My Droid Turbo is Broken and I just want my Photos!

FoxKat

Premium Member
Premium Member
Reaction score
Current Phone Model
Droid Turbo 2 & Galaxy S7
Hey Fox what is "Desilvered chip" ? I've been working in the electronics industry for 28 years (working with PCB) and this is the first time I've heard the term. When I google it nothing comes up . Did Tapatalk and your phone auto correct some word. Are you talking about solder fractures to the BGA's ?
Desilvered / Desoldered. It's an autocorrect thing. Sorry, I'll edit. Still, ironically it's actually a more accurate description since Silver is the main component in solder now that Lead is eliminated as a poisonous heavy metal.

And yes, solder fractures either to the Ball Grid Array connections (if the chips in these phones use that type of mounting), or to other more typical surface mount chips or other interconnection components. But yes either way I'm talking about solder fractures, and also trace fractures, either or which could be intermittent and with heat and expansion could break electrical connection causing the rebooting.

Sent from my Droid Turbo on Tapatalk.

Last edited:

94lt1

Super Moderator
Staff member
Premium Member
Reaction score
Current Phone Model
Droid Turbo 2
I hate lead free solder... It's a pain to work with compared to leaded solder..

FoxKat

Premium Member
Premium Member
Reaction score
Current Phone Model
I hate lead free solder... It's a pain to work with compared to leaded solder..
True. It just doesn't flow anywhere near as nicely, flux doesn't seem to help much either, it's more about heat. It is definitely harder to break, so that's a good thing for surface mount components.

OP
B

belial

Reaction score
Okay so the guy who posted about the samsung screen cracked: Screen cracked need to recover very important data

This guy's phone says on. My pictures are there, they will even load a few up, the problem isn't corrupt media, it's that the phone just keeps booting over and over.