tx
    Easiest root method ever!!! dancedroid
  12. GirlGeek123
    Offline

    GirlGeek123 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    St. Johns, AZ
    Fixed Bionic that wouldn't root!

    Motofail works great! I've had my Bionic for a not quite a week, just barely getting it set up, and realized it wasn't rooted. I tried a lot of things and came across your post. It the link still works, but when it was all over, I tried to make a donation, and the site said they were not taking any more donations, so I'll just post a note of thanks.

    :yr1:--Bambi
  13. jickracer007
    Offline

    jickracer007 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2011
    Messages:
    179
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Dumb question if I gon't have root will it give me root? or do is just a few added adb.files?
  14. jickracer007
    Offline

    jickracer007 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2011
    Messages:
    179
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    root

    I am on the 902 already and I have seen there people are having some isssues on 902 and actually flashing back to an earlier build
  15. Biskit64
    Offline

    Biskit64 New Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Worked for me and im a nub, already trimming the bloatware.
  16. cjj2d
    Offline

    cjj2d Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2012
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    I am currently on .895 and Eclipse 2.1.

    I want to get to .902 and Eclipse 2.2.

    what path do I take and where can I get .902?

    thanks.
  17. CamoCustom
    Offline

    CamoCustom New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2012
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I think would have to either Fastboot to stock .893 or RSD, then update OTA to .902, then backup, and flash eclipse 2.2
  18. RVZFan
    Offline

    RVZFan New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hey all. Just got a Bionic from an OG. I think im doing everything correctly, but it wont root. Seems like im not doing something cuz its too easy. I have it in debugging mode, in charge only mode, then run run.bat and I get a black screen saying a bunch of "not recognized as an internal or external command" down the whole window, but then it says exploit complete. The phone does nothing. Any advice please?
  19. altspeed
    Offline

    altspeed New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2012
    Messages:
    1,035
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Dallas, Lone Star Republic, North America, Terra
    Do you have the moto drivers installed?
  20. pabtheghost
    Offline

    pabtheghost New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    alright, i might just be an idiot, but does anyone know what is meant by “change into the zip directory” in the mac instructions?

    i get this when i run it:

    ---------------------------------------------------------
    edit-blahblah
    -------------------------------------------------------


    but it all dumps out in less than a second. no reboots on my phone or anything. just running the run.sh file from right where it is


    edit-nevermind... im just doing it on a PC. connections between my mac and phone never seem to work properly
    Last edited: May 22, 2012
Search tags for this page
43v3root droid bionic
,
902 root
,
adb is not recognized as a command root
,
casio commando cm7
,
d 902 root
,
hack codes for terminal
,
how to root kingcom 902c
,
link failed file exists
,
motofail link failed file exists
,
motofail windowws 64
,
one click root g'zone 223
,

root droid bionic 5.9.902