Secure sites not available with tethering via hotspot and USB

Luvmyphone

New Member
Joined
Nov 13, 2011
Messages
15
Reaction score
0
I experience the same problem connecting to my iPad. Does anyone know how to get it to work for secure sites?
 

bodieism

New Member
Joined
Nov 14, 2011
Messages
8
Reaction score
0
Location
Thomasville, NC
The problem is the MTU setting for the computer. By default, the MTU setting is 1500 and must be changed to 1428.

For Windows PC:

XP > Go to Start Menu, open Run, type in CMD and press Enter or click OK.

Vista/7 > go to the start menu, type in cmd, find cmd.exe, right-click on cmd.exe and then click Run as Administrator

For both systems, type in the following commands

Code:
[B]netsh
interface ipv4
show interface[/B]
You should get something that looks like this:

Code:
Idx     Met         MTU          State                Name
---  ----------  ----------  ------------  ---------------------------
  1          50        1500  connected     Loopback Pseudo-Interface 1
  9           5        1500  connected     Wireless Network Connection

 29          10        1500  connected     Local Area Connection 
 38          10        1500  connected     Local Area Connection 2

If you are USB Tethering, then the interface we want to change would most likely be "Local Area Connection 2" (since your ethernet would most likely be "Local Area Connection" because it was installed before the Droid USB Tether adapter). To change its MTU setting, type in:

Code:
[B]set interface "Local Area Connection 2" mtu=1428[/B]

If you are connecting via wifi hotspot, then type in:

Code:
[B]set interface "Wireless Network Connection" mtu=1428[/B]

You should be able to surf freely now.

For Mac users:


1. Go to System Preferences

2. Click Network

3. On the left side of the Network pane, click on the interface which you are using to tether to the phone (if its wireless tether, click on AirPort. If USB, click on the Ethernet that has the phone icon).

4. Click the Advanced button on the right side of the pane.

5. Click Ethernet tab.

6. Click on Automatically and change it to Manually.

7. Click Standard and change it to Custom

8. Below Custom, enter in 1428 for the MTU

9. OK out of everything. If asked to apply settings, then apply them.

Welp, thats it. You're welcome, internet.

Nice! Thanks for the step by step.

I wonder if it's possible to change the MTU on the RAZR itself? I thought I remembered seeing someone who had found a way to change the MTU on the original Motorola Droid using Terminal Emulator.
 

SallyC

Senior Member
Joined
Dec 1, 2011
Messages
1,243
Reaction score
102
Location
Michigan
I'm wondering if anyone who's done this and isn't rooted can say if this has caused problems with their pc (I'm Win 7 64 bit) connection to other wifi networks? Great if it allows me to use my Razr hotspot but not if I have to switch back when I connect to my home network.
Thanks for any information.
 

billsky

New Member
Joined
May 1, 2010
Messages
1
Reaction score
0
I got my Razr 3 days ago and have been on with Tech Support for several hours trying to figure out why some websites connect and others don't. The last Tech Support rep finally came across a note that says some websites "overpower" the Razr hotspot and a fix is due out "mid-February". So I am continuuing with my MiFi-2200 until I see the fix. Hopes this helps.
 

kalel51

New Member
Joined
Jan 9, 2012
Messages
2
Reaction score
0
OMG Thanks!

The problem is the MTU setting for the computer. By default, the MTU setting is 1500 and must be changed to 1428.

For Windows PC:

XP > Go to Start Menu, open Run, type in CMD and press Enter or click OK.

Vista/7 > go to the start menu, type in cmd, find cmd.exe, right-click on cmd.exe and then click Run as Administrator

For both systems, type in the following commands

Code:
[B]netsh
interface ipv4
show interface[/B]
You should get something that looks like this:

Code:
Idx     Met         MTU          State                Name
---  ----------  ----------  ------------  ---------------------------
  1          50        1500  connected     Loopback Pseudo-Interface 1
  9           5        1500  connected     Wireless Network Connection

 29          10        1500  connected     Local Area Connection 
 38          10        1500  connected     Local Area Connection 2

If you are USB Tethering, then the interface we want to change would most likely be "Local Area Connection 2" (since your ethernet would most likely be "Local Area Connection" because it was installed before the Droid USB Tether adapter). To change its MTU setting, type in:

Code:
[B]set interface "Local Area Connection 2" mtu=1428[/B]

If you are connecting via wifi hotspot, then type in:

Code:
[B]set interface "Wireless Network Connection" mtu=1428[/B]

You should be able to surf freely now.

For Mac users:


1. Go to System Preferences

2. Click Network

3. On the left side of the Network pane, click on the interface which you are using to tether to the phone (if its wireless tether, click on AirPort. If USB, click on the Ethernet that has the phone icon).

4. Click the Advanced button on the right side of the pane.

5. Click Ethernet tab.

6. Click on Automatically and change it to Manually.

7. Click Standard and change it to Custom

8. Below Custom, enter in 1428 for the MTU

9. OK out of everything. If asked to apply settings, then apply them.

Welp, thats it. You're welcome, internet.

Just wanted to say thanks. I was frustrated b/c I turned in my T-bolt and Rezound (both HTC) b/c of hotspot issues. this worked great, and I am happy once again.
 

millert30523

New Member
Joined
Jan 30, 2012
Messages
1
Reaction score
0
You're a genius upgraydd

I've searched everywhere for a fix to this issue and the only one that worked was yours. Thank you soooo much!!!:icon_ banana:
 

FoxKat

Premium Member
Premium Member
Joined
Apr 2, 2010
Messages
14,651
Reaction score
4,703
Location
Pennsylvania
Current Phone Model
Droid Turbo 2 & Galaxy S7
I've searched everywhere for a fix to this issue and the only one that worked was yours. Thank you soooo much!!!:icon_ banana:

Looks like upgraydd is quite the hero! Way to go!

Sent from my DROID RAZR using DroidForums
 

christophr03

Member
Joined
Mar 10, 2010
Messages
31
Reaction score
0
maybe a fix?

I had a bionic and was able to use everything on ps3 and internet. I downloaded the Google android wifi tether I looked through the options. I found the setting "change device profile " and set it to the moto bionic. Everything appears to be working great again. This app is for root I believe though. Let me know if this fixes your problems with certain sites not working.

android-wifi-tether - Wireless Tether for Root Users - Google Project Hosting
 

tabby.caat

New Member
Joined
Jun 1, 2012
Messages
1
Reaction score
0
I think Verizon may have broken something, as this problem just cropped up for me today (trying to reach https://maps.google.com among other https sites) and making this MTU change in my Mac's settings didn't fix it. I'm using pdanet, connecting to it via the USB cable.
 
Top