Stuck

Amazonfemme

Reaction score
Current Phone Model
VS985
I'm a relative newbie, and after a few months of research and a ton of reading, tonight I decided to jump in and root my X. First, I did the z4root install as described here. Then, using Maderschramm's guide, I downloaded and installed Koush's Bootstrapper and successfully did my first backup. Up to this point, everything was shiny. But after deleting a widget and trying to do a backup restore (again, following Maderschramm's directions to the letter!), it looked like the restore was running fine but then it got stuck on this screen:

ClockworkMod Recovery v2.5.0.6
Checking MD5 sums...
Restoring system...
Restoring data...
cache

Nothing's happening -- the bar at the bottom shows no progress. I've been on this screen for an hour. Anyone know how long it should take? And if I've hit a wall, what do I do now?

Thanks in advance.

chkmate

Silver Member
Reaction score
It should have definitely finished by now.

First off, why did you try and run a restore just to get your widget back?

I don't see any other option but a battery pull at this point. Not sure if that is the best move but you don't want your battery to die either.

//Tap'd on CM8's DX w/DF app\\

OP
Amazonfemme

Amazonfemme

Reaction score
Current Phone Model
VS985

I don't see any other option but a battery pull at this point. Not sure if that is the best move but you don't want your battery to die either.

It was a test, per Maderschramm's recommendation, to see how the backup recovery works. Which, I guess, it didn't.

I've done a battery pull, rebooted, but now everything's like the phone is fresh out of the box. I'm a little freaked out.

chkmate

Silver Member
Reaction score

It was a test, per Maderschramm's recommendation, to see how the backup recovery works. Which, I guess, it didn't.

I've done a battery pull, rebooted, but now everything's like the phone is fresh out of the box. I'm a little freaked out.