Z4 root question

METAL MUZZLE

Member
Joined
Dec 22, 2010
Messages
163
Reaction score
0
Location
Georgia
Im a Droid X user but my wife wants her Fascinate rooted ... will Z4 root her phone ?

Come to the DarkSlide !
 

furbearingmammal

Super Moderator
Joined
Jun 16, 2010
Messages
11,081
Reaction score
365
Location
Anywhere you're not
Website
swdouglas.blogspot.com
Current Phone Model
32GB Moto X Developers Edition
Twitter
furryvarmint
Compatible with [SIZE=+2]PERMANENT[/SIZE] root option

Samsung Galaxy S (All variants)

That's right from the XDA thread. If that fails, use the procedure in my signature. Make sure USB Debugging is turned on.
 

CxanDroid

Member
Joined
Jun 12, 2010
Messages
58
Reaction score
0
z4 will root your fascinate. It didn't work at first on mine, I then remembered reading something about rebooting. rebooted, ran it again, in a few seconds I had root.
 

brisk21

New Member
Joined
Oct 19, 2010
Messages
28
Reaction score
0
Location
Michigan
If I uninstall z4 root will it unroot my droid x? Not that I want to. Just in case I need my phone fixed or something it would be good to know. Also when I open the z4 app it has an icon that says root as if its not rooted. But it is I have superuser app and wifi tether. Shouldn't the icon say unroot?

Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums App
 

CxUNG

Member
Joined
Nov 20, 2010
Messages
116
Reaction score
0
You click the Unroot-buttom then SuperUser icon should go away. If they dont your still rooted.

Sent from DROiDx using DROiDforumsAPP
 

Milton515

Member
Joined
Mar 31, 2010
Messages
354
Reaction score
0
Once you open the app, it will have two buttons one should say re-root and the other should say unroot
a6fe9e4b-9ec3-d322.jpg


Edit: Added scrrenshot of app on my rooted D1

Sent from D1 running UD1.0.0 with stock Launcher Pro Plus
 

brisk21

New Member
Joined
Oct 19, 2010
Messages
28
Reaction score
0
Location
Michigan
It only has the root button. No unroot. That's what concerns me. It is rooted. I tested the wifi with my ps3. Maybe do I have an older version of z4?

Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums App
 

Milton515

Member
Joined
Mar 31, 2010
Messages
354
Reaction score
0
It only has the root button. No unroot. That's what concerns me. It is rooted. I tested the wifi with my ps3. Maybe do I have an older version of z4?

Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums App

When you first opened the app did it ask for superuser authorization?

Sent from D1 running UD1.0.0 with stock Launcher Pro Plus
 

brisk21

New Member
Joined
Oct 19, 2010
Messages
28
Reaction score
0
Location
Michigan
I believe so. Im not sure though. I took a screenshot of the z4 app page but the phone wont let me post it. I used shootme app which only works of the phone is rooted so I know it is.

Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums App
 

Milton515

Member
Joined
Mar 31, 2010
Messages
354
Reaction score
0
I believe so. Im not sure though. I took a screenshot of the z4 app page but the phone wont let me post it. I used shootme app which only works of the phone is rooted so I know it is.

Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums App

Go into your superuser and see if it is on the allowed list, if not go and allow it..... Sometimes with shootme you have to change the picture format, I use Picsay (there is a free version in the market) to change mine, all you have to do is pick thbe picture from the app and hit menu and export to sdcard and it will save it as a .jpeg and then you can upload it on here

Sent from D1 running UD1.0.0 with stock Launcher Pro Plus
 

brisk21

New Member
Joined
Oct 19, 2010
Messages
28
Reaction score
0
Location
Michigan
1838f1bc-ba4e-560d.jpg


Here it is. I swear the phone is rooted. I used my browser with my droid to find the file. I downloaded it and installed it. Rebooted it and it is rooted but this screen remains when I open the z4 app.

Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums App
 

brisk21

New Member
Joined
Oct 19, 2010
Messages
28
Reaction score
0
Location
Michigan
Even when I use an app that requires root like ad free it says "super user permission granted" when I open the app.

Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums App
 

Milton515

Member
Joined
Mar 31, 2010
Messages
354
Reaction score
0
Even when I use an app that requires root like ad free it says "super user permission granted" when I open the app.

Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums App

I don't know, that's weird... Try uninstalling it and go to *********** and search Z4root.apk and get the 1.30 version and install it... Open the app and allow the superuser and see if that works... Let me know if not

Sent from D1 running UD1.0.0 with stock Launcher Pro Plus
 

brisk21

New Member
Joined
Oct 19, 2010
Messages
28
Reaction score
0
Location
Michigan
I don't know. It works fine right now. I think that for some reason the rooted screen on z4 didn't kick in even though its rooted. Ill definitely do that if I have any more problems.

Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums App
 

Milton515

Member
Joined
Mar 31, 2010
Messages
354
Reaction score
0
I don't know. It works fine right now. I think that for some reason the rooted screen on z4 didn't kick in even though its rooted. Ill definitely do that if I have any more problems.

Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums App

Yea, I had that problem the first time I installed it... I had to manually add it to the list myself...Glad you got it, anything else just ask I will try and help

Sent from D1 running UD1.0.0 with stock Launcher Pro Plus
 
Top