4G Phones With Sim Cards

cjreyes666

Member
Joined
Nov 23, 2010
Messages
49
Reaction score
1
Around a month ago i read that there were 4G sim cards but after checking the specs for the current 4G modems it seems that none use or are capable of using sim cards so my question is would any of the 4 future 4G phones are going to have sim cards pre-installed and going to be world capable?
 

Droid DOES!!

What iDoesn't
Premium Member
Theme Developer
Joined
Jun 12, 2010
Messages
6,365
Reaction score
35
The LTE USB modems do have SIM cards. Yes, the phones will be global :)

DroidForums Junkie!!
 
OP
C

cjreyes666

Member
Joined
Nov 23, 2010
Messages
49
Reaction score
1
But what im asking is any of the 4 phones announced are going to have a sim card?
 

Droid DOES!!

What iDoesn't
Premium Member
Theme Developer
Joined
Jun 12, 2010
Messages
6,365
Reaction score
35
If they're 4G, they have a slot for the 4G LTE SIM card slot.

DroidForums Junkie!!
 

takeshi

Silver Member
Joined
Nov 29, 2009
Messages
4,572
Reaction score
0
Just out of curiosity, why are you worried about whether or not they'll have SIM cards? Are you intending to do something with the SIM cards?
 
OP
C

cjreyes666

Member
Joined
Nov 23, 2010
Messages
49
Reaction score
1
I travel alot to Mexico so right now im eligible for upgrade and i was thinking to upgrade to the DROID 2 Globlal but if the DROID Bionic or any other 4G phone has a sim card and its global capable ill rather jump to the next gen of phones.
 

kodiak799

Gold Member
Joined
Feb 20, 2010
Messages
6,146
Reaction score
827
I travel alot to Mexico so right now im eligible for upgrade and i was thinking to upgrade to the DROID 2 Globlal but if the DROID Bionic or any other 4G phone has a sim card and its global capable ill rather jump to the next gen of phones.

But LTE isn't everywhere and it will default to 3G CDMA in those cases. So the "global" LTE phones aren't truly global.
 

Backnblack

Premium Member
Premium Member
Joined
Nov 18, 2009
Messages
11,104
Reaction score
28
Current Phone Model
iPhone 7+ 256gb
I travel alot to Mexico so right now im eligible for upgrade and i was thinking to upgrade to the DROID 2 Globlal but if the DROID Bionic or any other 4G phone has a sim card and its global capable ill rather jump to the next gen of phones.

But LTE isn't everywhere and it will default to 3G CDMA in those cases. So the "global" LTE phones aren't truly global.

He does not care about that....Just if he can use a sim in Mexico, Which is Yes.

They are global, just not LTE. Which has little to do if they are global devices or not.
 

Bloodkip

New Member
Joined
Jan 12, 2011
Messages
9
Reaction score
0
4G phones do have sims. But the question is, will the sim be deep inside of the phone, which will require to take the phone apart. Verizon doesn't like it when you use their phone on different networks.
 

kodiak799

Gold Member
Joined
Feb 20, 2010
Messages
6,146
Reaction score
827
4G phones do have sims. But the question is, will the sim be deep inside of the phone, which will require to take the phone apart. Verizon doesn't like it when you use their phone on different networks.

I don't really understand the whole sim thing, but how do you know you can pop in a 3G sim and have it work? It seems to me it's only go to work in global markets with LTE.
 

Backnblack

Premium Member
Premium Member
Joined
Nov 18, 2009
Messages
11,104
Reaction score
28
Current Phone Model
iPhone 7+ 256gb
4G phones do have sims. But the question is, will the sim be deep inside of the phone, which will require to take the phone apart. Verizon doesn't like it when you use their phone on different networks.

I don't really understand the whole sim thing, but how do you know you can pop in a 3G sim and have it work? It seems to me it's only go to work in global markets with LTE.

The devices have to be backward compatible, The 3g devices still work on 1X and EVDO.
 
OP
C

cjreyes666

Member
Joined
Nov 23, 2010
Messages
49
Reaction score
1
Im not really interested in popping a 3G sim card while im in mexico i only wanted to know if the phone would be able to make and receive calls and use data while being in mexico since right know i use the OG DROID and is horrible ill probably be a mile away from the border and i cant make calls nor surf the web. So if one of the 4G phones has a sim card i could easily switch form cdma to global and have no problems and still use 4G in the states.
 

creaky

Active Member
Joined
Dec 10, 2009
Messages
589
Reaction score
26
Location
NY
I just wrote to Motorola about this and this was their response:

Regarding your concern, the Motorola Bionic is designed to work inside the US. It can only work internationally if data roaming is activated by Verizon Wireless.

This is a major bummer for me as I really was counting on a global phone.

I assume that the idea of making the Bionic global is to swap out the LTE SIM card for a 3G SIM that operates on global GSM frequencies. Am I missing something?
 

STVA

Member
Joined
Jan 18, 2010
Messages
57
Reaction score
0
Location
Norfolk, VA
Yes, you are missing something. Right now, LTE is data only and is basically US only. GSM is voice and data and is used around the world. They both use SIM cards, but they are completely different. Only Verizon "World" phones have a GSM radio, regardless of whether they have LTE.
 

Mr.VZW

New Member
Joined
Mar 31, 2011
Messages
8
Reaction score
0
and something else no one has said in here is any vzw phone will work in mexico, as mexico has cdma. as does canada. so no matter what phone you get it will work in mexico, no matter 4g, 3g, or global. the only time you really have to worry about the global part is if your going to europe, or africa.
 
Top