.902 and Root

Discussion in 'Droid Bionic Hacks' started by Stretch44, Feb 9, 2012.

  1. Stretch44

    Stretch44 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Is there a method for rooting .902? I received the the .902 update and it seems I didn't keep root. Super User grants root access to Bionic bootstrap and titanium backup. However, when I open Titanium it tells me I don't have root access. I didn't do forever root be updating. Thanks in advance
     
  2. Vepaot

    Vepaot Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2012
    Messages:
    335
    Likes Received:
    45
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    KCMO
    Ratings:
    +46
    Current Phone Model:
    LG G2 (VS980)
    You'll need to revert back to .893 using P3's One Click, which you can find in my signature.

    After that, download and use ROTA893 to forever root while you're on the .893 update.

    Then install .902.
     
  3. brent.murray

    brent.murray Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2010
    Messages:
    117
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    North Central Florida
    Ratings:
    +0
    Is that the only way? I just got .902 via sideload. :-(
     
  4. brent.murray

    brent.murray Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2010
    Messages:
    117
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    North Central Florida
    Ratings:
    +0

    Could you give me some basic instuctions for using P3's one click? Thank you in advance. :)
     
  5. eye_dea

    eye_dea Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2012
    Messages:
    639
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    Ratings:
    +9
    Has anyone reverted back to 893 from 902 using p3droid's pathsaver 1click?

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using DroidForums
     
  6. Stretch44

    Stretch44 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks, I'll give it a shot
     
  7. eap369

    eap369 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    southern cali
    Ratings:
    +0
    trying to get to 8

    help please im currently on an old .886 4 ever rooted but stock. i get the update to .893 but everytime i download and update it, my phone says system update failed! i cant seem to get out of 886 can someone help me?
     
  8. Joeteck

    Joeteck Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Messages:
    139
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Long Island
    Ratings:
    +0
    Has anyone tried updating with frozen apps?
     
  9. TerrorTodd

    TerrorTodd New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Haven't tried it but everywhere I've seen updating with frozen apps will not work. You can try it no harm should come except it won't update.
     
  10. Joeteck

    Joeteck Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Messages:
    139
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Long Island
    Ratings:
    +0
    Actually, I just did it with frozen apps, and it updated just fine... currently at 5.2.234.. just kidding... 5.9.902...LOL, and I'm still rooted.. :icon_ banana:dancedroid
     
  11. TerrorTodd

    TerrorTodd New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Wow....that's surprising and super cool! Way to go!!
     
  12. Badger1313

    Badger1313 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Still Rooted?

    I thought I was still rooted because I still had Super User and other root only programs. Then i tried to use one... lost root. ave you actually checked root?
     
  13. lgalcarte

    lgalcarte Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +3
    Spent all day trying to upgrade from 5.7.893 to 5.9.902 and maintain root. No deal. I've tried everything. One click, psouza, Pete's motorola root tools, ROTA 893, tehroot v1.1, windows one click fastboot, etc. Nothing works. The phone is not recognized at all. I've followed all of the direction on three different websites about going back to 893, rooting, and then going back to 901, 3etc.

    Nothing.

    I'm stuck at stock 902 so now I can't restore ANY of my data. I can't even restore a backup since I can't get root. And I CAN'T STAND the ads!! I've had ad-free since my OG.

    This sux.
     
  14. Tegamal

    Tegamal Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Messages:
    380
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Indiana, PA
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ok, I got one for you guys.

    While trying to update from 893 to 902 when I got the OTA this morning, it screwed my phone up royally. The only way I could get it to boot was using an old backup of Th3ory's Rom. Not one of my other backups would even successfully restore. So, I do that & try to do a factory restore from the settings menu, but it kept reflashing Th3ory.

    After MANY failed attempts & getting the "Flash Failure" message in recovery, I finally got it back to factory & unrooted with One-Click. 886, I believe it was. I wasn't thinking & updated via OTA to 902, successfully. Well, as you can guess, I was so brain fried from everything, that I forgot to apply 43v3R Root.

    No biggie, I figure, I'll just reflash 886 with One-Click & root from there. NOPE. Every time I reboot my phone, I get the Flash Failure message & have to do the Normal Powerup option in Boot Recovery just to get back into my phone. Every time I try this, it does successfully wipe the phone, but I'm still on 902. I've read online that I need to flash something, anything, successfully to fix it, but I don't know what/how to flash anything without Clockwork & without being rooted in the first place.

    Can anyone tell me what I'm doing wrong? How do I fix the Flash Failure error from jamming up the works?

    Any help would be GREATLY appreciated! I've been messing with this thing since 9:30am EST!
     
  15. aqworldthunder

    aqworldthunder Darth Droid

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2012
    Messages:
    381
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    Get OTA RootKeeper.

    -AqworldThunder ;) ^…^ ¶.¶ *.* Thank me if i helped please!
     
Search tags for this page
bionic one click forever root
,

infopreflash validation failure