On the droid x it has a feature that saves facebook msg, txt msg and call log info... no matter if u delete them from the normal menus it still saves them under contact history... its sucks and u can't delete them.
hartman, I think the op is referring to the history in the contacts. In Droid X (also in Droid 2), if you pull up a contact, you can slide the screen to each side...one for social messaging history and the other for text history. Those stay on your phone even after you delete the messages themselves.
You can delete the history with the 2.2 build, so for those are who not installing the leaked one when the official gets here you will be able to do so. When you are on that history page just hit menu button and clear history. Very nice fix they did, sucked having that stuff stay on there.