WIFI 2.2 Issue ....

Discussion in 'Android Tech Support' started by Sterl's, Aug 30, 2010.

  1. rclark04

    rclark04 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I am having a similar problem but none of the above has worked for me. It connected to my network before the updates. Droid1 2.2 I have tried open, WEP, WPA. Mine comes up and says obtaining IP address for about 10 to 20 seconds, then says disconnected, network says disabled but also says remembering network settings. I press network again, press connect and it goes through the same thing all over again. Very puzzling. the only thing I don't know yet if it will connect to a different network. I will try to do that tomorrow.
     
  2. rclark04

    rclark04 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Well I tried a couple different open networks, hotels, restaurants and my Droid connected fine with no problems. Now I have to figure out why it doesn't connect to my home network. Like I said it says obtaining IP from network but evidently never does and then doesn't try again unless I hit connect again.
     
  3. rclark04

    rclark04 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    By the way, my router is a Microsoft MN-700. I've had this router for quite awhile. I'm beginning to wonder if it's the age of the router with the latest Droid update could be the problem. I've never had any problems with any computers or laptops connecting, even windows 7.
     
  4. gallows

    gallows New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    The issue is not the router. It's the phone. Turn off mixed mode on the router and just set it to wireless G or Wireless N and froyo droid will push data through the wifi like it should. If it its mixed mode B/G/N or G/N with WPA security it screws everything up... unless the security is open. Then it works just fine. I've reproduced this on 4 different routers with 3 different phones. (2 Dlinks, a Netgear, and Linksys)

    Play with it and you'll see. Of course this only helps us connect on networks that we have administration rights to. Does nothing for secured public or work based wireless networks.


    EDIT: Removing the battery or forcing refresh of a profile will only restore the connection for a short time... if at all. (The remove battery has not worked for my Droid 2, Droid X, or Droid Incredible)
     
  5. Davidbiz

    Davidbiz New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I also have a WiFi problem with my Droid 2. It seems that as soon as I navigate away from the WiFi settings page, the connection drops. I go back to the settings and see that my Network is no longer connected. I do nothing...just sit there for about 2 seconds, and it re-connects itself. However, as soon as I navigate away again...it drops! It's extremely frustrating. I tried deleting the connection. re-establishing, taking the battery out...you name it! There are other threads here that re-iterate the problem. It's definitely an issue, whether the powers that be want to accept it or not!
     
  6. rclark04

    rclark04 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have 3 modes on my router, disabled, g performance and mixed b compatible. I tried the mixed b but didn't help so I'm leaving it on G performance. I was using WEP, didn't work, I switched to WPA, still doesn't work and I even tried open and that didn't work either. I tried the battery, deleting connection, manual IP. I really don't think it's the phone per say, it worked fine with the original software. This only started when 2.2 was installed. It does work on other networks that are open like hotels and restaurants though. Would it be advantageous to go back to the original software if you can even do that?
     
  7. ryanmcgreevy

    ryanmcgreevy New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I JUST received my droid incredible today and have spent my entire Friday night unsuccessfully trying to get wi-fi to work. I have tried everything in this thread at some point and nothing has worked. I can't even connect to open networks let alone secure ones. When I was first configuring the phone, I could not even connect to the wireless and it took me a while to find out it was a not broadcasting issue. I turned broadcasting on for a bit for setup and then once the droid connected (claimed connected, never checked if it worked) I reset the settings on the phone and tried to reconnect. It connects fine but I cannot do anything with it. No browser, no marketplace, nothing. Tried WEP, WPA, open, b, g, n, bgn, bg. I have done a factory reset, pulled the battery, everything. Couple this wifi issue with Verizon's "overnight shipping" taking several days and then a 3 hour lag in my data plan actually being turned on so I could use 3G, and this has been the worst phone experience of my life....
     
  8. Bigocciput

    Bigocciput New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Florida
    Ratings:
    +0

    I must say this solution worked for me. I was able to connect to anything except my wireless N at home. It would connect, data just would not flow. After changing my router to G only, it is now lightning fast. Many thanks, I just wish the Droid1 would have worked without having to change my router settings.
     
  9. rclark04

    rclark04 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Here's another little tid bit. My son is with Comcast cable. Comcast sent him a Netgear WNR1000 router free. We hooked it up this weekend and it is running fine. When we first hooked it up we left it open. My Droid1 2.2 connected with no problems. Then we started on the all the security. We made it WPA-PSK...TKI whatever, so he had it secure with a passphrase and all that. It is working fine. I connected to his network with the passphrase with no problems and it stayed connected with lightening speed the entire time I was there. Needless to say I contacted Comcast and they are sending me a free router. I'll post again after I receive it and get it connected. FYI, anyone that is with Comcast cable can get a free router. All they charge you is $10 for shipping and handling.
     
  10. ryanmcgreevy

    ryanmcgreevy New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Unfortunately this does not work for me. Although I managed to connect fine to both the open and secured wireless networks at work. At least I can connect to the wireless whose router I don't have access to....now if only I can figure out my home issues.....
     
  11. rclark04

    rclark04 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ok, here's the deal with my situation. I'll recap. I have a Droid1 with 2.2, before the 2.2 install I could connect to my Microsoft MN-700 router with no problems, after the 2.2 install no connection at all whatsoever. My son got a Netgear WNR1000 150n. I connected that router to his network. My Droid1 2.2 connected with no problems and stayed connected and always connects when I'm there. BTW, he got that router for $10 shipping and handling from Comcast. I called Comcast and had them ship me a router. Well, they shipped me a different router. It's an SMC Barricade-N something or other. My laptops don't even stay connected to that piece of crap much less my Droid. So I went to BestBuy and got a Netgear WNR3300 dual band whatever. All I have to say is that went back to BestBuy this morning. I went to Staples and got the same exact router my son has, $50. Connected it, took me about 5 minutes, needless to say I'm getting pretty good connecting routers. My Droid1 2.2 connected with no problems, it is still connected and it is fast. So that's my story and I'm sticking with it. Evidently certain routers are not compatible the the droid 2.2. If I have any other issues and let you all know. Thanks.
     
  12. OuHiroshi

    OuHiroshi New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Here's my story. Got a Droid with stock 2.1 on it, wifi worked like a dream. I got WPA2 Enterprise PEAP all over campus and it would connect to any hotspot within 5 seconds. After upgrading to 2.2 it's been a nightmare, it would take 10-30 seconds to connect to the hot spots and will stop connecting after a few hours of use. It would just stuck in a connecting>scanning>connecting loop.

    So if you have trouble with wifi just downgrade back to 2.1.
     
Search tags for this page
android mn-700
,

android wont connect to mn-700

,
droid incredible 2 scans available wifi network then disconn
,
how do i get my android to connect to my mn 700 router
,
microsoft mn-700 and android
,

microsoft mn-700 android

,
nextbook 3 wifi not working
,

nextbook wifi problems

,

samsung captivate wifi disabled secured with wep

,
why can't i connect to wifi microsoft mn-700 router