Droid X has been rooted

jntdroid

Super Moderator
Premium Member
Joined
Nov 18, 2009
Messages
6,436
Reaction score
312
Location
TX
maybe a mod could change the title of that "stop asking" post, since every single time it's posted, the disclaimer has to be added?

though i'm guessing if that could've been done it would've been already, so maybe there's a timeframe on changing posts or something and my comment here is completely worthless :)
 

kwiksilvr

Member
Joined
Apr 19, 2010
Messages
68
Reaction score
0
I got the the phone installed and setup in the device manager under pc mode...

I am at step 5 and dont understand how to Run "adb devices" in the command prompt... I do this and it tells me that the adb is not recognized as an internal or external command

what do I do from here...

i am not a computer novice, but they should write these instructions a litlte more clearly...
 

Legacy23

Member
Joined
Dec 1, 2009
Messages
41
Reaction score
0
Location
Jerz
^^^ Yessur!

ok is there a step by step guide on how to root my X.will a ps3 hook up to the phone. yes I'm new but I want the hotspot. I got someone to do my omnia I had and loved it.

I've never tried to hook up my ps3 but i don't see why it wouldn't work....it would use a ****load of data tho and you may get caught by vzw so be careful with that.
 

mcsinfl

Member
Joined
Mar 9, 2010
Messages
371
Reaction score
0
I got the the phone installed and setup in the device manager under pc mode...

I am at step 5 and dont understand how to Run "adb devices" in the command prompt... I do this and it tells me that the adb is not recognized as an internal or external command

what do I do from here...

i am not a computer novice, but they should write these instructions a litlte more clearly...

this may help:
http://www.droidforums.net/forum/hacking-help/30464-how-adb-why-i-love-adb-commands-3-a.html
 

Legacy23

Member
Joined
Dec 1, 2009
Messages
41
Reaction score
0
Location
Jerz
I got the the phone installed and setup in the device manager under pc mode...

I am at step 5 and dont understand how to Run "adb devices" in the command prompt... I do this and it tells me that the adb is not recognized as an internal or external command

what do I do from here...

i am not a computer novice, but they should write these instructions a litlte more clearly...

Where'd you put the SDK folder?
 

motorhaith

Member
Joined
Nov 21, 2009
Messages
54
Reaction score
0
Location
Augusta, GA
ok, so i got my droid x rooted, but im trying delete some stuff off the phone, for example 3g mobile hotspot, blockbuster, amazon, city id. can anyone help me with the commands? im using adb shell off of a pc...

PS. Never mind, looked at some of the posts above me and ive found the answer! thanks!

How would I get rid of the 3g mobile hotspot?
 
Last edited:

kwiksilvr

Member
Joined
Apr 19, 2010
Messages
68
Reaction score
0
I got the the phone installed and setup in the device manager under pc mode...

I am at step 5 and dont understand how to Run "adb devices" in the command prompt... I do this and it tells me that the adb is not recognized as an internal or external command

what do I do from here...

i am not a computer novice, but they should write these instructions a litlte more clearly...

Where'd you put the SDK folder?


The only folder I have is the droidxroot_v2 folder... it does not say anything about the sdk folder in the instructions... and its in the C:\droidxroot_v2
 

Preach2k

Super Moderator
Premium Member
Joined
Jun 30, 2010
Messages
4,057
Reaction score
2,272
Location
Hometown Brooklyn, NY Now Fuquay Varina, NC
Current Phone Model
Google Pixel XL/Galaxy Note 8
Twitter
DroidNCState
Video of The Rooted Droid X [video=youtube;4kEG8dw530c]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4kEG8dw530c]YouTube - Video proof that the Droid X was rooted by Birdman (AllDroid.org)[/video]
 

montyboy

Member
Joined
Jun 30, 2010
Messages
56
Reaction score
0
Location
/home/ohio
I got the the phone installed and setup in the device manager under pc mode...

I am at step 5 and dont understand how to Run "adb devices" in the command prompt... I do this and it tells me that the adb is not recognized as an internal or external command

what do I do from here...

i am not a computer novice, but they should write these instructions a litlte more clearly...

And neither is your problem. What operating system? Do you have the SDK installed? Is the SDK in your PATH?

Answering those will help to answer your initial question.
 

kwiksilvr

Member
Joined
Apr 19, 2010
Messages
68
Reaction score
0
I got the the phone installed and setup in the device manager under pc mode...

I am at step 5 and dont understand how to Run "adb devices" in the command prompt... I do this and it tells me that the adb is not recognized as an internal or external command

what do I do from here...

i am not a computer novice, but they should write these instructions a litlte more clearly...

And neither is your problem. What operating system? Do you have the SDK installed? Is the SDK in your PATH?

Answering those will help to answer your initial question.


Windows 7 64
yes I have SDK installed and its in the path..

I got this part to work, but when I try to push the superuse apk to the sdcard, i get an acccess denied issue..

does this have to be in pc mode or can you do it in usb mass starage mode too?

When in pc mode I get no devices listed, in mass storage mode I get the device listed...
 

montyboy

Member
Joined
Jun 30, 2010
Messages
56
Reaction score
0
Location
/home/ohio
I got the the phone installed and setup in the device manager under pc mode...

I am at step 5 and dont understand how to Run "adb devices" in the command prompt... I do this and it tells me that the adb is not recognized as an internal or external command

what do I do from here...

i am not a computer novice, but they should write these instructions a litlte more clearly...

And neither is your problem. What operating system? Do you have the SDK installed? Is the SDK in your PATH?

Answering those will help to answer your initial question.


Windows 7 64
yes I have SDK installed and its in the path..

I got this part to work, but when I try to push the superuse apk to the sdcard, i get an acccess denied issue..

does this have to be in pc mode or can you do it in usb mass starage mode too?

When in pc mode I get no devices listed, in mass storage mode I get the device listed...

Do you have "USB Debugging" on the device enabled?
 

kwiksilvr

Member
Joined
Apr 19, 2010
Messages
68
Reaction score
0
And neither is your problem. What operating system? Do you have the SDK installed? Is the SDK in your PATH?

Answering those will help to answer your initial question.


Windows 7 64
yes I have SDK installed and its in the path..

I got this part to work, but when I try to push the superuse apk to the sdcard, i get an acccess denied issue..

does this have to be in pc mode or can you do it in usb mass starage mode too?

When in pc mode I get no devices listed, in mass storage mode I get the device listed...

Do you have "USB Debugging" on the device enabled?

Yes I do...
 
Top