Android and corporate email

mapexvenus

Reaction score
I have been using the Droid to access corporate email for a couple of months now. This morning, me and several other Android users got an email from our security dept informing us that they were evaluating whether Android-based devices should be allowed to connect to our corporate Exchange Server because it lacks specific security features and isn't a secure device.

Any other Android users facing similar challenges?

takeshi

Silver Member
Reaction score
My understanding is that Android does not support Exchange security policies which seems to be what the OP is referring to. Are you claiming that Touchdown does provide this support?

OP
M

mapexvenus

Reaction score
Touchdown is a great solution, true, but the device needs to be able to have a corporate-enforced policy that locks it down. It shouldn't be left up to the user. Our corporate security policy can lock down iPhones and Blackberries, not just the email app. The devices can be remote wiped if required. If my (Android) phone gets stolen then whoever steals it has access to my email, and login credentials if they look in the right places.

mjs31

Reaction score
So one of the mobile defense type apps would not work? I know wave secure can wipe a phone and mobile defense will have that soon.
Touchdown has several options including remote-wipe, and pin access requirements. I am sure you are aware of this already, but if you need more than these options, you should go blackberry.

Backnblack

Premium Member
Premium Member
Reaction score
Current Phone Model
iPhone 7+ 256gb
Touchdown and Wave Secure calmed down the IT Goon at corporate for me.

FSTTYMS

Reaction score