.902 Root Method!

Discussion in 'Droid Bionic Hacks' started by unbesorgt, Feb 12, 2012.

  1. mikeexplorer

    mikeexplorer Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2010
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Scranton, PA
    Ratings:
    +2
    Just updated to 902 and this exploit regained my root access, Thank You! :yeahbaby01:

    Mike
     
  2. davidlquinn

    davidlquinn New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    accept 902?

    i'm rooted with 5.5.893. should i accept the 902 update first & then run this method to re-root or is there a better way?

    thanks
     
  3. americanz

    americanz Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2011
    Messages:
    396
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    If you forever rooted it wont matter

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC
     
  4. davidlquinn

    davidlquinn New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    forever rooted?

    i must not have forever rooted since i don't know what that means. i used "motorola universal root script by p3droid"
    so based on that how is the best way to proceed?
     
  5. giddyup

    giddyup New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    weird thing - I have two bionics, one worked like a wonder with motofail, but the other didn't. on this failed one, the "superuser" didn't exist prior to "run", it was created afterward. after installing tether app (3.1 beta 11) and starting, the hotspot was active and my laptop did log on, however it couldn't reach websites so it didn't work. i did notice that after 2nd boot during the rooting, there was a line "link failed File exists", did anyone else have this problem? i tried P3droid again, it couldn't do it either as those folders/files were already existing. any clue what to do?

    Update: redownloaded motofail and reinstalled, it appeared it did connect to the web cuz a tiny info from the website showed, but the speed is unusable. still trying to find out what the problem is...
     
    Last edited: Feb 19, 2012
  6. battle

    battle Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I did not root before .902 update.
    Successfully rooted after .902

    Question: are we off the OTA update path now? when motorola finally pushes ICA OTA update, will we receive it?
     
  7. giddyup

    giddyup New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    what method did you use? motofail_windows?
    mine is still not working. tried inserting 3 lines at the end of mount_ext3.sh method, no luck.
    haven't heard anything about future upgrades, hopefully this is it.
     
  8. drice72

    drice72 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2010
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0

    I can't speak for others, but .902 was an official update from VZW for me. It was pushed to me OTA. I installed it without any problems. I still have root,and wifi hack still works. I am assuming that if there are future updates from VZW, you are on the path if this .902 was an OTA for you.
     
  9. battle

    battle Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I grabbed the drivers from the "how to root" thread.
    Used motofail windows exploit
    Make sure USB debugging is on and phone is connected in CHARGE ONLY mode.
    After reboots you may have to set CHARGE ONLY mode again....

    I am not a pro, so don't take my word on anything...
     
  10. giddyup

    giddyup New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    i was using the same method, something is wrong on this phone (the other was a success).
     
  11. grumpy22

    grumpy22 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Could someone tell me where I can get the file? I went to the link provided and didn't see anything.

    Thank You
     
    Last edited: Feb 20, 2012
  12. SlamminCam

    SlamminCam Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for the awesome exploit. I especially like the section in the batch file that says Owning phone. That is awesome. Love the touch of humor in the script. Kudos.
     
  13. battle

    battle Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ok, I'm already a little pissed cause I typed this whole thing out, and then my **** work computer had an error and refreshed the page..

    If you follow this guide, you will have Axi0m (ICS build) AND your stock ROM installed on your DROID BIONIC which has to already have the .902 OTA update


    FIRST download Motorola drivers
    ROOT/UNROOT Droid Bionic - RootzWiki
    depending on your WINDOWS system you will either need
    32 bit Motorola_End_User_Driver_Installation_5.2.0_32bit. msi
    64 bit Motorola_End_User_Driver_Installation_5.2.0_64bit. msi


    SECOND download the .902 exploit
    Security Research by Dan Rosenberg
    here is the actual download link
    http://vulnfactory.org/public/motofail_windows.zip


    THIRD root your Droid Bionic
    Instructions were taken from these two websites and combined to make things easier
    How To: Root your Motorola DROID Bionic via wicked [​IMG]Security Research by Dan Rosenberg
    1. Make sure you have Motorola drivers installed
    2. Download the motofail_windows.zip file from above and unzip it to your Windows PC.
    3. On your phone go into Settings>Applications>Development and check the box for USB Debugging.
    4. Plug phone into your computer and select “Charge Only” mode.
    5. Navigate to upzipped folder and execute run.bat
    6. Follow the instructions in the command window.
    7. Your phone will complete 3 steps, rebooting along the way. When it finishes, you will be rooted.
    (you may have to set your phone to charge only again after it reboots, I can't remember)


    FOURTH download the ROM you want
    I like this ROM if you're trying to get an ICS build for the bionic
    Axi0m | cm9 | 4.0.3 | 2/18/2012 via DroidTh3ory [​IMG]
    here is the download link AXI0M IONIC ALPHA
    If you choose this ROM, also download this apk http://db.tt/Xa50f7qY
    place both files on your external SD card
    DO NOT UNZIP anything


    FIFTH install safestrap
    (this allows you to have your STOCK ROM and install any other ROM you like in a "safe" mode so you can switch back and forth)
    instructions here
    [HOW-TO] Install Safestrap and Create a Backup via guidot [​IMG]
    make sure you read and understand these instructions


    SIXTH install ROM
    instructions here
    [HOW-TO] Use Safestrap (backup and flash) (WIP) via guidot [​IMG]
    For the Axi0m ROM:
    YOU MUST BE ON THE .902 UPDATE TO RUN THIS OR YOU WILL BRICK
    NOTE: For Data go to Settings/Wireless & Networks/More/Mobile Networks/Network Mode/ Select GSM only wait till the screen flashes twice (or it says 4G SIM detected would you like to switch to LTE/CDMA) then switch to LTE/CDMA. Data will come up.

    Personal tips: (related to Axi0m ROM)

    Once the ROM has started
    Its going to ask you to try and sign into your google account
    This won't work because you're not receiving data.
    You can either connect to a WiFi network OR cancel and sign into your google account later

    To get Data working
    go to Settings/Wireless & Networks/More/Mobile Networks/Network Mode/ Select GSM only wait till the screen flashes twice (or it says 4G SIM detected would you like to switch to LTE/CDMA) then switch to LTE/CDMA. Data will come up.
    You will have to do this everytime you boot up.

    When you initially boot the rom, a loud boot noise will play
    To stop this
    "go into system/media and delete the audio file, that's the boot sound. It's the folder with bootanimation.zip in it."
    -via DroidmanDan


    I use Titanium backup, but if you choose to restore apps, make sure you proceed with caution.
    I initially restored apps and data and went thru the list carefully to make sure I wasn't going to mess with the build.
    However, I ended up deleting all the ringers and notification sounds (this build has the ICS ones and they're nice) and caused some other errors.
    When I flashed the ROM a second time, and manually installed and configured everything, its all perfect, No issues.

    When you rearrange apps, if you place on over another, it will automatically create a folder, similar to how iDevices do.


    There you go!
    Good luck!
    -battle
     
    Last edited: Feb 23, 2012
  14. marausch50

    marausch50 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Any response? Mine worked great but just wondering if for any reason I should want to unroot, how do I do it?
     
  15. mr_bungle

    mr_bungle New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2011
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    new york
    Ratings:
    +0
    so has rooting the bionic help with the connection issues ?and do you have to root to use 901 or 902 ?
     
Search tags for this page
43v3root droid bionic
,
902 root
,
adb is not recognized as a command root
,
casio commando cm7
,
d 902 root
,
hack codes for terminal
,
link failed file exists
,
motofail link failed file exists
,
motofail windowws 64
,

root droid bionic 5.9.902