WIFI & CDMA Forced

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid X' started by chs200123, Dec 10, 2010.

  1. chs200123
    Offline

    chs200123 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    If my droid is connected to WIFI, will it automatically stop using CDMA so that I don't unnecessarily use up my 5GB limit? Or does toggling between them somehow have to be forced?
     
  2. Droid Firefighter
    Offline

    Droid Firefighter Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,619
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    Indiana (and that is close enough for the internet
    Ratings:
    +13
    Current Phone Model:
    S4
    Wifi doesn't count toward your limit. You are better of using it when you can. Plus, its about 10 times faster. I got download speeds of around 550 on 3G and was running almost 6000 on Wifi. I was in my living room close to my router with a cable modem.

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
     
  3. chs200123
    Offline

    chs200123 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I think you may have misunderstood my question. I know Wifi is faster and does not count towards CDMAS limit. That is why I'm trying to find out if I need to force droid to use WIFI over CDMA, or droid does it automatically when connected to a WIFI network.
     
  4. chs200123
    Offline

    chs200123 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Anyone?

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums App
     
  5. ekf028
    Offline

    ekf028 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2010
    Messages:
    274
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Somewhere in Oklahoma
    Ratings:
    +1
    You have to turn it on and off yourself. I have a widget on my home screen that does this.


    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums App
     
  6. ekf028
    Offline

    ekf028 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2010
    Messages:
    274
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Somewhere in Oklahoma
    Ratings:
    +1
    Furthermore, when wifi is on, the 3g radio is automatically turned off.

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums App
     
  7. UNC
    Offline

    UNC Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,358
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Fayettenam,NC
    Ratings:
    +1
    If you have wifi enabled android will connect automagically every time you're in range. It eats thru the battery though.

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
     
  8. BodyBagz
    Offline

    BodyBagz Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1,198
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    North Alabama
    Ratings:
    +4
    Ummm...no it doesnt...its actually better on the battery to be connected to WiFi. The Cell Radio uses more battery due to it constantly "checking for signal", whereas the wifi is on and connected until it is either out of range, or the user disconnects.
     
  9. potatolover1102
    Offline

    potatolover1102 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    Ratings:
    +0
    Also there is no 5gb limit whatsoever so I wouldn't be worried about data at all. It is unlimited truly. Or the 150mb. I used ten gb last month lol

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums App
     
  10. Droid Firefighter
    Offline

    Droid Firefighter Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,619
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    Indiana (and that is close enough for the internet
    Ratings:
    +13
    Current Phone Model:
    S4
    Sorry about that. I completely misread your question :-0.

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
     
  11. UNC
    Offline

    UNC Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,358
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Fayettenam,NC
    Ratings:
    +1
    The wifi will scan every 90 seconds on most roms, so it eats through the battery. That's a fact.
     
Search tags for this page

force droid to use wifi when in range