New droid user looking for knowledge!

Ryank10909

Reaction score
Hey how are you im new to the whole droid world and new to this site, I currently have a rooted device, i had some one else put froyo on my device, so its rooted, i think. i want to look into putting custom ROMs on it, BUt i dont know exactly what they do, or how much better my device can run. or custom programs or phone applications. I'm hearing so much talk about all this and im a fast learner and cant seem to figure out how to install a rom. i feel like an idiot, ive never messed with phones and computers like this BUT i am computer smart. i just need a guide to get started, and then ill be ok. im totally obssed with my phone and want to make it as good as everyone else's. sooo please give me a hand here!
Thanks
:icon_ banana:Ryandancedroid

YankInDaSouth

Theme Developer
Theme Developer
Reaction score
Website
www.wix.com
i had some one else put froyo on my device, so its rooted, i think. i want to look into putting

OK - first thing first, we need to know if you are indeed rooted. To do this look at you applications and see if there is a "superuser app" (black ninja icon). If you see that it means you're rooted. If you don't we'll have to get you rooted :biggrin:

OP
Ryank10909

Ryank10909

Reaction score
I indeed do have the superuser app on there, so now that i know the device is rooted, what are my possibilities? like i said before i am obsessed with my phone and this is the most amazing thing that i have ever played on!

YankInDaSouth

Theme Developer
Theme Developer
Reaction score
Website
www.wix.com
Excellent! Now the addiction begins :)
OK - for starters, have you found a ROM that you'd like to try? Also, do have ROM Manager (an app that makes flashing ROMS easier) or SPRecovery (this would have been flashed onto the phone using RSD lite)?

OP
Ryank10909

Ryank10909

Reaction score